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7820.1500 PURPOSE AND AUTHORITY.
Parts 7820.1500 to 7820.2300 are prescribed by the commission pursuant 

to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 216B, in its entirety and in particular Minnesota 
Statutes, sections 216B.01, 216B.02, 216B.026, 216B.08, 216B.09, 216B.095, 
216B.17, and 216B.23, and the Public Utilities Regulatory Policies Act o f  1978, 
United States Code, title 15, sections 3201 et seq. and United States Code, title 
16, sections 2601 et seq. to prohibit disconnection o f a residential utility cus­
tomer who is unable to pay for utility service during cold weather months. Parts
7820.1500 to 7820.2300 do not relieve a residential customer’s responsibility for 
utility bills.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.1600 DEFINITIONS.
[For text o f  subpart 1, see M .R.]

Subp. la. Calendar days. “Calendar days” means Mondays through Sundays, 
including legal holidays. W hen calculating a period o f  tim e under parts
7820.1500 to 7820.2300, i f  the last day o f the period falls on a legal holiday, that 
day shall be omitted from the computation.

[For text o f  subp 2, see M.R.J

Subp. 2a. Financial counseling provider. “Financial counseling provider” 
means an entity that provides budget counseling and:

A. is affiliated with the National Foundation on Consumer Credit Coun­
seling or the Counsel on Accreditation o f Services for Families and Children, 
Inc.;

B. is licensed with the Minnesota Department o f Commerce to offer a 
debt prorating plan; or

C. has licensed social workers or staff registered with the Board on U nli­
censed Mental Health Providers.

Subp. 2b. Household income. “Household income” means the income, as 
defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 290A.03, subdivision 3, o f  a residential 
customer and all persons residing with the residential customer. Household 
income does not include any amount received for energy assistance.

Subp. 2c. Local energy assistance provider. “Local energy assistance pro­
vider” means a subgrantee for the purposes o f  implementing the low-income 
home energy assistance block grant as provided by Public Law Number 97-35, 
as amended.
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Subp. 2d. Monthly income. “Monthly income” means the actual monthly 
income o f all persons residing in the household, as defined in Mi nnesota Statutes, 
section 290A.03, subdivision 3, o f  a residential customer. For a residential cus­
tomer who is normally employed only on a seasonal basis and whose annual 
income is over 135 percent o f  the federal poverty level, as provided under Public 
Law Number 97-35, as amended, monthly income is the average monthly income 
o f the residential customer computed on an annual calendar year basis added to 
the monthly income o f  all persons residing in the household. Monthly income 
does not include any amount received for energy assistance.

Subp. 3. Notice of residential customer rights and possible assistance. “Notice 
o f  residential customer rights and possible assistance” means a com m is­
sion-approved, easy-to-understand explanation o f  the residential customer’s 
rights and responsibilities under parts 7820.1500 to 7820.2300.

Subp. 3a. 185 percent of the federal poverty level. “ 185 percent o f  the federal 
poverty level” means 185 percent o f  the federal poverty level, as provided by 
Public Law Number 97-35, as amended.

Subp. 4. Payment schedule. “Payment schedule” means any mutually accept­
able agreement between the residential customer and utility that provides for the 
payment o f the balance o f  any outstanding bills and future bills for estimated 
usage during the penod covered by the payment schedule. Payment schedule also 
means a budget payment plan pursuant to Mmnesota Statutes, section 325E.015. 
Payment schedule does not include the ten percent plan or a reconnection plan.

Subp. 4a. Reasonably on time with payments. “Reasonably on time with pay­
ments” means payment withm seven calendar days o f agreed-to payment dates.

Subp. 4b. Reconnection plan. “Reconnection plan” means a payment plan for 
an income eligible residential customer whose service remains disconnected as 
o f October 15 pursuant to part 7820.2300.

[For text o f  subp 5, see M .R.]

Subp. 5a. Ten percent plan. “Ten percent plan” means payment by the resi­
dential customer to the utility o f ten percent o f  the residential customer’s 
monthly income or the full amount o f  the current month’s utility bill, not includ­
ing arrearages, pursuant to part 7820.1800, subpart 1, item B.

[For text o f  subp 6, see M.R.J

Subp. 6a. Utility. “U tility” means a public utility as defined in Minnesota 
Statutes, section 216B.02, as modified by Mmnesota Statutes, section 216B.026. 
Utility also means a cooperative electric association when a complaint is filed 
under Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.17, subdivision 6a. Utility also means 
a municipally owned gas or electric utility for nonresident consumers o f  the 
municipally owned utility when a complaint is filed under Minnesota Statutes, 
section 216B.17, subdivision 6.

[For text o f  subp 7, see M .R  ]

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.1700 EARLY NO TIFICATIO N OF RIGHTS A N D  TH IR D PARTY  
NOTICE OPTION.

All utilities shall include a “third party notice” and a commission-approved, 
easy-to-understand general statement o f  the protections o f  parts 7820.1500 to
7820.2300 annually as a separate mailing or in the monthly billing mailed to resi­
dential customers immediately prior to the commencement o f the billing cycle 
which includes October 15. These notices shall also be provided to all new resi­
dential customers when they are first provided service by the utility.
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101 UTILITY CUSTOM ER SERVICE 7820.1900

Statutory Authority: M S  s 2 16B.08, 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.1750 DEPOSITS AND DELINQUENCY CHARGES PROHIBITED.
N o utility shall charge a deposit or delinquency charge to a residential cus­

tomer who has:
A. declared to the utility inability to pay and is income eligible, or, if  

appealed, been determined by the commission to be unable to pay; or
B. requested from the utility the ten percent plan and is income eligible, 

or, i f  appealed, been determined by the commission to be eligible for the ten per­
cent plan.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.1800 DISCONNECTION RESTRICTION FOR OCCUPIED RESIDEN­
TIAL UNITS.

Subpart 1. Prohibited disconnection. N o utility shall disconnect the service 
o f any residential unit during “cold weather months,” notwithstanding any other 
customer service rule, except part 7820.1100,. i f  the disconnection would affect 
in any way the primary heat source o f .the residential unit and:

A. The residential customer, or any designated third party, has declared 
inability to pay and is income eligible, as provided in part 7820.1900; or, if  
appealed, the commission has determined the residential customer is unable to 
pay. To declare inability, the residential customer must meet the following 
requirements: the residential customer expresses willingness to enter into a mutu­
ally acceptable payment schedule for the current cold weather .months, pursuant 
to part 7820.2100; and the residential customer was fully paid up or was reason­
ably on time with payments under a payment schedule as o f the billing cycle 
immediately preceding the start o f the current cold weather months; or

B. The residential customer, or any designated third party, requests the 
ten percent, plan and is income eligible, as. provided in part 7820.1900; or, if  
appealed, the commission has determined the residential customer is eligible for 
the ten percent plan. To request the ten percent plan, the residential customer 
must pay the utility at least the lesser o f  the following amounts:

(1) ten percent o f  the residential customer’s monthly income; or
(2) the full amount o f  the current month’s utility bill not including

arrearages.
Payment must be received within seven calendar days o f the due date or reg­

ularly scheduled payment date or payment must be received by the date agreed 
upon by the utility and the residential customer; or

C. The residential customer has entered into a payment schedule and 
is reasonably on tim e with payments under the schedule. i

Subp. 2. Multiple utilities. I f  a residential customer receives service from 
more than one utility, the ten percent amount in subpart 1, item B, subitem (1), 
must be prorated between utilities. The utility providing the major portion o f  the 
residential customer’s total energy costs during the cold weather months shall 
receive 70 percent o f  the ten percent amount. Other utilities shall receive equal 
portions o f the remaining 30 percent o f the ten percent amount.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B. 08; 216B. 095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.1900 DECLARATION OF INABILITY TO PAY OR PLAN REQUEST!
Subpart 1. Notice before disconnection of service. Prior to disconnecting the 

service affecting the primary heat source o f  any residential unit for failure to
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7820.1900 UTILITY CUSTOM ER SERVICE 102

make payment for such service, the utility shall serve, personally or by first class 
mail, the following upon the residential customer and any designated third party:

A. a commission-approved notice o f  proposed disconnection;
B. a commission-approved notice o f residential customer rights and pos­

sible assistance which must include:
(1) for each county served by the utility, a list o f  the names and 

phone numbers o f local energy assistance providers, weatherization providers, 
conservation providers, and other entities that assist residential customers in 
reducing the consumption o f  energy;

(2) an explanation o f  no-cost and low-cost methods to reduce the 
consumption o f  energy, including, for example, lower thermostat and hot water 
heater settings, turn off lights and close off ,rooms not in use, reduce hot water 
usage, block drafts around doors, cover windows with plastic sheets, replace fur­
nace filters, caulk, weather strip, install hot water heater wraps, and similar meth­
ods. The explanation shall also include, i f  applicable, a description o f utility 
conservation services which could assist the residential customer in implement­
ing these measures; ,

(3) an explanation o f  the residential customer’s rights and responsi­
bilities under part 7820.2010 and, for each county served by the utility, a list o f  
the names and phone numbers o f  local energy assistance providers, financial 
counseling providers, and other entities from which the residential customer can 
receive budget counseling; and

(4) a written explanation o f  how utility payments will be prorated 
under the ten percent plan when the residential customer is served by multiple 
utilities;

C. a commission-approved, addressed, postage-prepaid form on which 
a residential customer, or any designated third party, shall state that the customer 
received budget counseling pursuant to part 7820.2010; and

D. a commission-approved, addressed, postage-prepaid form on which 
a residential customer, or any designated third party, may declare inability to pay 
or request the ten percent plan. The residential customer shall indicate on the 
form whether the customer receives any type o f  public assistance, including 
energy assistance, that uses household income eligibility o f  less than 185 percent 
o f the federal poverty level. The residential customer shall provide on the form:

(1) written consent to the utilities’ exchange o f billing information 
when the residential customer is served by multiple utilities;

(2) acknowledgment that the residential customer has received, 
read, and understood the notice served under item B; and

(3) a declaration that the information provided is true and correct.
Subp. la . Notice to local energy assistance provider. Upon receipt o f  a resi­

dential customer’s declaration o f  inability to pay or request for the ten percent 
plan, the utility shall mail the'following information to the local energy assistance 
provider:

A. the name and address o f  the residential customer;
B. the expiration date o f  the notice o f  proposed disconnection and the 

date o f  proposed disconnection; and
C. the amount due.

Subp. lb . Income verification and appeal. If the residential customer does not 
receive any type o f  public assistance, including energy assistance, that uses house­
hold income eligibility o f  less than 185 percent o f  the federal poverty level, and 
the utility does not have information sufficient to determine income eligibility 
without income verification, the utility shall notify the local energy assistance 
provider. The local energy assistance provider shall verify to the utility that the 
residential customer’s household income is less than 185 percent o f  the federal
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103 UTILITY CUSTOM ER SERVICE 7820.2000

poverty level within 21 calendar days after the local energy assistance provider 
receives notification o f the need to verify from the utility. The local energy assis­
tance provider shall document its verification and, upon request, provide a copy 
to the commission. If  the local energy assistance provider fails to verify income 
within 21 days, the utility may determine income eligibility based upon the infor­
mation available to it.

I f  the local energy assistance provider or utility determines that the residen­
tial customer’s household income is equal to or greater than 185 percent o f  the 
federal poverty level, the utility shall provide the residential customer and any 
designated third party with a commission-approved wntten notice o f  the right 
to appeal the local energy assistance provider or utility determination. Any 
appeal must be made within seven working days after the residential customer’s 
receipt o f  personally served notice, or for ten working days after the utility has 
deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In determining an 
appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply. The determination 
shall be based upon 185 percent o f  the federal poverty level.

The utility shall not disconnect service while an appeal is pending, or until 
any appeal involving income verification has been determined by the commis­
sion. If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third party, 
the utility may disconnect service pursuant to the procedures and requirements 
o f parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

[For text o f  subp 2, see M.R.J

Subp. 3. Appeal of customer’s declaration or request. I f  the local energy assis­
tance provider does not need to verify income or i f  the utility appeals on other 
grounds, the utility has 14 working days after receipt o f  the form from the resi­
dential customer to file an appeal. An appeal must be in writing, on forms pre­
scribed by the commission. The utility shall not prevent any residential customer 
or designated third party from making a declaration or request. If  it appeals, a 
copy o f the appeal, and a commission-approved letter explaining that the residen­
tial customer may have service terminated, shall be mailed by the utility to the 
local welfare agency and the local energy assistance provider on the same daiy.as 
the utility mails its appeal to the commission.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.2000 C O M M ISSIO N  DETERM INATIO N OF DECLARATION OR  
REQUEST.

Subpart 1. Determination of appeal. All appeals o f declarations o f  inability 
to pay or eligibility for the ten percent plan shall be determined on an informal 
basis by the commission within 30 calendar days after receipt o f  the utility’s writ­
ten appeal. The commission shall determine the residential customer’s inability 
to pay or eligibility for the ten percent plan based upon the following: a finding 
that the residential customer is in compliance with part 7820.1800, and a finding 
that the residential customer’s household income is less than 185 percent o f the 
federal poverty level.

In making its determination, the commission shall consider one or more o f  
the following:

A. documentation o f income verification by the local energy assistance 
provider, i f  applicable;

B. documentation that the residential customer is a recipient o f  any type 
o f public assistance, including energy assistance, that uses household income eli­
gibility in an amount less than 185 percent o f  the federal poverty level;

C. the most recent income tax retum(s) filed by members o f  the residen­
tial customer’s household;
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7820.2000 UTILITY CUSTOM ER SERVICE 104

D. for each employed member o f  the residential customer’s household, 
either paycheck stubs for the last two months or a written statement from the 
employer o f wages earned during the preceding two months;

E. a medicaid card or food stamps eligibility document;
F. documentation that the residential customer is on a pension from the 

Department o f Human Services, the Social Security Administration, the Veter­
ans Administration, or other pension providers;

G. a letter showing the residential customer’s dismissal from a job or 
other documentation o f  unemployment; or

H. other documentation which supports the residential customer’s dec­
laration o f  inability to pay.

Subp. 2. Disconnection during 30-day appeal period. The utility shall not dis­
connect the service until expiration o f the 30-day appeal period. If  the commis­
sion determines that the residential customer is able to pay or i f  the commission  
determines that the residential customer is not eligible for the ten percent plan, 
the utility may disconnect the service, pursuant to parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400,
7820.2100, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.2010 BUDGET COUNSELING.
Subpart 1. Requirement. The following residential customers shall receive 

budget counseling from a local energy assistance provider, financial counseling 
provider, or other entity that provides budget counseling such as a church, com­
munity group, or outreach worker employed by a public or private social service 
agency:

' A. a residential customer who has declared inability to pay to the utility 
and is income eligible, or i f  appealed, has been determined by the commission  
to be unable to pay; and

B. a residential customer who has requested the ten percent plan from 
the utility and is income eligible, or i f  appealed, has been determined by the com­
mission to be eligible for the ten percent plan.

A residential customer shall receive budget counseling within 90 calendar 
days after declaring inability to pay or requesting the ten percent plan. The resi­
dential customer and the local energy assistance provider, financial counseling 
provider, or other entity that provides budget counseling shall sign and date the 
form provided by the utility under part 7820.1900, subpart 1. The residential cus­
tomer shall mail the completed form to the utility. Budget counseling is not a pre­
requisite for protection under parts 7820.1800, 7820.1900, and 7820.2000.

Subp. 2. Appeals. Prior to disconnecting a residential customer for failure 
to receive budget counseling, the utility shall provide the residential customer 
and any designated third party with a commission-approved written notice o f  the 
right to appeal. Any appeal must be made within seven working days after the 
residential customer’s receipt o f personally served notice, or for ten working days 
after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In 
determining an appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply.

In determining an appeal, the commission shall consider whether the resi­
dential customer made a good faith effort to obtain budget counseling.

The utility shall not disconnect service while an appeal is pending, or until 
any appeal involving budget counseling has been determined by the commission. 
I f  no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third party, the 
utility may disconnect service pursuant to the procedures and requirements o f  
parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

Statutory Authority: M S s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714
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7820.2100 PAYM ENT SCHEDULE.
[For text o f  subpart 1, see M .R J

Subp. 2. Inability to pay. The residential customer or third party should 
notify the utility immediately o f any circumstances making it impossible for the 
residential customer to comply with the payment schedule and should propose 
specific modifications to the payment schedule. Upon receipt o f a request for 
modification o f  a payment schedule, the utility shall consider changes in the resi­
dential customer’s consumption pattern, utility rate increases effective since the 
date o f the original schedule, and changes in the residential customer’s financial 
circumstances. N o residential customer who has declared inability to pay and is 
income eligible, or i f  appealed, has been determined to be unable to pay, shall 
be disconnected during cold weather months for failure to make payments under 
a payment schedule which applies to that period o f  time.

Subp. 3. Appeals. The utility shall provide the residential customer and any 
designated third party with a commission-approved written notice o f the right 
to appeal to the commission when the utility and residential customer are unable 
to agree on the establishment, reasonableness or modification o f  a payment 
schedule, or on the reasonable timeliness o f the payments under a payment 
schedule. Any appeal must be made within seven working days after the residen­
tial customer’s receipt o f personally served notice, or for ten working days after 
the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In deter­
mining an appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply. The 
determination shall be based upon 185 percent o f  the federal poverty level.

The utility shall not disconnect service while a payment schedule is pending 
appeal, or until any appeal involving payment schedules has been determined by 
the commission. If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated 
third party and the residential customer has been determined to have the ability 
to pay the utility bill pursuant to part 7820.2000, the utility may disconnect ser­
v ice pursuant to the procedures and requirements o f  parts 7820.1000 to 
7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.2150 TEN PERCENT PAYM ENT PLAN APPEALS.
The utility shall provide the residential customer and any designated third 

party with a commission-approved written notice o f  the right to appeal to the 
commission when the utility and residential customer are unable to agree on the 
timeliness o f the payment or the proration among multiple utilities under the ten 
percent plan. Any appeal must be made within seven working days after the resi­
dential customer’s receipt o f personally served notice, or for ten working days 
after the utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail. In 
determining an appeal, the procedures set forth in part 7820.2000 shall apply.

The utility shall not disconnect service while an appeal under this part is 
pending, or until any appeal under this part has been determined by the commis­
sion. If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated third party 
and the residential customer has been determined to be ineligible for the ten per­
cent plan pursuant to part 7820.2000, the utility may disconnect service pursuant 
to parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400, 7820.2400, and 7820.2500.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.2200 DISCONNECTION OF POTENTIALLY UNOCCUPIED UNITS.
[For text o f subpart 1, see M .RJ
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Subp. 2. Notice. If contact is made with the residential customer, the utility 
shall provide the residential customer with the information required by part 
7820.1900, subpart 1. I f  the residential customer declares inability to pay or 
requests the ten percent plan, parts 7820.1900 and 7820.2000 shall apply. At least 
seven working days before disconnecting the residential customer, the utility 
shall notify by telephone and a commission-approved letter the local welfare 
office and the local energy assistance provider o f  the proposed disconnection.

If the utility is unable to contact the residential customer, and it reasonably 
appears from the on-site inspections that the unit is unoccupied, the utility shall 
provide notice by first class mail to the recorded billing address o f  the residential 
customer. Such notice shall include an easy-to-understand explanation o f the pro­
tections o f  this rule and the information required by part 7820.1900, subpart 1. 
If no response has been received by the utility after ten working days after the 
utility has deposited first class mail notice in the United States mail, the service 
m aybe disconnected, pursuant to parts 7820.1000 to 7820.1400,7820.2400, and 
7820.2500.

[For text o f  subp 3, see M.R.J

Statutory Authority: M S  s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714

7820.2300 R ECO NN ECTIO N  AT B E G IN N IN G  OF COLD W EATHER  
M O NTH S.

Subpart 1. Reinstatement of service. The utility shall reinstate service which 
in any way affects the primary heat source o f a residential unit i f  such service 
remains disconnected as o f  October 15 i f  the residential customer makes applica­
tion for reinstatement and enters either a reconnection plan or a payment sched­
ule. A residential customer may enter a reconnection plan only i f  the customer’s 
monthly household income is less than 185 percent o f  the federal poverty level.

Subp. 2. Reconnection plan. Under a reconnection plan, the residential cus­
tomer must pay the current utility bills and arrearages in monthly installments 
during the cold weather months. Each monthly installment must not exceed ten 
percent o f  one-twelfth o f the residential customer’s annual income. The recon­
nection plan applies only to the cold weather months.

Subp. 3. Appeal of reconnection plan. The utility shall provide the residential 
customer and any designated third party with a commission-approved written 
notice o f the right to appeal to the commission when the utility and residential 
customer are unable to agree on the establishment, amount, or reasonable timeli­
ness o f the payments under a reconnection plan. Any appeal must be made within 
seven working days after the residential customer’s receipt o f  personally served 
notice, or for ten working days after the utility has deposited first class mail notice 
in the United States mail. In determining an appeal, the procedures set forth in  
part 7820.2000 apply.

The utility shall not deny service while a reconnection plan is pending 
appeal, or until any appeal involving reconnection plans has been determined by 
the commission. If no appeal is made by the residential customer or designated 
third party, the utility may deny service.

Subp. 4. Payment schedule. Any residential customer disconnected as o f  
October 15 shall have the same rights as provided in part 7820.2100, governing 
payment schedules.

Statutory Authority: M S s 216B.08; 216B.095
History: 14 SR 2714
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