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7002.0010 SCOPE.

Parts 7002.0010 to_ 7002.0100 apply to all persons required to obtain a per-
mit from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as described in parts
7001.0010 to 7001.0210 and 7001.1200 to 7001.1350.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0020 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of parts 7002.0010 to 7002.0110, the
terms defined in this part have the meanings given them and the definitions in
parts 7001.0010, 7001.1260, and 7005 0010 to 7005.3060 apply unless the terms
are defined in th1s part.

Subp. 2. [Repealed, 14 SR 1878]

, Subp. 2a. Administrative amendment. “Administrative amendment” means
an amendment to an air emission permit or indirect source permit under part
7001.0190, subparts 2 and 3.

Subp. 3. Air pollution control equipment. “Air pollution control equipment”
means a device used to prevent, abate, or control air pollution.

Subp. 4. [Repealed, 14 SR 1878]

Subp. 5. [Repealed, 14 SR 1878]

Subp. 6. Major emitter. “Major emitter” means a stationary source that has
the potential to emit 100 tons per year or more of a single criteria pollutant.

Subp. 7. [Repealed, 14 SR 1878]

Subp. 7a. Noncriteria pollutant. “Noncriteria pollutant” means a pollutant
that is not a criteria pollutant and that may have the potential to be injurious to
human health.

Subp. 9. Nonmajor emitter. “Nonmajor emitter” means a stationary source
other than a major emutter.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0030 FEE DETERMINATION.

The agency shall calculate processing, compliance demonstration, and
annual fees based upon the schedule 1n part 7002.0100 and shall notify the per-
mittee of the amount due before each payment date, except for application fees,
which shall be submitted in accordance with part 7002.0050.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878
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7002.0050 APPLICATION FEE.

A person who applies for (1) a permit to construct, modify, reconstruct, or
operate an emissions unit, emission facility, stationary source, air pollution con-
trol equipment, or an indirect source, or (2) an administrative amendment, shall
submit with the application the appropriate application fee. Failure to submit the
fee renders the application incomplete and the agency shall suspend processing
of the application until the fee is received. Application fees are nonrefundable.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0060 PROCESSING AND COMPLIANCE DEMONSTRATION FEES.

Subpart 1. Processing and compliance demonstration fees. Except as provided
in subpart 2, a permittee shall pay the applicable processing and compliance dem-
onstration fees as histed in part 7002.0100, subparts 3 to 4c, within 30 days of
receipt of an invoice from the agency.

Subp. 2. Annual installment of fees. If a facility 1s a “small business” as
defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 14.115, subdivision 1, the permittee may
request to pay the processing fee in annual installments. Annual installments are
determined by dividing the processing fee 1nto equal annual payments based on
the term of the permit. The first payment shall be made within 30 days of receipt
of an invoice from the agency and annually thereafter on the receipt of another
invoice. A facility that qualifies as a “small business” must provide proof of that
status upon application for a permit. For purposes of this subpart, the term of
an indirect source permit is the construction period unless the permit specifies
a term.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116 07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0070 ANNUAL FEE.

All persons required to obtain a permit shall pay the annual fee for enforce-
ment of applicable statutes and rules required by part 7002.0100, subparts 5, 5a,
and 6. The annual fee shall be paid within 30 days of receipt of an invoice from
the agency.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116 07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0080 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.

A person who thinks that a processing fee, compliance demonstration fee,
or annual fee for a specific facility is in error shall provide written notice of the
error to the director of the Division of Air Quality along with the assessed fee.
If the director of the Division of Air Quality finds, upon reviewing the data, that
the assessed fee was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the permittee
or credited to the permittee’s account.

Statutory Authority: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0100 AIR QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.

Subpart 1. Scope. The fees established in this part are applicable to facilities
and indirect sources which require an air emission permit under part 7001.1210
(permit rules, air emission permits) or an indirect source permit under part
7001.1270 (permit rules, indirect source permits).

Subp. 2. Application fee. A person making applcation for an air emission
permit or an indirect source permit shall submit with the application an applica-
tion fee of $50.
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Subp. 3. Basic processing fees. The permittee shall pay the following basic
processing fees for the applicable permit activity:

A. $1,000 for the construction of an indirect source;

B. $1,000 for the construction or reconstruction of a major emitter;

C. $500 for the construction or reconstruction of a nonmajor emitter;

D. $350 for the modification of a major emitter or installation of air pol-
lution control equipment at a major emitter;

E. $175 for the modification of a nonmajor emitter or installation of air
pollution control equipment at a nonmajor emitter;

F. $550 for the reissuance of a permit for a major emitter,
G. $225 for the reissuance of a permit for a nonmajor emitter;

. H. $175 for any modification of an indirect source, other than an admin-
istrative amendment;

L $50 for an administrative amendment to a permit; and’
J. $75 for issuance or reissuance of a general permit.

For purposes of this subpart, if activities in items D and E occur simulta-
neously with items described in items F and G, the agency shall waive the fee for
@ten}s D and E and only assess a reissuance fee and applicable additional process-
ing fees.

Subp. 3a. Basic processing fee surcharges..In addition to the fees m subpart
3, item B, D, or F, a major emitter shall be charged a basic processing fee sur-
charge for the tons of potential emissions of criteria pollutants above the initial
100 ton per year threshold that classifies it as a major emitter. The surcharge shall
be in the following amount, based on potential emissions of the criteria pollutant
emitted in the greatest volume by the major emitter:

Total Potential Surcharge

Emissions

(tons per year) Subpart 3, Subpart 3, Subpart 3,
item B item D item F
Construction Modification Reissue
Reconstruction

250-499 $ 500 $175 $ 275

500-999 $ 750 $ 260 $ 415

1,000-4,999 $1,125 $ 395 $ 625

5,000-9,999 $ 1,500 $ 590 $ 935

10,000 or more $2,500 $ 895 $ 1,400

Subp. 4. Additional processing fees. In addition to the fees required in sub-
parts 3 and 3a, the permittee shall pay the following additional processing fees,
when applicable:

A. $2,500 for permits issued to which parts 7005.3010 to 7005.3060
apply; '

B. $2,500 for permits issued to which federal prevention of significant
deterioration regulations in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, section 52.21
apply;

C. $125 for permits issued to which new source performance standards
requirements in Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60 apply, with an
additional $125 applying for each additional new source performance standard
subpart beyond the first, applicable to the subject permit;

D. $400 for permits requiring evaluation with regard to emissions of
noncriteria pollutants;

E. $400 for dispersion modeling reviews performed for reasons other
than those covered by item A, B, or D; and
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F. $500 for either an indirect source design change as defined in the
applicable indirect source permut, or for a modification of an indirect source per-
mit that is neither a minor modification as described in part 7001.1350, nor an
administrative amendment.

Subp. 4a. Additional processing fee surcharges. In addition to the fees
required in subparts 3, 3a, and 4, the permittee shall pay the following additional
processing fee surcharges when applicable:

A. $250 for each additional criteria pollutant beyond the first which is
subject to parts 7005.3010 to 7005.3060; ;

B. $250 for each additional criteria pollutant beyond the first which is
subject to federal prevention of significant deterioration rules in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, section 52.21;

C. for each permit that includes permit requirements for facilities sub-
ject tgonew source performance standards, Code of Federal Regulations, title 40,
part 60: . ,

(1) $25 for each additional affected facility, as defined in Code of
Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, beyond the first, that is subject to a single
subpart of Code of Federal Regulations, title 40, part 60, not to exceed $500 per
permit issuance; and )

(2) $25 for each additional pollutant, beyond the first, to which the
stationary source is subject under a single applicable subpart of Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, part 60;

D. $75 for each additional noncriteria pollutant beyond the first that is
evaluated; and

E. $75 for each additional pollutant, beyond the first, that is subject to
a fee for dispersion modeling review under subpart 4, item E.

Subp. 4b. Compliance demonstration fees. Fees under this subpart apply at
the time of completion of the review of the activity by the agency. Persons
;equired to perform the following activities shall pay the following applicable

ees:
. A. $75 for each method 9 visible emissions evaluation or part 7005.0930
odor emission evaluation performance test report-reviewed by the agency;

B. $475 for each performance test report on emissions from one stack
or equivalent emissions point, other than a method 9 visible emissions evalua-
tion, reviewed by the agency, with a separate $475 fee applying to each stack or
equivalent emissions point tested; and

C. $475 for each continuous emission monitor certification, recertifica-
tion, and any relative accuracy test audit report reviewed by the agency.

Subp. 4¢c. Compliance demonstration fee surcharges. Fees under this subpart
apply at the time of completion of the review.by the agency. In addition to the
fees required in subpart 4b, the permittee shall pay compliance demonstration
fee surcharges as listed below when applicable:

A. $25 for each additional method 9 visible emission evaluation
included in a single performance test report beyond the first that is reviewed by
the agency;

B. for a single performance test report, other than a method 9 visible
emission evaluation or part 7005.0930 odor emission evaluation performance
test report:

(1) $100 for each additional reference method or its equivalent
beyond the first five that is reviewed; and
(2) $100 for each additional emissions unit that contributes to the
stack or equivalent emissions point tested beyond the first that is reviewed; and
C. $100 for each additional pollutant monitored by a continuous emis-
sion monitor submitting a report under subpart 4b, item C, beyond the first, not
to include diluent gases necessary for monitor operation.
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Subp. 5. Annual fees. All persons required to obtain an air emission permit
or an indirect source permit shall pay the applicable annual fee according to items
A and B. -

A. Stationary sources shall pay the following applicable annual fees:
(1) $450 for a-major -emitter; and .
(2) $225 for a nonmajor emitter.

Annual fees for stationary sources shall be based on the potential emissions
of the stationary source on January 1 of the year for which the fee applies. Sea-
sonal facilities are not exempt from annual fees and shall pay annual fees in
accordance with their potential to emit. The agency shall not charge an annual
fee for a stationary source if the potential to emit any single criteria pollutant is
less than 50 tons per year for each criteria pollutant unless the stationary source
has the potential to emit at least 1,000 pounds of lead per year.

B. Persons required to obtain an indirect source permit shall pay an
annual fee of $400 through the year in which construction is completed or com-
pliance with all permit provisions is documented, whichever is later.

Subp. 5a. Annual fee surcharges. In addition to the fees in subpart 5, item
A, amajor emitter shall be charged an additional annual fee surcharge for the tons
of potential emissions above the initial 100 tons that classifies it as a major emit-
ter. The surcharge shall be in the following amount, based on the potential emis-
sions of the criteria pollutant emitted in the greatest amount:

Table Potential Emissions Surcharge
(tons per year)
250-499 $ 450
500-999 $ 675
1,000:4,999 $1,015
5,000-9,999 $1,520
10,000 or more $2,280

Subp. 6. General permits. The agency shall not charge annual fees for permits
issued as a general permit under the permit rules in part 7001.0210.

Statutery Authority: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878

7002.0310 TABLE, WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES.

Subpart 1. Major NPDES permit fees. The following fees shall be paid for
major NPDES facilities:

A. Municipal permits:

Design Flow

in Million :

Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee

50 and over $60 $62,600 $83,500
20t0 49.99 60 27,100 16,700
5t019.99 60 12,500 5,300
Up t04.99 60 5,900 2,000
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B. Nonmunicipal permits:

Design Flow ) .
in Million : . -
Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee - Fee Fee
2010 49.99 $60 ' $27,100 "$18,800
51t019.99 60 15,000 6, 200 .
Upto 4.99 60 7,700 3 100
Cooling or ;
Mine Pit X .
Dewatering T Co
(any flow) 60 15,000 o, 6,200, -

Subp. 2. Nonmajor NPDES and state disposal permit fees. The follow\ing‘ fees
shall be paid by a permittee not designated as a major NPDES facility and by a
permittee that has applied for or received a state disposal system permlt

A. Municipal permuits:

Design Flow
in Million
Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee
Greater than .
.100 $60 $2,610 $290
01t0.100 60 1,250 110
Sewage sludge
landspreading
facilities 60 1,250 110

B. Nonmunicipal permits:
Design Flow
in Million
Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee
Sewage 0 to
.100 $60 $1,250 $110
Other nonmunicipal
(any flow) 60 2,610 360

Subp. 3. Other water guality permit fees. The following application fees shall
be paid by a permittee that has applied for or received a general, sewer extens1on
or liquid storage permit.

A. General, $60;
B. Sewer extension, $170; and
C. Liquid storage, $530.

Statutory Autherity: MS s 116.07
History: 14 SR 1878
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