CHAPTER 6900 BOARD OF PODIATRY

PODIATRIST LICENSURE

6900 0010 6900 0020 6900 0160 DEFINITIONS LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS TEMPORARY PERMIT 6900 0250 6900 0300 FEES

CONTINUING EDUCATION

6900.0010 **DEFINITIONS.**

[For text of subps 1 and 1a, see MR.]

Subp 3a [Repealed, 24 SR 1069]

[For text of subp 4, see MR]

Subp 4a [Repealed, 24 SR 1069]

[For text of subps 5 to 8, see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 153 02

History: 24 SR 1069

6900.0020 LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS.

[For text of subps 1 to 7, see MR]

Subp. 8a [Repealed, 24 SR 1069]

[For text of subps 9 and 10, see MR.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 153.02

History: 24 SR 1069

6900.0160 TEMPORARY PERMIT.

[For text of subpart 1, see MR]

Subp. 2 **Term of permit.** A granted permit is valid for the period of graduate training of 12 months beginning with the first day of graduate training A permit may be reissued for one of the following reasons

A the applicant submits acceptable evidence that the training was interrupted by circumstances beyond the control of the applicant and that the sponsor of the program agrees to the extension,

B the applicant is continuing in a residency that extends for more than one year, or

C the applicant is continuing in a residency that extends for more than two years

[For text of subps 2a and 3, see MR.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 153 02

History: 24 SR 1069

6900.0250 FEES.

Subpart 1 Amounts. The amount of fees may be set by the board with the approval of the Department of Finance up to the limits provided in this subpart depending upon the total amount required to sustain board operations under Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.1285, subdivision 2 Information about fees in effect at any time is available from the board office. The maximum amount of fees are

- A application for licensure, \$600,
- B renewal license, \$600,
- C late renewal fee, \$100,
- D. temporary permit, \$250,
- E duplicate license or duplicate renewal certificate, \$10;

6900.0250 PODIATRIST LICENSURE

F reinstatement, \$650,

G exam administration to persons who have not applied for a license or permit, \$50,

H fee for verification of licensure, \$30, and

I miscellaneous fee:

- (1) labels, \$25;
- (2) list of licensees, \$25, and
- (3) copies, 25 cents per page

[For text of subp 2, see M.R.]

Subp 3 [Repealed, 24 SR 1069] Statutory Authority: MS s 153 02

History: 24 SR 1069

6900.0300 CONTINUING EDUCATION.

Subpart 1 Requirement. Except as provided in subpart 1a, every podiatrist licensed to practice m Minnesota shall obtain 30 clock hours of continuing education in each two-year cycle of license renewal

Subp 1a. **Prorating continuing education hours.** The number of continuing education hours required during the initial licensure period is that fraction of 30 hours, to the nearest whole hour, that is represented by the ratio of the number of days the license is held m the initial licensure period to 730 days

Subp. 2 **Obtaining continuing education hours.** Continuing education hours shall be obtained in the following manner

A. attendance at educational programs approved by the board or the Council on Podiatric Medical Education under subpart 3 or completion of verifiable home study programs under subpart 3b,

B. attendance at hospital staff meetings' (no more than three hours of hospital staff meetings may be used for license renewal each year), or

C participation in acceptable graduate training

Subp 3 Requirements of program approval. Each continuing education program used to meet the hoense renewal requirements must be approved by the board or the Council of Podiatric Medical Education before the program is accepted, based on the following criteria:

A. The content must be directly related to the practice of podiatric medicme as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 153.01, subdivision 2 Subjects such as practice management or those not of a scientific nature are not acceptable unless approved by the Council of Podiatric Medical Education

B The speaker must be a licensed podiatrist, other credentialed health care professional, or person especially qualified to address the subject

C. The sponsor must provide the attendee a written statement of attendance that includes the name and dates of the program, the name and address of the sponsor, the number of continuing education clock hours granted by the sponsor and approved by the board or the Council of Podiatric Medical Education if prior approval has been sought, the name of the attendee and a signature of the sponsor or designee

Subp 3a **Procedure for programs approved by board.** Either the sponsor of a continumg education program or a licensee may submit the program for approval by the board

The following information about the program is required.

A name and address of the program sponsor;

B dates and times of the program,

C subject or content matter of each item on the program together with the amount of time devoted to the subject,

D. name of and identifying information about the speakers or instructors, and E. assurance that a written statement of attendance will be given to the podiatrist.

The board shall approve each continuing education program for a specific number of clock hours of continuing education. One clock hour is 60 minutes Lunch breaks, rest periods, greetings, and other noneducational time will not be included.

[For text of subps 3b and 4, see MR]

Subp 6 Extension of continuing education requirements. For good cause, a homeonee may apply to the board for a six-month extension of the deadline for obtaining the required number of continuing education credits. No more than two consecutive extensions may be granted. For purposes of this subpart, good cause includes unforeseen hardships such as illness, family emergency, and military call-up

Statutory Authority: MS s 153.02

History: 24 SR 1069

6900.0500 [Repealed, 24 SR 1069]