CHAPTER 7414 DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES DIVISION SCHOOL BUS DRIVER QUALIFICATIONS

7414 1400 7414 1600 PERIODIC REEXAMINATION
USE OF FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER
MEDICAL EXAMINATION
CERTIFICATE

7414.1400 PERIODIC REEXAMINATION.

Each school bus driver is required to take and pass a physical examination every two years in order to retain the school bus driver's endorsement. The two—year reexamination period will start from the examination date of the most recent physical examination certificate submitted by a school bus driver. The Department of Public Safety will send physical examination certificates to school bus drivers. A school bus driver shall return the certificate, completed by the examining physician, along with a \$2 processing fee, on or before the expiration of the two—year period, to the Department of Public Safety Failure to pass and return the physical examination will result in cancellation of the school bus driver's endorsement from the Minnesota driver license.

Statutory Authority: MS s 171 321

History: 19 SR 1131

7414.1600 USE OF FEDERAL MOTOR CARRIER MEDICAL EXAMINATION CERTIFICATE.

Subpart 1 **Exemption.** An applicant for an initial school bus driver's endorsement or for renewal of a school bus driver's endorsement is exempt from parts 7414 1100, 7414 1200, 7414 1300, and 7414 1400, upon providing evidence of being medically examined and certified within the preceding 24 months as physically qualified to operate a commercial motor vehicle, pursuant to Code of Federal Regulations, title 49, part 391, subpart E, or Minnesota Statutes, section 221.0314, incorporating those federal regulations. As evidence of being medically examined and certified, the applicant is required to submit, to the Department of Public Safety, the original or photographic copy of the commercial motor carrier physical examination form or the medical examiner's certificate under those federal regulations.

Subp 2 **Periodic reexamination.** Each school bus driver is required to take and pass a physical examination every two years in order to retain the school bus driver's endorsement. The two—year reexamination period will start from the examination date of the most recent physical examination form or medical examiner's certificate submitted by a school bus driver under subpart 1 A school bus driver must send the original or photographic copy of the completed physical examination form or medical examiner's certificate, along with a \$2 processing fee, on or before the expiration of the two—year period, to the Department of Public Safety Failure to pass the physical examination and submit the physical examination form or medical examiner's certificate will result in cancellation of the school bus driver's endorsement from the Minnesota driver's license

Statutory Authority: MS s 171 321

History: 19 SR 1131