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CHAPTER 8130
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
SALES AND USE TAXES

BUSINESS

8130.2700 REINSTATEMENT OF REVOKED PERMITS.
[For text of subps 1 to 4, see MR ]

Subp 5 New application, or application for reinstatement of revoked permit. The
comrmissioner may reinstate a revoked sales and use tax permut, or 1ssue a new permit to a
taxpayer whose permit had been revoked 1f the taxpayer

A files all unfiled sales and use tax returns,

B pays with a certified check, cashier's check, or money order the entire balance
of tax, penalty, and interest due,

C deposits with the commuissioner, security or a surety bond 1n an amount equal
to three tumes the average liability for the period for which returns are required to be filed, or
six times the average hability 1n the case of a taxpayer who has had another permit revoked
within the preceding 24 months, .

D signs an agreement to file timely returns and remit tax when due 1n the future
The agreement will specify an individual to whom or location where the returns and pay-
ments must be sent All payments must be made by, certified check, cashier's check, or
money order, or by electronic funds transfer 1n the case of a taxpayer who has had another
permit revoked within the preceding 24 months; and

E has sales and use tax returns prepared by an attorney, accountant, agent, or
preparer or attends a busmess education class for sales tax given by the department, 1f the
taxpayer has had another permit revoked within the preceding 24 months

The commussioner will hold the security deposit described 1n item C for two years

Each failure to file a return or pay a tax due during the two-year period extends such
pertod for the duration of the taxable period for which the return has not been filed or the
tax has not been paid '

The commussioner will pay interest on any money deposited as security The interest
will be calculated from the date of deposit to the date of refund, or date of application to any
outstanding tax liability, at a rate specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 270C 405 The
security deposit will be refunded to the taxpayer at the end of the two-year period, plus any
extensions for violations, unless the taxpayer has any unpaid tax liabilities The commis-
stoner may apply the security deposit to any unpaid tax liabilities The comnussioner may
refund the security deposit to the taxpayer before the end of the two-year holding period
(or extended holding period) if the taxpayer's business ceases to operate and the taxpayer
15 no longer required to file sales and use tax returns and pay sales and use tax

[For text of subps 6 and 7, see MR ]
Statutory Authority: MS s 270C 06
History: 32 SR 1283

8130.4705 FOOD SOLD WITH EATING UTENSILS.

Subpart 1 Eating utensils provided by seller. The sale of food sold with eating uten-
sils provided by the seller 1s one of the conditions that meets the definition of prepared food
n Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 61, subdivision 31 Examples of "eating'utensils" in-
clude plates, bowls, kmives, forks, chopsticks, spoons, glasses, cups, napkins, or straws A
"plate" does not mclude a contamer or packaging used to transport food Some foods, such
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as foods containing certain raw animal foods requiring cooking by the consumer, and bak-
ery items, which otherwise are excepted from the defimition of prepared food, are prepared
food if they meet the condition of Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 61, subdivision 31,
clause (1), "food sold with eating utensils provided by the seller " This part explains when
eating utensils are considered to be provided by the seller

Subp 2. Seller's practice to physically give or hand utensil to the customer. Food
1s sold with eating utensils provided by the seller if the seller's practice for the item, as
represented by the seller, 1s to physically give or hand a utensil to the customer with the food
as part of the sales transaction For purposes of this part, the seller's practice to "physically
give or hand" a utensil to the customer means:

A. 1t1s the seller's practice to hand the utensil to the customer along with the food,

B. 1t 1s the seller's practice to place the utensil in a package containing the cus-
tomer's food, including prepackaged food when the seller places the utensil in the package,

C. 1t1s the seller’s practice to sell'food with a utensil that has been prepackaged by
a person other than the seller, except when the person who originally placed the utensils in
the package has a North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) classification
code of a manufacturer, sector 311, the utensil 1s not provided by the seller, or

D 1t1s the seller's practice to place the utensil on a table, counter, or stmilar sur-
face for the customer to use A utensil previously placed by the seller, for example, as part
of a place setting, 1s considered physically given to the customer For purposes of this item,
"table, counter, or stmilar surface"” means furmture or surfaces where a customer sits or
stands to eat.

Subp 3 Seller makes utensils available to the customer. Food 1s sold with eatmg
utensils provided by the seller when the seller makes the utensils available to the customer
under the following circumstances

A 1f a plate, glass, cup, or bowl 1s necessary to receive the food from the seller,
for example, milk dispensed from a milk dispenser 1s sold with an eating utensil provided
by the seller because the customer must use a glass 1n order to receive the mulk, or

B if the seller's prepared food sales percentage, as determuned 1n subpart 5, 1s
greater than 75 percent; except that

C 1 the case of a food 1tem that contamns four or more servings packaged as
one item sold for a single price, as provided for in subpart 4, even if the sales percentage
of prepared food 1s greater than 75 percent, a utensil 1s not provided by the seller merely
because the seller makes the utensil available. :

Subp. 4. Four or more servings packaged as one item. When a food item that con-
tamns four or more servings packaged as one 1tem 1s sold for a single price, eating utensils
are considered provided by the seller 1f 1t 1s the seller's practice to physically give or hand
the utensils to the customer as described in subpart 2, and the following items apply.

A. The number of servings in an item 1s as shown on the label on the item sold
In the absence of a label, a seller shall make a reasonable determination of the number of
servings 1n the item

B. For purposes of this subpart, "packaged” means that the food 1tem 1s placed in
a package by the seller or the customer erther prior to or following the selection of the food

C For purposes of this subpart, "single price” means one price for the entire con-
tents of the packaged food If the food item consists of more than one serving and the seller
charges for each individual serving in the package, then the sale 1s not "one item sold for a
single price "

Subp 5 Determination of prepared food sales percentage. The seller shall deter-
mine the prepared food sales percentage as provided 1n this subpart

A Annually, the seller shall determune a single prepared food sales percentage
for all of the seller's establishments 1n this state combined.
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B The seller shall calculate the prepared food sales percentage as follows.

' (1) add together the total sales of food where plates, bowls, glasses, or cups
are necessary to receive the food from the seller, but not including alcoholic beverages, and
the total sales of prepared food that meets the condition provided 1n Minnesota Statutes,
section 297A 61, subdivision 31, clause (2), for all of the seller's establishments 1n this
state combined, and

(2) divide the result of subitem (1) by the seller's total sales of all food and
food ingredients, including prepared food, candy, dietary supplements, and soft drinks, but
not including alcoholic beverages, for all of the seller's establishments 1n this state com-
bmed

C The seller shall calculate the percentage exther each tax year or each business
fiscal year, based on the seller's data from the prior tax year or business fiscal year

D The seller shall calculate and apply the percentage as soon as possible after
accounting records are available to the seller, but not later than 90 days after the beginnmg
of the tax or business fiscal year, whichever 1s used for the annual calculation

E Notwithstanding 1tem C, if the seller has a new establishment m this state, the
following subitems apply

(1) The seller shall make a good faith estimate of the seller's prepared food
sales percentage for the seller's first year

(2) If the seller has both new and established businesses 1 this state, the seller
shall combine the good faith estimate for the new establishinent and the data from the prior
tax year or business fiscal year for the established businesses

(3) After the first three months of operation of the new establishment, 1f actual
sales of the new establishment are such that the prepared food sales percentage for all of the
seller's establishments 1n this state coinbined, erther decreases from greater than 75 percent
to 75 percent or less, or increases from 75 percent or less to greater than 75 percent, the
seller shall adjust the seller's good faith estimate and apply 1t prospectively

F. "Seller's establishments” means business operations in Minnesota owned by the
same person, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 61, subdivision 2, paragraphs
(a) and (b)

Subp 6 Examples.

A The following subitems are examples of utensils oniginally placed 1n a package
by a person other than the seller

(1) A caterer sells a boxed lunch with utensils packaged inside to a conces-
stonaire who sells the boxed lunch The caterer has a North American Industry Classtfi-
cation System (NAICS) classification.code of sector 722 The concessionaire provides the
eatmg utensils when selling the boxed Iunch to a customer, and the boxed lunch 1s prepared
food

(2) A food manufacturer packages ready-to-eat lunches with eating utensils
and sells to a grocer Since the person that sold the packages to the grocer has a North
Amencan Industry Classification System (NAICS) classification code of a manufacturer,
sector 311, the grocer 1s not providing the eating utensils with the food when selhng the
ready-to-eat lunch Other examples of utensils provided by a manufacturer include snack
package combinations of cheese and crackers that contain a spreader, 1ce cream cups that are
packaged with wooden or plastic spoons, and juice boxes that are packaged with drinking
straws However, when the grocer physically gives or hands a utensil to the customer along
with the item, the utensil given by the grocer 18 "provided by the seller "

B The following subitems are examples explaining whether a food 1tem that con-
tains four or more servings packaged as one item 1s sold for a "single price "

(1) A restaurant, with a convenience food area near the cash register, sells a
package of cinnamon rolls, labeled at 12 servings, for $5 98, an apple for 75 cents, and a
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single-serving container of milk for 49 cents. There 1s a napkin dispenser and a drinking
straw dispenser on a counter nearby. The restaurant 1s owned by a seller whose establish-
ments 1 this state have a combined prepared food sales percentage of 85 percent, meamng
that for most of the restaurant's sales of food, the seller only has to make utensils available
to the customer Since the package of cinnamon rolls has four or more servings and it 18
sold for a single price, the seller 1s not providing a utensil 1n its sale of the cinnamon rolls
simply because a utensil 1s available for the customer, and therefore the cinnamon rolls are
not prepared food The utensils are provided by the seller for the apple and the single-serv-
ing contamer of milk, since the utensils are available

(2) A bakery, owned by a seller whose establishments 1 thts state combined
have a sales percentage of 80 percent, sells fruit pies 1t baked at $2 a slice Each shice equals
one serving Five slices are packaged and sold for $9 40 The sales receipt simply provides
that the price of the apple pie 1s $9.40 This package 1s sold for a smgle price Smce the
1item of four or more servings 1s sold for a sigle price, the 1tem 1s not considered prepared
food unless the utensils are physically given or handed to the customer, even if the seller
has utensils available to the customer

(3) As described 1n subttem (2), the customer purchases five slices of apple
pie and the slices are packaged 1n one container The sales receipt, however, indicates that
the slices are sold five at $2 each, for a total price of $10 Thus package 1s not sold for
a single price, smce the seller charged $2 for each slice m the package, as shown by the
sales recerpt. Therefore, if the seller has utensils available to the customer, the utensils are
considered to be provided by the seller, meanmg that the pie slices are considered prepared
food and are subject to tax However, 1f the bakery neither has utensils available, nor hands
or gives utensils to the customer, then the bakery 1tems are not considered prepared food

C The following subitems are examples of combmed sales from a seller's estab—
lishments for purposes of the prepared food sales percentage under subpart 5

(1) A partnership owns two business operations i Minnesota, both restau-
rants The partnership 1s a person, under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 61, subdivision
2, and therefore the sales from both restaurants are combined by the partnership for pur-
poses of calculating the prepared food sales percentage under subpart 5

(2) A sole proprietor of a small grocery store 1s one of the partners 1n the
example 1n subitem (1) The partnership does not combine the sales from the grocery store
with the sales from the restaurants because the partnership does not own the grocery store.
Sumilarly, the sole proprietor does not combine the sales from the restaurants with the sales
from 1ts grocery store, as the partnership owns the restaurants, not the sole proprietor The
sole proprietor calculates the prepared food sales percentage based on the sales from the
grocery store and any other establishments owned by the sole proprietor

(3) Corporation X owns three cafeterias and one sandwich shop Corporation
Y owns a convenience store Corporation Z owns 100 percent of the shares of both Corpo-
rations X and Y. While Corporation Z owns the two corporations, 1t 1s not the person that
owns the busmess operations, and therefore does not combine the sales of Corporations X
and Y. Rather, Corporation X calculates the prepared food sales percentage based on the
sales from 1ts cafeterias and sandwich shop, and Corporation Y calculates the prepared food
sales percentage based on the sales from its conventence store

Subp 7 Other prepared food. Notwithstanding the application of subparts 1 through
6, 1f a food 1s considered "prepared food" under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 61, sub-
division 31, clause (2), because 1t 1s sold 1n a heated state or heated by the seller, or because
the seller mixed or combmed two or more food mngredients as a smgle 1tem, excepting the
foods listed 1n Minnesota Statutes, section 297A.61, subdivision 31, clause (2), items (1)
through (1v), the food 1s still taxed as prepared food .

Example a pizzera prepares, heats, and sells p1zzas by the slice solely for pick-up,
and does not have any utensils available or given to the customer The busmess
has a prepared food sales percentage greater than 75 percent, so that 1t only need
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have utensils available for any food sold at the establishment for the utensils to
be considered "provided by the seller." However, the fact that no utensils are pro-
vided by the seller does not mean that the p1zza 1s not prepared food Rather, it1s
'prepared food because it 15 heated by the seller and also because the seller com-
bmes food ingredients and sells 1t as a single 1tem '

Statutory Authority: 270C.06 ] o
History: 32 SR 461 . - T

8130.5800 ISOLATED OR OCCASIONAL SALES' AND SALES OF PERSONAL
PROPERTY USED IN TRADE OR BUSINESS:.

Subpart 1. In general. .o oo

A.” As provided 1n Minnesotd Statutes, section 297A 67, subd1v1s1on 23, the sales
or use tax does not apply to 1solatéd or occasional sales of tangible personal property or
a service inade by a person who 1s not engaged 1n selling such’ property or service in the
norinal course of business This exemption does not apply to a sale of tangible personal
property that 1s prunarrly used m a trade or business.

B. Under Mrnnesota Statutes, section 297A 68; subduviston 25, the sale of tangi-
_ ble personal property that 1s prunarily used m a trade or business 1s exemptaf the sale 1s,not
made 1n the normal course of business of selling that kind of property and the sale meets
one of the listed conditions

_Subp la. Definitions. For purposes of this part, the followrng deﬁmtrons apply:

A. "Isolated" means standrng alone or solitary .
B "Normal course of business" 1s defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 61
subdivision 21 The sale of inventory 1s considered to be made 1n the. normal course of

business and thus 1s subject to tax The lease of tangible personal property 15 subject to tax

Example 1 A bank repossesses secured property Thrs is part of the bank's bustness.
Repossessed items are considered to be mventory 1 possession of the bank and the sale by
the bank 1s considered to be made during the normal course of business and 1s subject to
tax.

Example 2. A construction company leases excavating and hauling equipmnent without
an operator to another business, when not otherwise 1n use. The leasmg 18 consrdered to
. take place i ih the normal course of busrness and is subject totax

Example 3 A luxury boat business sells one or two boats a year. The sales-are taxable
because, while the sales are 1nfrequent they are made m the normal course of busrness

C. "Occasional" means occurrmg at 1nfrequent 1nterva1s as 1ncrdenta1 or as ca-
sual, that 18, as distinguished from events of a similar nature recurrmg with sowe degree of
regularity

Example A person has a garage sale ohce each year. The sale 15’ eons1dered to be
occasional , N T TN :

D "Trade or business" means any conttnuous and regular activity camed on for
the production of income from selling goods or performing services. Orgamzatrons exempt
from federal taxation under Internal Revenue Code, subchapter F, such as orgamizations
exempt under section 501(c)(3), are only considered to be engaged 1n a trade or busrness
to the extent the activity 1s unrelated to their exempt purposes Government orgamzatrons
1nclud1ng public schools,are not considered to be engaged 1n a trade or business since most
of their activities, are conducted to further a public purpose. However, if.the governmerit
entity makes sales of surplus equipment or other tangible personal property-on a regular

basis, 1t is considered to'be engaged 1n a trade or business.

0t . ° N
Examples of a trade or business. apartment bpildings, or other rental property, home
day care centers, farms, law offices, manufacturers, retail stores, and restaurants
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Examples of entities that are not considered to be engaged 1n a trade or bustness. Amer-
1can Red Cross, churches, nonprofit hospitals, and government agencies.

Example of an exempt organization engaging 1n a taxable activity a nonprofit hospital
also has a gift shop that sells taxable items to the general public The gift shop 1s considered
to be engaged m a trade or business Sales of 1tems used by the hospital, such as waiting
room furniture, are not subject to tax because the hospital 1s not a busmess. However, sales
of 1tems used by the gift shop, such as shelves or computers used 1n the store, are taxable,
unless one of the exclusions under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 68, subdivision 25,
applies, since these activities are not related to the hospital's exempt purpose.

E "Primarily used" means used in the trade or business 50 percent or more of its
operating time If 1t'1s used less than 50 percent of the time 1n the trade or business, 1t 1s not
used primarily 1n the trade or busmess and may qualify for the 1solated or occasional sale
exemption The seller's use of the equipment 1s the determimng factor It does not matter
how the buyer uses the item

Example An owner of alawn mower has a small busmess operation to mow the neigh-
bors' yards The lawn mower 1s used 60 percent of the time for the owner's lawn and 40
percent of the time for the neighbors' lawns Since the mower 1s used less than 50 percent
of the time 1n the owner's business, 1t 1s not considered to be used primarily 1n a trade or
business

F "Substantially all of the assets of a trade or business,"” as provided under Min-
nesota Statutes, section 297A 68, subdivision 25, paragraph (a), clause (5), or "substantially
all of the property sold,” as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 68, subd1vi-
sion 25, paragraph (b), clause (1), means 90 percent or more of the total fair market value
of tangible personal property and does not include property that 1s subject to an ad valorem
property tax. It also mcludes the assets of a separate division, branch, or other identifiable
segment of a business, 1f before the sale, the income and expenses attributable to the sep-
arate division, branch, or segment could be separately ascertained from the records If the
separate division, branch, or segment 1s leased or rented, rather than sold, the assets are
taxable

Example A company has a retail hardware busmess, as well as a building construction
division The records of the businesses are kept separately The retail hardware busmess
closes while the construction division continues to exist The sale of all the assets of the
hardware business 1s exempt from tax Sales of inventory 1tems are taxable

Subp 2. Isolated or occasional sales by person other than trade or business. An
1solated or occasional sale of tangible personal property or a service by a person who 1s not
1n the business of selling that kind of property or service 1s not subject to tax

The following transactions are considered to be 1solated or occasional sales because
they- are infrequent sales of a nonrecurring nature made by a person not engaged 1n the
business of selling tangible personal property or a service

Example 1 The sale of a used vacuum cleaner by one neighbor to another

Example 2. Payment from a neighbor for mowing a neighbor's grass or taking care of
a pet while the neighbor 1s on vacation

Example 3 Sales by executors, admunistrators, trustees, and other fiduciaries 1n the
liqudation of an estate, except-inventory or stock in trade or tangible personal property
primarily used 1n a trade or business

Example 4. Sales or executions pursuant to a court order or by a court officer, except
mventory or stock in trade or tangible personal property primarily used 1n a trade or busi-
ness
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. Subp. 3. Nonisolated sales. The following are examples of transactlons that are not
cons1dered 1solated or occasional sales: =

" A. The sale of property held pnmartly fot sales to customers 1n the ordlnary course
of tradé or business.

.+ Example 1. Leasing company sells to X a bulldozer that was previously used in its

business by leasing to others. Since a lease constitutes a sale, leasing company 1s deemed

-to be in the busmess of selling this kind of property The sale of the bulldozer to X 1s not
an isolated or occasional sale o

B. The infrequent sale of an inventory 1tem by a retdiler, jobber, or other vendor,
even though such sales do not happen often and only compnse an 1ns1gn1ﬁcant part‘of the
vendor's total busrness L i ' ;

v e ! - v’ l
Example 1 Sporting goods store sells one power cruiser durmg the calendar year. The
sale is taxable, i N ,

R 1

C. Sales that constitute an integral part of a business even though the sale of such
tangible personal property is not the primary business of the seller (as the sale of repossessed
property by a finance company)

D The sale of by-products, waste, scrap,tand other obsolete and used equipment
by a person engaged 1 a business, when sales are. regularly made to employees or to the
pubhc to dispose of these items. X b

‘Subp 3a Sale of property used in trade or business in transactlons qualified and
reported under Internal Revenue Code.

A. The sale of tangible personal property. primarily used 1n a trade or-business 1s
exempt 1f the sale 1s not made in the normal course of busimess of selling such property; the
sale occurs 1n a transaction subject to, or described 1n, section 118, 331, 332, 336, 337, 338,
351, 355, 368, 721, 731, 1031, or 1033 of the Internal Revenue Code, and the following
conditions are met: . "

1 + b

(1) the sale must qualify, as well as be reported, as a'transaction occumng
under one of the Internal Revenue Code sections listed 1 this 1tem, and ~

(2) the transfer must be between partnershrps and theit partners or between
corporations and their shareholders or, 1f the sale 1s under section 1563(a) of the Internal
Revenue Code, between members of a controlled group

B . Limited Tiability compames are generally treated as e1ther corporatlons or part-
nerships for federal income tax purposes and transfers between limited hiability companies
and their members are covered by one of the Internal Revenue Code sections listed 1n Item
A. Smgle member limited liability compamies that elect to be treated as a corporation are
also covered by one or more of the Internal Revenue Code sections listed 1n item A. How-
ever, when a single member limited lhability company does not elect to be treated as a
corporation for federal income tax purposes, the hmited liability company 1s neither a part-
nership nor a corporation ‘and transfers between' the limited liability company and 1ts one
member are not exempt from sales tax under this subpart.

Subp 3b. Sale of substantially all assets of a trade or business.

A. The sale of tangible personal property primarily‘used 1n a trade or busmess is
exempt 1f the sale is not made in the normal course of business of selling such property
and the sale 15 a sale of substantlally all of the assets of a trade or busmess, as defined
m Mmnesota Statutes, section 297A 68, subdivision 25, paragraph (b), clause (3), and as
defined m subpart la item F. A buyer of property 18,not subject to use tax if the buyer
has a writteri statement from the seller confirming that the sale of the property 1s a sale of
substantially all of the assets of the busimess, as defined in subpart la. If the buyer has a
written statement from the seller to that effect and the seller does not sell substantially all of
the assets of the trade or business, the seller is subject to tax on the total amount recerved.
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B Under Mmnesota Statutes, section 297A.68, subdivision 25, paragraph (b),
clause (3), the sale of substantially all of the assets has to take place within the period of
12 months This means that the seller must sell 90 percent or more of the total fair market
value of tangible personal property within the 12-month period 1n order to be exempt from
tax

Subp 3c Sale of property used in trade or business in transaction with $1,000
gross receipts limitation. The sale of tangible personal property primarily used 1n a trade
or business 1s exempt 1f the sale 1s not made 1n the normal course of business of selling such
property and the tota] amount of gross receipts from the sale of trade or business property
made during the calendar month of the sale, as well as sales of property made 1n the previous
11 months, does not exceed $1,000, as provided under Mmnesota Statutes, section 297A 68,
subdivision 25, paragraph (a), clause (6) A buyer of property 1s not subject to use tax if the
buyer has a wnitten statement from the seller confirming that the sale of the property meets
this requirement. In this case, 1if the seller sells property for an amount exceeding $1,000,
the seller 1s subject to tax on the total amount received, includmg the first $1,000 The
Iimitation of $1,000 does not apply when the business sells substantially all of 1ts assets

Example A company sells some cabinets and desks for $12,000 during a period of 12
months but 1t 18 not a sale of substantially all the assets of the business The sale of these
fixtures does not qualify for the exemption since the amount received exceeds $1,000

Subp 3d Farm auctions. The sale of tangible personal property sold at a farm
auction 18 exempt 1f substantially all the property sold 1s used 1n the trade or busmess of
farming, or 1s other nonbusiness property However, mventory sold by another trade or
business 1s subject to tax

Example The following farming equipment 1s sold at a farm auction tools, lawn
mowers, and other supplies A neighboring home improvement busmess sells patio fur-
niture at the farm auction and the auction also mcludes personal 1tems owned by various
mdividuals The farming equipment and the personal items consist of 95 percent of the fair
market value of the items sold, the home improveinent mnventory consists of five percent of
the items sold The farming equipment and the personal items are exempt The 1tems sold
by the home 1improvement business are subject to tax.

Subp 4 Garage sale or personal sale. A "garage sale or personal sale” 1s a sale by a
person or persons selling their personal belongings. A garage sale or personal sale does not
mclude flea markets, craft shows, antique shows, com shows, stamp shows, comic book
shows, convention exhibit areas, or sumilar selling events, as provided under Mmnesota
Statutes, section 297A 87 A garage sale mncludes moving sales, estate sales, and other
sumlar sales If a person does not regularly hold garage sales or personal sales and the
items sold have not been collected or purchased for the purpose of resale, the sales are
1solated or occasional A person who collects or purchases items for resale 1s deemed to be
m busmess, and must obtam a sales and use tax permit and collect and remut tax on sales of
taxable items.

If any trade or busmess assets are sold at the garage sale, sales tax 15 due on those items

Example 1 A person sells personal belongings at an annual neighborhood garage sale
that was advertised through word-of-mouth, notices on a bulletin board, or an advertisement
m the classified section of a newspaper No sales tax applies

Example 2 A person sells new or used items that were purchased for the purpose
of resale, as well as personal items, at a garage sale The personal items include some
children's toys and a lamp The person 1s considered to be carrymg on a trade or business
and sales tax must be charged on all sales of taxable 1tems that were purchased for resale.
The sale of the lamp and the toys 1s not subject to tax

[For text of subps 5 and 6, see M R |

Subp 7. [Repealed, 33 SR 771]
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Subp 8 Auctions.

A For purposes of this part, an auction 1s a'method of selling tangible personal
property 1n a public forum through open and competitive bidding conducted by an auc-
tioneer licensed under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 330 An auction does not include a
consigninent auction or consignment sale, as defined in subpart 10 :

B The sale of items held 1n nventory, taxable services, and property primarily
used 1n a trade or business 1s generally subject to tax, as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
section 297A.68, subdivision 25

C When tangible personal property 1s sold 1n an auction, the sale qualifies as an
1solated or occasional sale under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 67, subdivision 23, 1f 1t
would qualify as an 1solated or occasional sale when sold by the owner of the property, and
if the following conditions are met.

(1) the title 1s exchanged directly between the owner and the buyer,
(2) the auctioneer does not carry insurance on the property, and

(3) the auctioneer and the owner of the property to be sold have entered a
written agreement as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 330 10

D When the sale 1s taxable, the person recerving the payment 1s responsible for
collecting and remitting the sales tax on the total sales price of the property

Example 1 An auctioneer conducts an estate sale and sells personal belongings of the
deceased person No tax 1s due 1f the conditions provided under this subpart are met

Example 2 An auctioneer purchases 50 tires from an individual ‘The tires are auc-
tioned to the general public The sale 1s subject to tax since the auctioneer took title of the
tires and, therefore, 1s considered to be selhng the tires 1n the normal course of business

Example 3 An msurance coinpany contracts with an auctioneer to sell its used office
furniture at an annual auction The 1tems sold are subject to tax, unless the sales meet the
exceptions provided in subparts 3a to 3d The msurance company 1s a business and thus
Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 67, subdrvision 23, does not apply

Subp. 9. Brokered sales.

A For purposes of this part, a broker 1s a person who sells tangible personal
property owned by others and who receives a fee or a commussion for selhng the owner's
property. A broker is not an auctioneer

B The sale of items held in mventory, taxable services, and property primarily
used 1n a trade or busiess 1s generally subject to tax, as provided 1n Minnesota Statutes,
section 297A 68, subdivision 25

C When tangible personal property 1s sold by a broker, the sale qualifies as an
1solated or occasional sale under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 67, subdivision 23, 1f 1t
would qualify as an 1solated or occasional sale when sold by the owner of the property, and
the following conditions are met

(1) the title to the property passes directly from the owner to the buyer,
(2) the payment does not pass through any accounts of the broker,
(3) the broker does not carry msurance on the property, and
(4) the nghts to accept or reject any offer are retained by the owner
D When the sale 1s taxable, the person receiving the payment 1s responsible for
collecting and remutting the sales tax on the total sales price of the property

Examnple 1. The owner of a boat marina sells a boat on behalf of a boat owner who 1s
not 1n the trade or business of selling boats The marina owner advertises the boat for sale
and obtains offers to purchase the boat The marina owner informs the buyer of the offers
The boat owner retains the power to accept or reject the offers Title to the boat passes
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directly from the owner to the buyer Payment 1s made directly to the owner Upon sale of
the boat, the marina owner receives a commission from the seller This sale 1s exempt from
tax i

* Example 2. A boat marina negotiates the sale of a boat for the owner of a boat The
owner has no mvolvement 1n the négotiation of the sale Payment for the boat 1s deposited
1n the marma's account The sale 1s subject to tax .

Subp 10 Consignment sales and consignment auctions.

A For purposes of this part, consignment sales are sales in which a retailer main-
tains a place of busmess where tangible personal property owned by others 1s sold by the
retailer in the normal course of business. The retailer may also sell property owned by the
retailer A consignment sale 1s not an auction, as defined 1n subpart 8. }

B Consignment auctions are events that are regularly scheduled, are open to
members of the public to sell their items, and are held at the same location Consignment
auctions are not selling events, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 297A 87
Consignment auctions are not auctions, as defined m subpart 8.

C. The sale of items held m 1nventory, taxable services, and property primarily
used m a trade or business 1s generally subject to tax, as provided in Minnesota Statutes,
section 297A 68, subdivision 25 )

¢ D Consignment sales and consignment auctions are exempt from tax 1f
" (1) the title to the property passes directly from the owner to the buyer;

(2) the payment does not pass through any ‘accounts of the retailer or auction-
eer, '

(3) the retailer or auctioneer does not carry msurance on the property, and
(4) the nghts to accept or reject any offer are retained by the owner

E When the sale 1s taxable, the person receiving, the payment 1s responsible for
collecting and remutting the sales tax on the total sales price of the property. °

Example 1. A person sells used books on consignment at a retail store. Under the
contract, the store determines the selling price of the books The sale 1s taxable

Example 2 A person sells a lawn mower at a consignment auction Title passes from
the owner directly to the buyer Payment 1s deposited 1n the auction company's books. The
company deducts its fee and then pays the owner a share of the payment The sale 1s subject
to tax

Example 3 A person rents space from the operator of a craft show to sell craft items
The seller participates in the event for four days. The sales at the show are taxable since
the selling event lasts more than three days, as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section
297A 87, subdivision 3

Statutory Authority: MS s 270C 06
History: 33 SR 771
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