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AIR QUALITY PERMIT FEES
7002.0010 SCOPE.

Parts 7002.0010 to 7002.0100 apply to all persons required to obtain a 
permit from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as described m part 7001.0020 
(permanent rules, scope), items I and J.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0020 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes o f this chapter the terms defined in this 

part have the meanings given them.
Subp. 2. Agency. “Agency” means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
Subp. 3. Air pollution control equipment. “Air pollution control equipment” 

means a device used to prevent, abate, or control air pollution.
Subp. 4. Director. “Director” means the executive director and chief execu­

tive officer o f the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
Subp 5. Indirect source. “Indirect source” means a facility, building, struc­

ture, or installation which attracts or may attract mobile source activity that 
results m emissions o f a pollutant for which there is a state standard.

Subp. 6. Major emission facility. “Major emission facility” means a facility 
having potential emissions o f 100 tons per year or more o f sulfur dioxide or 
particulate matter.

Subp. 7. Nonattainment area. “Nonattainment area” means a geographical 
region that has been designated by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as 
violating a state or national ambient air quality standard.

Subp. 8. Total emission facility. “Total emission facility” means an assem­
blage o f all emission sources on adjacent property that are under common 
ownership or control and that exist for a common function.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0030 FEE DETERMINATION.
The agency shall calculate processing and annual fees based upon the sched­

ule m part 7002.0100 and shall notify the permittee o f  the amount due prior to 
each payment date.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537
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25 PERMIT FEES 7002.0090

7002.0040 PAYMENT OF FEES.
A person submitting a fee shall make the fee payable to the “Minnesota 

Pollution Control Agency” and submit it to the Director, D ivision o f Air Quality, 
as appropriate for the type o f permitted activity.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0050 APPLICATION FEE.
A person who applies for a permit to construct, install, modify, or operate 

a facility shall submit with the application the appropriate application fee. 
Failure to submit the fee renders the application incomplete and the agency shall 
suspend processing o f the application until the fee is received. Application fees 
are nonrefundable.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0060 PROCESSING FEE.
A permittee shall pay the applicable processing fee within 30 days o f issuance 

o f the permit by the agency.
If a facility is a “small business” as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section

14.115, subdivision 1, the permittee may request to pay the processing fee in 
annual installments. Annual installments are determined by dividing the process­
ing fee into equal annual payments based on the term o f the permit. The first 
payment shall be made within 30 days o f issuance o f the permit and annually 
thereafter on the anniversary o f issuance. A facility that qualifies as a “small 
business” must provide proof o f that status upon application for a permit.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d  
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0070 ANNUAL FEE.
All persons required to obtain a permit shall pay an annual fee for enforce­

ment o f applicable statutes and rules except as provided in part 7002.0100. The 
annual fee shall be paid within 30 days o f receipt o f an invoice from the agency. 

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d  
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0080 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.
A person who thinks that a basic processing fee, additional processing fee, 

or annual fee for a specific facility is in error shall provide written notice o f the 
error to the director o f the Division o f Air Quality along with the assessed fee. 
If the director o f the Division o f Air Quality finds, upon reviewing the data, that 
the assessed fee was m error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the permittee 
or credited to the permittee’s account.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0090 LATE PAYMENT FEE.
The permittee shall pay a late payment fee o f  20 percent o f the payment due 

for failure to make payment withm 30 days o f a payment date. The permittee 
shall pay an additional ten percent o f the original payment due for each 30-day 
period or portion thereof that the payment is late.

Statutory Authority: M S  s' 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR 1537
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7002.0100 AIR QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.
Subpart 1. Scope. The fees established m this part are applicable to facilities 

and indirect sources which require an air emission facility permit under part 
7001.1210 (permit rules, air emission facility permits) or an indirect source 
permit under part 7001.1270 (permit rules, indirect source permits). For the 
purpose o f this part, the terms used have the meanings given them in part
7005.0100 (air pollution control rules, definitions).

Subp. 2. Application fee. A person making application for an air emission  
facility permit or an indirect source permit shall submit with the application an 
application fee o f  $50.

Subp. 3. Basic processing fees. The permittee shall pay the following basic 
processing fees for the applicable permit activity:

A. $900 for the construction o f an indirect source;
B. $900 for the construction or reconstruction o f a major emission

facility;
C. $300 for the construction or reconstruction o f an emission facility 

other than a major emission facility;
D. $300 for the modification o f a major emission facility or installation 

o f air pollution control equipment at a major emission facility;
E. $100 for the modification o f an emission facility other than a major 

emission facility or installation o f air pollution control equipment at an emission 
facility other than a major emission facility;

F. $450 for the reissuance o f a major emission facility permit; and
G. $150 for the reissuance o f an emission facility permit other than a 

major emission facility.
For purposes o f  this subpart, activities as descnbed in items D  and E that 

occur dunng the last year o f the term o f a permit will be addressed along with 
the reissuance o f the permit for a new term. The agency shall waive the fee for 
items D  and E and only assess a reissuance fee and applicable additional process­
ing fees.

Subp. 4. Additional processing fees. In addition to the basic processing fees 
required m subpart 3, the permittee shall pay the following additional processing 
fees, if  applicable:

A. $500 for a major stationary source, as defined m Code o f Federal 
Regulations, title 40, section 51.18(j)(l)(iv), as amended through June 25, 1982, 
located in a nonattainment area;

B. $150 for an emission facility that is subject to the federal prevention 
o f significant deterioration requirements as established in Code o f  Federal Regu­
lations, title 40, section 51.24;

C. $50 for an emission facility that is subject to the federal new source 
performance standards established in Code o f Federal Regulations, title 40, part 
60;

D. $150 for an emission facility that must apply best available control 
technology as required under Code o f Federal Regulations, title 40, section 51.24;

E. $250 for evaluation o f air emissions containing pollutants for which 
no ambient air quality standard has been established under part 7005.0080 (state 
ambient air quality standards) and which have the potential to be injurious to 
human health;

F. $ 150 for dispersion modeling review; and
G. $150 for each performance test review.

Subp. 5. Annual fees. All persons required to obtain an air emission facility 
permit shall pay the following applicable annual fee:

A. $650 for a major emission facility; or

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1986

Copyright © 1986 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                



27 PERMIT FEES 7002.0220

B. $150 for an emission facility other than a major emission facility.
The agency shall not charge an annual fee for an emission facility with 

potential emissions o f a single pollutant o f more than 25 tons per year but less 
than 50 tons per year unless the facility also discharges lead to the ambient air.

Subp. 6. General permits. The agency shall not charge processing or annual 
fees for permits issued as a general permit under part 7001.0210 (permit rules).

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

7002.0110 EFFECTIVE DATE.
Parts 7002.0010 to 7002.0100 are effective January 1, 1986.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  1537

WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES

7002.0210 SCOPE.
Parts 7002.0210 to 7002.0310 apply to all persons required to obtain a 

permit from the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency as described m part 7001.0020, 
items C, E, F, and H.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0220 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose o f parts 7002.0210 to 7002.0310, the 

terms defined in this part have the meanings given them.
Subp 2. Agency. “Agency” means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
Subp. 3. Director. “Director” means the executive director and chief execu­

tive officer o f the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
Subp. 4. Major NPDES facility; definition. “Major NPDES facility” means 

a wastewater treatment discharger designated by the director and the regional 
administrator o f the United States Environmental Protection Agency as part o f  
the annual work plan that is developed m  accordance with and that is subject to 
the public participation requirements o f Code o f Federal Regulations, title 40, 
part 35, and subject to review and approval o f the agency. The agency and the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency shall designate the following 
types o f facilities as major NPDES facilities unless the agency and the United  
States Environmental Protection Agency find that the facility does not have a 
potential for significantly impacting water quality:

A. a publicly-owned treatment facility with an average design flow o f
1,000,000 gallons per day or more;

B. an electrical generating facility that is not primarily standby or a 
peaking facility with a generation capacity o f 100 megawatts or greater,

C. a facility that is primary industry as defined in Code oif Federal 
Regulations, title 40, section 122.2, or other industry that discharges quantities 
o f process wastewater, which are significant due to the volume, pollutant loading, 
or other discharge parameters or the character o f the receiving water; or

D. a facility with an actual or potential discharge of toxic pollutants 
under section 307(a)(1) o f the Clean Water Act, United States Code, title 33, 
section 1317.

Subp. 5. Municipal permit; definition. “Municipal permit” means a permit 
issued to a municipality as defined in part 7001.1020, subpart 18, for the 
discharge or disposal o f  wastewater which is a five percent or more sewage. 
Permits issued to municipalities for facilities treating or disposing o f waste that 
is less than five percent sewage shall be considered nonmumcipal permits.
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Subp. 6. National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES). “N a­
tional Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES)” has the meaning given 
it in part 7001.1020, subpart 19.

Subp. 7. Sewage. “Sewage” has the meaning given it in part 7080.0020, 
subpart 33.

Subp. 8. Sewage sludge landspreading facility. “Sewage sludge landspreading 
facility” means a landspreading facility as defined in part 7040.0100, subpart 20 
for the landspreading o f sewage sludge.

Subp. 9. State disposal system permit. “State disposal system permit” means 
a permit for a disposal system that may be constructed and operated without a 
NPDES permit.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d  
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0230 FEE DETERMINATION.
The agency shall calculate processing and annual fees based upon the sched­

ule in part 7002.0310 and shall notify the permittee o f the amount due prior to 
each payment date.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0240 PAYM ENT OF FEES.
A person submitting a fee shall make the fee payable to the “Minnesota 

Pollution Control Agency” and submit it to the director o f the Division o f Water 
Quality.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d  
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0250 APPLICATION FEE.
A person who applied for a permit to construct, install, modify, or operate 

a facility shall submit with the application the appropriate application fee. 
Failure to submit the fee renders the application incomplete and the agency shall 
suspend processing o f the application until the fee is received. Application fees 
are nonrefundable.

Statutory Authority: M S  s  116.07 subd 4 d ,
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0260 PROCESSING FEE.
A permittee shall pay the applicable processing fee within 30 days o f issuance 

o f the permit by the agency.
If a facility is a “small business” as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section

14.115, subdivision 1, or a municipal wastewater treatment plant with an average 
design flow o f less than 30,000 gallons per day, the permittee may request to pay 
the processing fee in annual installments. Annual installments are determined by 
dividing the processing fee into equal annual payments based on the term o f the 
permit. The first payment shall be made withm 30 days o f issuance o f the permit 
and annually thereafter on the anniversary o f issuance. A facility that qualifies 
as a “small business” must provide proof o f that status upon application for a 
permit.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d  
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0270 ANNUAL FEE.
All persons required to obtain a permit listed m part 7002.0310, subparts 1
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29 PERMIT FEES 7002.0310

and 2, shall pay an annual fee for1 enforcement o f applicable statutes and rules. 
The-annual fee shall be paid within 30 days o f receipt of* an invoice from the 
agency. * - - 1 * '

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 SR  2010

7002.0280 NOTIFICATION OF ERROR.
A person who "thinks that a basic processing fee or annual fee for a specific 

facility is in error shall provide written notice o f the error to the director o f the 
Division o f Water Quality, along with the assessed fee. If the director o f the 
Division o f Water Quality finds,, upon reviewing the data, that the assessed fee 
was in error, the overpayment shall be refunded to the permittee or credited to 
the permittee’s account.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116 07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0290 LATE PAYMENT FEE.
The permittee shall pay a late payment fee o f 20 percent o f the payment due 

for failure to make payment within 30 days o f a payment date. The permittee 
shall pay an additional ten percent o f the original payment due for each 30-day 
period or portion thereof that the payment is late. , ,

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd,4d  
History: 10 S R  2010

7002.0300 WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEE SCHEDULE.
■ Permit fees for water quality permits are established in part 7002.0310. 

Statutory Authority: M S  s 116.07 subd 4d  
History: 10 S R  2010 „ ' . r

7002.0310 TABLE, WATER QUALITY PERMIT FEES.
Subpart 1. Major N PD ES permit fees. The following fees shall be paid for

major NPDES facilities:
A. Municipal permits: 

Design Flow 
in Million
Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee

50 and over $50 $30,000 $40,000
20 to 49.99 50 13,000 8,000
5 to 19.99 50 6,000 2,500
Up to 4.99 50 2,800 950

B. Nonmunicipal permits: 
Design Flow 
in Million
Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee Fee

20 to 49.99 $50 $13,000 ' $9,000
5 to 19.99 50 7,200 3,000
Up to 4.99 50 3,700 1,500
Cooling or 
Mine Pit 
Dewatering 
(any flow) 50 7,200 3,000
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Subp. 2. Nonmajor NPD ES and state disposal permit fees. The following fees 
shall be paid by a permittee not designated as a major NPDES facility and by a 
permittee that has applied for or received a state disposal system permit.

A. Municipal permits:
Design Flow  
in Million 
Gallons per Application • _ Processing , i Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee. Fee

Greater than
.100 $50 - $1,250 $140

0 to .099 J 50 ' 600 50
Sewage sludge 
landspreading 
facilities 50 600 50

B. Nonmunicipal permits: 
Design Flow  
in Million
Gallons per Application Processing Annual
Day (MGD) Fee Fee F e e '

Sewage 0 to 
.099 $50 $ 600 $ 50

Other nonmunicipal 
(any flow) 50 1,250 175

Subp. 3. Other water quality permit fees. The following application fees shall 
be paid by a permittee that has applied for or received a general, sewer extension, 
or liquid storage permit.

A. General, $50;
B. Sewer extension, $80; and
C. Liquid storage, $250. ’ ■ v '

Statutory Authority: M S s 116.07 subd 4d
History: 10 S R  2010
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