CHAPTER 6500 BOARD OF OPTOMETRY OPTOMETRISTS' CONDUCT AND LICENSURE

6500 1800 LICENSE EXAMINATION FEE 6500 1900 LICENSE CERTIFICATE ISSUANCE FEE 6500 2100 RECIPROCITY 6500 2700 OPTOMETRIST EMERITUS REGISTRATION 6500 2800 TERMS AND RENEWAL OF LICENSE 6500 2900 REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE

6500.1800 LICENSE EXAMINATION FEE.

All applications for licensure by examination in this state shall be accompanied by a \$75 fee. In the event the applicant fails to pass a part of the examination, upon application and the payment of an additional fee of \$50, the applicant may retake the examination at the time for which the board next schedules examinations.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 148.53; 214.06

History: 12 SR 1775

6500.1900 LICENSE CERTIFICATE ISSUANCE FEE.

Each applicant who meets all applicable requirements for licensure under the act and these rules shall be issued a license certificate by the board. The fee for this license certificate shall be \$12. Upon proof of loss or damage of an original license certificate and payment of an additional \$12 fee, a replacement certificate may be issued by the board.

Each applicant who meets all applicable requirements for use of drugs in patient care shall be issued a certificate by the board. The fee for this certificate is \$10. A replacement certificate may be issued by the board.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 148.53; 214.06

History: 12 SR 1775

6500.2100 RECIPROCITY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R. 1987]

Subp. 2. Equivalency of state requirements. In accordance with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.57, subdivision 2, another state's licensure requirements shall be deemed to be equivalent to Minnesota's if the state requires that each applicant:

[For text of subp 2, items A to D, see M.R. 1987]

A fee of \$75 shall accompany every application for licensure by reciprocity.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 148.53; 214.06

History: 12 SR 1775

6500.2700 OPTOMETRIST EMERITUS REGISTRATION.

[For text of subps 1 to 4, see M.R. 1987]

Subp. 5. Renewal cycle or fees. Being registered as an emeritus optometrist will not subject the person to the annual license renewal cycle or renewal fee.

Each applicant who meets all requirements for registration as emeritus optometrist shall be issued a certificate. The fee for this certificate is \$10. A replacement certificate may be issued by the board.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 148.53; 214.06

History: 12 SR 1775

MINNESOTA RULES 1988 6500.2800 OPTOMETRISTS' CONDUCT AND LICENSURE

6500,2800 TERMS AND RENEWAL OF LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Terms. An initial license issued by the board is valid from the date issued until renewed or terminated according to this part. An annually renewed license issued by the board is valid from January 1 of the year for which it is issued until renewed or terminated according to this part.

Subp. 2. Renewal of application including information regarding continuing education and fees. An optometrist shall submit an application for renewal of license together with the necessary fee no later than December 31 of the year preceding that for which the license renewal is requested. Application for renewal will be considered timely if received by the board no later than December 31 or postmarked on December 31. If the postmark is illegible, the application will be considered timely if received in the board office by United States first class mail on the first workday after December 31. The application form must provide a place for the renewal applicant's signature and must solicit information to include but not be limited to the applicant's office address or addresses, the number of the applicant's license, and any other information that may be reasonably requested by the board.

For those licensees who have not submitted evidence of compliance with their three year continuing education requirement or special course requirement in parts 6500.0900 and 6500.1700, the board will include in its written notice relating to annual renewal that the licensee shall submit verified evidence of having taken the required number of continuing education credit hours listed in part 6500.0900 or specified under part 6500.1700 in order to have the license renewed.

- Subp. 3. Failure to submit renewal application. The following procedures will be followed by the board for all licensees who have failed to submit the annual application under subpart 2, including information about continuing education and applicable fees as provided in subpart 5.
- A. Any time after January 1, the board will send to the last address on file with the board, a notice to all licensees who have not made application for renewal of their license. The notice will state that the licensee has failed to make application for renewal; the amount of renewal and late fees and the information required about continuing education as specified in subpart 2 which must be submitted in order for the license to be renewed; that the licensee may voluntarily terminate the license by notifying the board; and that failure to respond to notice by the date specified, which date must be at least 30 days after the notice is sent by the board, either by submitting the renewal application and applicable fees and information required about continuing education or by notifying the board that the licensee has voluntarily terminated the license, will result in expiration of the license and terminating the right to practice.
- B. If the application for renewal, including required information about continuing education and the applicable annual and late fees or notice of voluntarily termination is not received by the board by the dates specified in the notice, the license will expire and the licensee's right to practice will terminate as of the date specified in the notice. The expiration and termination will not be considered a disciplinary action against the licensee.
- C. Notwithstanding items A and B, the expiration date shall be extended six months when a licensee fails to meet the continuing education requirements in parts 6500.0900 and 6500.1700. The license will expire at the end of the six month extension if the licensee does not submit within that time evidence of having complied with the required continuing education. In those cases where a licensee was physically incapable at the end of the three year reporting cycle of taking continuing education courses, the expiration date shall be extended for six months for the purpose of giving the person the opportunity to take the necessary number of continuing education course hours. The licensee must submit clear and convincing evidence of physical incapability. The license expires at the end

of the six month extension if the licensee does not submit within that time evidence of taking a number continuing education course hours necessary to comply with parts 6500.0900 and 6500.1700.

In either instance referenced above, a licensee may submit a request for extension of the six month period. The board will grant the extension only in cases of extreme hardship or compelling reasons. Financial hardship caused by loss of license shall not meet the standards. The burden rests on the licensee to prove that the extension should be granted which in no case shall exceed an additional six months.

- Subp. 4. Reinstatement. A license that has expired under this part may be reinstated under part 6500.2900.
- Subp. 5. Contested case proceeding. The board, in lieu of the process in subpart 3, may initiate a contested case hearing to revoke or suspend a license for failure to submit fees and continuing education information requested on the renewal application, at the same time it initiates disciplinary proceedings against the licensee for other grounds specified in Minnesota Statutes, sections 148.52 to 148.62 and parts 6500.0400 to 6500.1700.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 148.53; 214.06

History: 12 SR 1564

6500,2900 REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE.

Subpart 1. Requirements. Upon complying with the requirements in this part, the applicant's license shall be reinstated. Any person desiring the reinstatement of a license shall:

- A. submit to the board a completed application on a form provided by the board:
- B. submit with the application the fee specified in part 6500.2000, subpart 1:
- C. include with the application a letter stating the reasons for applying for reinstatement; and
- D. comply with the application provisions of part 6500.2000, subpart 3. Upon reinstatement, the person shall be assigned to the continuing education cycle to which the licensee was assigned before termination of the license.
- Subp. 2. Expiration or voluntary termination of license. Applicants whose license has expired under part 6500.2800, subpart 3, or who voluntarily terminate their license must:
- A. Submit evidence of having successfully completed the continuing education requirements that would have applied to them had their license not expired. If the license had expired because of failure to meet the continuing education requirements or if the applicant's continuing education cycle concluded during the time that the license was in expired status and all the requirements had not been complied with, the applicant must successfully complete this cycle of continuing education.
- B. On filing a reinstatement application, pay the annual renewal fees and applicable penalty fees for the years between expiration or termination of the license and the year in which the application is filed.
- Subp. 3. Revoked or suspended license. No license that has been suspended or revoked by the board may be reinstated unless the applicant for reinstatement provides evidence of full rehabilitation from the offense for which the license was suspended or revoked and complies with all other reasonable conditions imposed by the board for the purpose of establishing the extent of rehabilitation. In addition, if the disciplinary action was based in part on failure to meet continuing education requirements, the license may not be reinstated until the applicant has successfully completed the requirements in subpart 2. The board may require the

licensee to pay all costs of the proceedings resulting in the suspension or revocation of a license under part 6500.2800 or pursuant to its disciplinary authority and the reinstatement or issuance of a new license. A licensee who has been disciplined by the board in a manner other than by suspension or revocation may be required by the board to pay all costs of the proceedings resulting in the disciplinary action.

- Subp. 4. Licensure application not precluded. Nothing in this part prohibits an optometrist from applying for licensure under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.57, subdivisions 1 and 2.
- Subp. 5. Exemptions. A licensee who pays an annual license renewal fee and meets any of the following conditions is exempt from complying with the continuing education requirements if the licensee files an affidavit with the board specifying the condition applicable to the licensee:
- A. resides permanently outside the state and does not practice within the state;
- B. is retired from practice and does not perform any optometric services on a voluntary or free basis; or
 - C. is permanently disabled and unable to practice optometry.
- Subp. 6. Expiration of exemption. A licensee claiming exemption under subpart 5 who subsequently decides to resume practice shall submit to the board, before resuming practice, a written notice of the intended change and evidence of having completed the continuing education requirements equivalent to what requirements would have been without the exemption immediately preceding the date of receipt of the notice of the intent to resume practice. If the licensee has not complied with the continuing education requirements, the licensee must comply with part 6500.2900, subpart 2; if the licensee has been exempt from complying with the continuing education requirements, the licensee may not resume practice until notified by the board that the evidence submitted is acceptable. The licensee will be placed in the continuing education cycle that would have applied if the exemption had not been claimed.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 148.53; 214.06

History: 12 SR 1564