CHAPTER 7419 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION DIVISION FILM RENTAL FEES

7419.0100 DEFINITIONS.
7419.0200 PURPOSE AND SCOPE.
7419.0300 FILM RENTAL.
7419.0400 RENTAL FEES.

7419.0500 RENTAL TERMS. 7419.0600 LATE FEES. 7419.0700 FILM RETURN POSTAGE. 7419.0800 FILMS LOST OR DESTROYED.

7419.0100 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. The terms used in this chapter have the meanings given them in this part.

- Subp. 2. Film library. "Film library" means the film library staffed and funded by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.
- Subp. 3. Films. "Films" means 16 millimeter films, 35-millimeter slides, film strips, and video cassettes used in the instruction of traffic safety or as support material in the instruction of traffic safety.
- Subp. 4. **Traffic safety instruction.** "Traffic safety instruction" means instructional or educational programs addressing driver education, pedestrian safety, motorcycle safety, bicycle safety, defensive driving, and energy conservation in vehicles or other vehicular means of transportation.
- Subp. 5. Renter. "Renter" means a person, group, governmental agency, or other organization requesting films from the film library.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0200 PURPOSE AND SCOPE.

Subpart 1. **Purpose.** The purpose of this chapter is to establish film rental fees for films in the Minnesota Department of Public Safety film library used as instructional aids in traffic safety education.

Subp. 2. Scope. The scope of this chapter is intended to be consistent with Minnesota Statutes, section 299A.01, subdivision 6.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0300 FILM RENTAL.

The film library may rent films for traffic safety instruction to schools, civic groups, subdivisions and agencies of state government, commercial driver training schools, and individuals.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0400 RENTAL FEES.

Rental fees are based on the length and age of the film. Film rates listed in this part are for color films. The fees for black and white films are 20 percent less than the fees for corresponding color films. The fees for color films are as follows:

Running Film Less Than Film Over Four Years Old Years Old

Less than 15 minutes \$4.00 \$3.00

7419.0400 FILM RENTAL FEES

15 minutes but less than 30 minutes 5.00 4.00

30 minutes or more

5.50 4.50

164

The fee for slide shows or film strips is \$3 regardless of length or age.

An annual membership is available at a fee of \$750, that allows only public or nonpublic elementary and secondary schools located within a public school district, as a group, to rent the films for use by all or any of its individual public schools or nonpublic schools on a yearly basis from July 1 to June 30. The annual membership is subject to the conditions of parts 7419.0100 to 7419.0800 except for the regular fee schedule.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0500 RENTAL TERMS.

Films may be rented from the film library for a period of one to five days. The renter must provide the dates when the film will be used. The film library shall mail rented films in advance of the first day of use so that the renter receives the film in time. Films returned by mail must be postmarked by the day following the date provided for the last day of use of the film. If the film requested is not available, the film library shall notify the renter and give the renter an option of renting a comparable film. If the comparable film is objectionable, the renter must notify the film library immediately. If no objection is received, the comparable film will be sent to the renter at the applicable fee, if any, under part 7419.0400.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0600 LATE FEES.

The department shall assess late fees when a film being returned is postmarked later than the day after the date provided for the last day of use of the film. The late fee for being one to six days late is twice the initial rental fee. The late fee for being seven to 12 days late is four times the initial rental fee. The late fee will again double for each subsequent six—day period.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0700 FILM RETURN POSTAGE.

Film return postage must be paid by the renter. Films should be insured when mailed back to the film library.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

7419.0800 FILMS LOST OR DESTROYED.

Films lost or destroyed while in the renter's possession or while in the return mail must be replaced at the film library by the renter.

Statutory Authority: MS s 299A.01 subd 6

History: 11 SR 777

Copyright © 1993 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.