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LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 

6310.0200 QUALIFICATIONS FOR REGISTERED NURSE EXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Minnesota students. A student from a nursing program 

approved by the Minnesota Board of Nursing as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 148.251 may be admitted to the licensure examination providing all the 
following criteria are met: 

A. the student is enrolled in the last school term; 
B. the student is in good standing and there is reasonable expectation 

graduation requirements will be completed; 
C. requirements for graduation will be completed no later than six 

weeks after the date of the examination for which the student is applying; and 
D. remaining course work will not include any basic content in the 

five areas covered by the examination: medical nursing, surgical nursing, 
nursing of children, obstetric nursing, and psychiatric nursing. 

Subp. 2. Out-of-state students. An applicant from a nursing program 
approved by a board of nursing in another U.S. jurisdiction shall have had 
substantially the same course of study as stated in the minimum curriculum 
requirements for Minnesota approved nursing programs at the time of his/her 
application. The applicant who cannot demonstrate having had the same course 
of study shall remove deficiencies before the examination as directed by the 
Minnesota Board of Nursing. The applicant from a program approved by 
another jurisdiction must hold a diploma from an approved nursing program 
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before he/she can be admitted to the licensure examination. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 1 

6310.0300 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. In general. The application forms and instructions for filing 

are provided by the board. The application shall be submitted to the board in 
advance of the published deadline for the desired examination date. 

Subp. 2. Application from graduate of Minnesota program. An application 
for licensure by examination from a graduate of a Minnesota program shall 
consist of: 

A. the notarized application form; 
B. the recommendation from the nursing program director; and 
C. the fee of $50, effective January 1, 1983. 

Following graduation, whether this occurs before or after the examination, 
the applicant must also submit an affidavit of graduation (notarized) and an 
official school transcript. 

Subp. 3. Application from out-of-state graduate. A completed application 
from an out-of-state graduate shall consist of: 

A. the notarized application; 
B. the recommendation from the nursing program director; 
C. the fee of $50, effective January 1, 1983; 
D. the affidavit of graduation; and 
E. the official school transcript. 

Subp. 4. Examination schedule. The board will schedule the applicant to 
write the first examination available after application is completed within the 
constraints of space, expense, personnel, and time. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 1; 214.06 

6310.0400 PERMIT TO PRACTICE PROFESSIONAL NURSING. 
An applicant accepted to write the first licensure examination following 

graduation from a U.S. school of nursing shall be issued a permit to practice 
professional nursing until notification of examination results. 

An applicant who does not write at the scheduled examination date must 
return the permit to the Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

A holder of a permit shall not use the title "registered nurse", abbreviated 
RN, in Minnesota until his license is issued, although he may be employed in 
professional nursing in Minnesota while the permit is valid. The holder of a 
permit may use the title "graduate nurse" and may use the letters "GN." 

A holder of a permit who failed to pass the examination shall not practice 
professional nursing in Minnesota following the expiration of the permit until he 
has successfully rewritten the examination and his license has been issued. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.171 subd 2; 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 2; 
148.271 subd 3 

6310.0500 EXAMINATION AND REEXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Preparation. The licensure examination may be prepared by 

the Minnesota Board of Nursing or by others delegated to do so by the 
Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

Subp. 2. Passing score. The passing score on the Minnesota licensure 
examination, the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-RN), shall 
be a scaled score of at least 1,600. 

Subp. 3. Time limit. An applicant must pass the examination in not more 
than three writings within a 24-month period that begins on the date of the first 
examination of the cycle. 
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Subp. 4. Remedial assistance. An applicant who does not pass the 
examination within the 24-month period must present evidence of remedial 
assistance to the board prior to admission to each subsequent examination. The 
remedial assistance must occur during the period following the applicant's last 
examination and prior to the applicant's next examination. The remedial 
assistance must relate to the subject matter of the examination, test-taking skills, 
or English proficiency. 

Subp. 5. Reexamination fee. The fee for reexamination shall be $25, 
effective January 1, 1983, and is required for each reexamination whether one or 
more sections of the examination are to be rewritten at that time. 

Subp. 6. Admission card. Prior to the examination date each accepted 
applicant will be sent an admission card which shall be presented by the 
applicant for admission to the examination center. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 1; 214.03; 214.06 

6310.0600 DUPLICATE ORIGINAL LICENSE. 
Duplicate original licenses are not issued for any reason. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 1 

LICENSURE BY INTERSTATE ENDORSEMENT 

6310.1100 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY INTERSTATE 
ENDORSEMENT. 

Subpart 1. Previous licensing. An applicant for Minnesota licensure by 
interstate endorsement shall have been granted licensure in another jurisdiction 
of the United States. Minnesota registered nurse licensure shall not be required 
for a nurse licensed in another jurisdiction who is in Minnesota as a student 
enrolled in a program of formal education which involves nursing practice, such 
as a program leading to a higher degree, a program to enhance skills in a clinical 
field or a program leading to certification in a nursing specialty. A Minnesota 
license or permit shall be required if the individual receives any monetary 
compensation for the nursing services provided or if the individual wishes to be 
employed during spare hours at the same time as he/she is enrolled in an 
educational program. 

Subp. 2. Education. The applicant shall have graduated from a program 
preparing for registered nurse licensure which is approved by the Minnesota 
Board of Nursing or similar board in another U.S. jurisdiction. The applicant 
must have had substantially the same general and nursing education as required 
by the board for Minnesota program graduates at the time such applicant was 
accepted for licensure in the original jurisdiction. 

Subp. 3. Additional study. An applicant who does not present evidence of 
satisfactory general or nursing education may be required to take an additional 
course of study to insure that his/her background is comparable to that of 
Minnesota program graduates. 

Subp. 4. Nongraduate licensees. A person who is not a graduate of an 
approved nursing program but has been licensed as a registered nurse in another 
jurisdiction may be licensed in Minnesota providing the criteria for licensure that 
he/she met in the original jurisdiction were comparable to criteria required in 
Minnesota at the time of his/her licensure in the other jurisdiction. 

Subp. 5. Licensure examination. An applicant must have written the same 
licensure examination as that administered in Minnesota and achieved scores 
established as passing for that examination by the Minnesota Board of Nursing 
unless he/she graduated from a U.S. nursing program and was licensed by 
examination in a U.S. jurisdiction prior to 1954. 

Subp. 6. Low score. An applicant whose licensure examination scores do 
not meet the Minnesota requirements for 1954 or thereafter shall be required to 
rewrite the current Minnesota examination and achieve a passing result before a 
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Minnesota license is issued. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 2 

6310.1200 CONTINUING EDUCATION. 

Subpart 1. Before August 1, 1980. Before August 1, 1980, the registered 
nurse applying for licensure by interstate endorsement who has not been 
employed in nursing for five or more years immediately preceding application, 
except an applicant who graduated from an approved professional nursing 
program during the five years immediately preceding application, shall be 
required to submit evidence of competency in nursing before receiving a license 
in Minnesota. Such evidence, submitted on an affidavit, may include any of the 
following which occurred within the five-year period immediately prior to the 
application for a license: completion of a refresher course, attendance at no less 
than 15 clock hours of nursing-related continuing education courses, completion 
of an apprenticeship, participation in an orientation program at least one week in 
length conducted by an employer or potential employer, or such other evidence 
as the board may reasonably require. 

Subp. 2. August 1, 1980, and after. On August 1, 1980, and thereafter, an 
applicant for licensure by interstate endorsement who has not been employed as 
a registered nurse for a period of two years or more immediately preceding 
application shall be required to submit an evidence form attesting to 
participation in continuing education activities that meet the criteria specified in 
part 6310.2800. The continuing education participation must have occurred 
within the 24 months preceding application for licensure. 

On August 1, 1980, and thereafter, continuing education participation 
required in the previous paragraph shall not be required of an applicant who 
graduated from an approved professional nursing program during the two years 
immediately preceding application for licensure. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191; 148.211 subd 2; 214.12 

6310.1300 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY INTERSTATE 
ENDORSEMENT. 

The application forms and instructions for filing are provided by the board. 
The applicant may not be employed as a registered nurse in Minnesota until a 
Minnesota license or permit has been issued. 

A completed application for licensure by interstate endorsement shall 
include all of the following: 

A. the completed and notarized application form; 

B. a verification of licensure from the state in which the licensure 
examination was written; 

C. a verification of licensure from the state in which most recently 
employed if this is different than the state of examination; 

D. a satisfactory employment reference from the five years preceding 
the application (if the applicant has not been employed during this period, a 
personal reference is substituted); 

E. the fee of $40, effective January 1, 1982; and 

F. an affidavit attesting to the required continuing education 
participation. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 2; 214.06 
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6310.1400 PERMIT TO PRACTICE PROFESSIONAL NURSING. 
A permit for the practice of professional nursing in Minnesota for a period 

up to six months shall be issued by the Minnesota Board of Nursing to an 
applicant who is a graduate of a U.S. school of nursing and is licensed in 
another U.S. jurisdiction upon submission of application, statutory fee, and 
satisfactory evidence of current licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction. 

Such permit allows employment in professional nursing in Minnesota while 
remaining application credentials are being assembled and reviewed for action by 
the Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

A person must not begin employment in professional nursing in Minnesota 
until a permit or license has been granted. If the permit expires and a license 
has not been issued, the applicant may no longer be employed in professional 
nursing in Minnesota. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 2; 148.271 subd 6 
LICENSURE OF FOREIGN-EDUCATED PROFESSIONAL NURSES 

6310.2100 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE OF FOREIGN-EDUCATED 
PROFESSIONAL NURSES. 

Subpart 1. Licensure examination. A foreign-educated nurse will be 
required to write all parts of the same licensure examination as administered in 
Minnesota and achieve scores established as passing for that series by the 
Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

The foreign-educated nurse who has passed the same examination as 
administered in Minnesota and has been licensed on that basis in another U.S. 
jurisdiction shall be licensed by interstate endorsement. 

Subp. 2. Education. An applicant shall have graduated with substantially 
the same general and nursing education as required by the board for Minnesota 
nursing graduates at the time such applicant was accepted for licensure by 
examination in the original foreign jurisdiction. 

An applicant who does not have evidence of satisfactory general or nursing 
education may be required to take an additional course of study to ensure that 
his/her background is comparable to that of Minnesota program graduates. 

Subp. 3. Immigration law. The applicant shall be required to demonstrate 
compliance with the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Act. 

An exchange visitor in the United States under the U.S. Mutual Education 
and Cultural Exchange Act shall not be eligible for Minnesota licensure. Such 
an exchange visitor may only practice professional nursing in Minnesota when 
such experience is an integral part of an exchange visitor nurse trainee program 
approved by the Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 2 

6310.2200 APPLICATION OF FOREIGN-EDUCATED PROFESSIONAL 
NURSES FOR LICENSURE. 

Subpart 1. Licensure by interstate endorsement. The foreign educated 
nurse who has been licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction after passing the same 
examination as administered in Minnesota shall be licensed by interstate 
endorsement. He or she shall submit the same application as outlined in part 
6310.1300, with the addition of a form indicating compliance with the United 
States Immigration and Naturalization Act. 

Subp. 2. Licensure by examination. The foreign educated nurse who has 
not passed the same licensure examination as administered-in Minnesota shall be 
required to write and pass all parts of the examination. The completed 
application for such applicant shall include the notarized application form; 
certification of licensure from the foreign licensure authority, if the applicant has 
been licensed; certification of graduation from a nursing program; official 
transcript from the nursing program; reference from a United States employer, if 
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employed in the United States; immigration form; and the fee of $50, effective 
January 1, 1983. The board will schedule the foreign educated nurse to write 
the first examination available after the application is complete within the 
constraints of space, time, expense, and personnel. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.211 subd 2; 214.06 
REGISTRATION OF PROFESSIONAL NURSES 

6310.2600 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Acceptable continuing education activity. "Acceptable 

continuing education activity" means a learning experience in which a registered 
nurse has participated, evidence of which he/she submits to the board as part of 
the application for registration renewal, and which meets the requirements stated 
in these rules. 

Subp. 2. Board. "Board" means the Minnesota Board of Nursing. 
. Subp. 3. Contact hour. "Contact hour" means 50 consecutive minutes. 
Subp. 4. Continuing education participation period. "Continuing education 

participation period" means the 24-month interval of time immediately prior to 
the renewal deadline during which a licensee must fulfill the requirements for 
registration renewal. 

Subp. 5. Evidence form. "Evidence form" means the printed document 
provided by the board for use in reporting the information required in parts 
6310.2800 to 6310.2900. 

Subp. 6. Instructor. "Instructor" means a presenter, preparer, or guide for 
a continuing education activity. Written programmed instruction comes within 
this definition. 

Subp. 7. License. "License" means the document issued by the board to 
an individual who meets for the first time the requirements to practice 
professional nursing in Minnesota. 

Subp. 8. Licensure. "Licensure" means the process by which the board 
confers legal authority upon an individual authorizing the person to engage in 
professional nursing, thereby certifying that those licensed have attained the 
minimal degree of competency necessary to ensure that the public health, safety, 
and welfare will be reasonably well protected. 

Subp. 9. Participation. "Participation" means attendance at or in any 
other manner taking part in an acceptable continuing education activity, 
documentation of which is submitted as a part of the application for registration 
renewal. 

Subp. 10. Registration. "Registration" means the process by which the 
names and original license numbers of individuals licensed by the board are 
recorded on a roster to designate that the individuals are authorized to engage in 
professional nursing during a renewal period. 

Subp. 11. Registration renewal. "Registration renewal" means the periodic 
process whereby an individual who is licensed and registered with the board 
requests and obtains registration for the next renewal period. 

Subp.. 12. Registration renewal deadline. "Registration renewal deadline" 
means May 31, immediately preceding the licensee's next renewal period. 

Subp. 13. Renewal certificate. "Renewal certificate" means the document 
issued periodically by the board to a registered professional nurse who meets 
registration renewal requirements. 

Subp. 14. Renewal date. "Renewal date" means the first calendar day of a 
renewal period. 

Subp. 15. Renewal period. "Renewal period" means a 24-month interval 
of time for which a renewal certificate is issued, beginning August 1 of any given 
year. 
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Subp. 16. Reregistration. "Reregistration" means the process whereby a 
licensee regains the authority to practice professional nursing after a period of 
lapsed registration. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231; 214.12 

6310.2700 SCOPE. 
Parts 6310.2600 to 6310.3500 are adopted pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 

1976, sections 148.231 and 214.12. They pertain to the establishment of 
requirements and procedures for registration renewal for registered nurses and 
criteria which continuing education activities must meet in order to be acceptable 
for registration renewal. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 214.06; 214.12 

6310.2800 REGISTRATION RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Participation periods; contact hours. On June 1, 1978, each 

registered nurse currently licensed and registered with the board shall begin 
his/her first continuing education participation period. 

Fifteen contact hours of acceptable continuing education activities shall be 
required for registration renewal between August 1, 1980, and July 31, 1982. 
Contact hours shall be accrued during the continuing education participation 
periods of June 1, 1978, through May 31, 1980, or June 1, 1979, through May 31, 
1981. 

Thirty contact hours of acceptable continuing education activities shall be 
required for registration renewal on August 1, 1982, and thereafter. Contact 
hours shall be accrued during a continuing education participation period 
beginning June 1, 1980, or any June 1 thereafter. 

Subp. 2. Demonstration of professional nursing skill. At least one of the 
acceptable continuing education activities required for registration renewal on or 
after August 1, 1986, shall require the licensee to show evidence that he/she 
successfully demonstrated to the instructor skill in performing one or a portion 
of a professional nursing function as indicated in Minnesota Statutes, section 
148.171, clause (3). 

Subp. 3. Renewal fee. The renewal fee shall be $16 per renewal period, 
effective August 1, 1982. 

Subp. 4. Application submission. An acceptable application for registration 
renewal consisting of a completed, signed application form; a completed evidence 
form meeting requirements stated in these rules; and a renewal fee, shall be 
postmarked on or before May 31, immediately preceding the licensee's next 
renewal period. Resubmission of a previously incomplete or incorrect 
application form, evidence form, and renewal fee postmarked on or before May 
31, shall constitute timely submission. 

Subp. 5. Penalty fee. An applicant for registration renewal shall pay a 
penalty fee of $5, effective June 1, 1982, as well as the renewal fee for the 
current renewal period if the application, evidence form, or renewal fee is 
postmarked after May 31 of the year in which it was due. 

Subp. 6. Acceptable continuing education activity. In order for a 
continuing education activity to be acceptable to the board for registration 
renewal, a licensee shall be able to substantiate that each of the criteria listed 
below has been met. 

A. The content is related to one or more of the following components 
of professional nursing specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.171, clause 
(3): 

(1) independent nursing functions as listed below: 
(a) providing a nursing assessment of the actual or potential 

health needs of individuals, families, or communities; 
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(b) providing nursing care supportive to or restorative of life 
by functions such as: skilled ministration of nursing care, supervising nursing 
personnel, teaching nursing personnel, health teaching, health counseling, case 
finding, referral to other health resources; and 

(c) evaluating nursing functions; or 
(2) delegated medical functions. 

B. The duration of the activity was at least one contact hour. 
C. The objectives were written in measurable terms which describe 

what a licensee can expect to learn. 
D. The instructor's qualification in the subject, such as education and 

experience, shall be stated in written form. 
E. The method to be utilized by the learner to determine whether or 

not learning occurred was in written form. Acceptable methods may include but 
need not be limited to self-evaluation check lists or tests. 

F. The continuing education activity was completed during the 
continuing education participation period immediately preceding the renewal 
date for which the licensee is seeking registration renewal. 

G. Credit shall not be granted for identical continuing education 
activities submitted during any single continuing education participation period. 

H. A written statement of participation provided by the instructor or a 
designee following completion of each acceptable continuing education activity 
was obtained. A fee receipt shall not be acceptable. 

I. A grade indicating successful completion was obtained in an 
acceptable continuing education activity for which grades are granted. 

J. A continuing education activity which the licensee taught shall not 
meet that licensee's registration renewal requirements. 

Subp. 7. True information. A licensee shall submit true information. 
Falsification of any evidence for any registration renewal period and/or failure 
to comply with these rules for any two registration renewal periods shall 
constitute unethical conduct and provide grounds for suspension or revocation of 
a license. 

Subp. 8. Records retention. A licensee shall keep records documenting 
each acceptable continuing education activity submitted to meet registration 
renewal requirements and obtain data from the acceptable continuing education 
activity as required in part 6310.2900, subpart 7. The records shall be kept for 
two years following the end of the renewal period to which the activity is 
applied. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231; 214.06; 214.12 

6310.2900 REGISTRATION RENEWAL PROCEDURES. 
Subpart 1. Service. The licensee shall maintain with the board his/her 

correct mailing address for the purpose of receiving board communications 
and/or notices. Placing the notice in first class United States mail, postage 
prepaid and addressed to the licensee at his/her last known address shall 
constitute valid service. 

Subp. 2. Notice. The board shall mail a renewal application and evidence 
form at least 120 calendar days prior to a licensee's renewal date to the last 
known address of every registered nurse holding a current renewal certificate. 
Failure to receive such notice shall not relieve a license holder of his/her 
obligation to comply with these rules. 

Subp. 3. Late submission. An application, evidence form, and renewal fee 
postmarked on June 1, or later, shall not be processed and shall be returned to a 
licensee for payment of a penalty fee. 
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Subp. 4. Evidence form. Information to be provided by the licensee on an 
evidence form shall include: 

A. identification of the licensee; 
B. identification of the continuing education activities; 
C. verification that the continuing education activities met all the 

criteria specified in part 6310.2800 and that the information contained on the 
form is true in every respect; and 

D. licensee's signature and date signed. 
Subp. 5. Rejection of application; notice. If the application form, evidence 

form, or renewal fee submitted by a licensee is incomplete, incorrect, or in 
noncompliance with parts 6310.2800 and 6310.2900, the licensee shall be notified 
as to the reason for the rejection and all documents shall be returned to the 
licensee within 30 calendar days after the board receives them. 

Subp. 6. First registration renewal. If an individual is granted a Minnesota 
license within six calendar months prior to the first day of licensee's renewal 
period, the license fee shall serve as payment for the first renewal period. 
Fifteen contact hours of acceptable continuing education activities shall be 
required for the first registration renewal. 

Subp. 7. Substantiation of continuing education activities. Following each 
renewal date the board may select a sample of licensees applying for registration 
renewal and require substantiation of participation in acceptable continuing 
education activities. Selected licensees shall submit in writing the following data 
obtained from each continuing education activity which verifies the information 
on the evidence form: 

A. Objective or objectives of each continuing education activity; 
B. Verification received by the licensee of the number of contact hours 

and, for activities lasting four or more hours, a schedule listing time periods; 
C. Documentation of each instructor's qualifications, such as 

education and experience; 
D. Evidence that the licensee used the mechanism which was provided 

to determine if learning occurred. Acceptable methods may include but need 
not be limited to self-evaluation checklists or tests; 

E. Written verification received by the licensee of participation in each 
continuing education activity provided by an instructor involved with the 
continuing education activity or a designee; 

F. The specific professional nursing content area to which each 
continuing education activity is related; 

G. In 1986 and thereafter, proof of compliance with part 6310.2800, 
subpart 2; and 

H. Any additional documentation the board deems necessary. 
Subp. 8. Insufficient hours. If a licensee cannot demonstrate that he or 

she has sufficient hours of acceptable continuing education activities, the number 
of hours lacking to comply for that continuing education participation period 
shall be added to the contact hours required in the immediately succeeding 
period. This rule may be applied once for any one licensee. 

Subp. 9. Substantiation after deferment. A licensee who defers a number 
of hours of continuing education to the immediately succeeding period pursuant 
to subpart 8 shall be required to submit with the next renewal application 
substantiation of participation in continuing education activities that provided 
the number of contact hours required for that participation period as well as the 
number of contact hours which were deferred from the previous participation 
period. 

Subp. 10. Noncompliance; audit. A licensee in noncompliance with part 
6310.2800, subparts 1, 2, and 6, shall be subject to the conditions in subpart 7. 
By this rule an audit shall be automatic for a nurse who has been found in an 
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audit of the immediately preceding continuing education participation period to 
be in noncompliance with the rules. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231; 214.06; 214.12 

63103100 REREGISTRATION. 
Subpart 1. Removal of name from roster. The names of all nurses who do 

not return the renewal application, evidence form, renewal, and penalty fees by 
November 1 of each renewal year shall be removed from the roster of individuals 
authorized to practice professional nursing during the current renewal period. 

Subp. 2. Reregistration requirements. A nurse who applies for 
reregistration shall: 

A. submit a signed reregistration application; 
B. pay the renewal fee for the current period; and 
C. submit evidence of meeting all requirements specified in parts 

6310.2800 and 6310.2900. Participation in continuing education activities must 
have occurred during the 24 months prior to the submission of the application 
for reregistration. 

Subp. 3. Substitute for continuing education. A nurse who has been 
employed as a registered nurse in another state or country or in a federal facility 
located in Minnesota for a period of two years or more immediately preceding 
application for reregistration may substitute satisfactory employment references 
which encompass the entire employment period in lieu of the continuing 
education report. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231; 214.06; 214.12 

63103300 CHANGE OF NAME ON RECORDS. 
Subpart 1. Name change. The licensee who has changed names shall 

notify the board in writing as soon as possible and request a revised renewal 
certificate. When requesting a revised renewal certificate, the licensee shall 
return the current certificate to the board. If the current certificate has been 
lost, stolen, or destroyed, the licensee shall provide written evidence of the 
situation. The board may require substantiation of the name change by 
requiring official documentation. 

Subp. 2. Address change. The licensee who has changed addresses shall 
notify the board in writing as soon as possible. The board shall notify the 
licensee of address changes made in the licensee's records. However, a revised 
renewal certificate will not be issued. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231; 214.06 

63103400 DUPLICATE AND REPLACEMENT DOCUMENTS. 
Subpart 1. License. A duplicate license shall not be issued. A 

replacement, license may be issued when the licensee notifies the board, by 
certified statement, that the original license was lost, stolen, or destroyed. The 
replacement license shall be marked "Replacement" and the date of issuance 
indicated. The fee for a replacement license is $5. 

Subp. 2. Renewal certificate. A duplicate renewal certificate shall not be 
issued. If a renewal certificate is lost, stolen, or destroyed, the licensee shall 
submit written evidence of the situation. Upon written request of the licensee, a 
verification of current registration shall be issued for a fee of $5, effective 
January 1, 1982. 

If a licensee does not receive a renewal certificate which has been issued and 
notifies the board office within 90 days of date of issuance, a verification of 
current registration may be issued without a fee. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231; 214.06 
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63103500 VERIFICATION OF MINNESOTA LICENSE. 
Subpart 1. Verification. A registered nurse wishing to be licensed in 

another United States jurisdiction or foreign country may, upon written request, 
have a certified statement of Minnesota licensure issued to the Board of Nursing 
or other official agency empowered to issue nursing licenses in the other 
jurisdiction or country. 

The fee for verification of a license shall be $10 effective July 1, 1982, for 
each verification. 

Subp. 2. Transcript. If a transcript is provided from the board files for a 
nursing program which is no longer currently in operation, an additional fee of 
$5 effective January 1, 1982, may be charged. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.231 subd 6; 214.06 
LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSES: LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 

6310.5100 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSES 
EXAMINATION. 

Subpart 1. Forms. The application forms and instructions for filing are 
provided by the Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

Subp. 2. Minnesota students. A student from a practical nursing program 
approved by the Minnesota Board of Nursing as provided in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 148.292 may be admitted to the licensure examination providing all the 
following criteria are met: 

A. the student is in good standing and there is reasonable expectation 
graduation requirements will be completed; 

B. requirements for graduation will be completed no later than two 
weeks after the date of the examination for which the student is applying; and 

C. remaining course work will not include any basic content in the 
areas covered by the examination: nursing care of infants, children, mothers 
and adults, and nursing care of patients with mental and emotional problems. 

Subp. 3. Out-of-state students. An applicant from a practical nursing 
program approved by a Board of Nursing by another U.S. jurisdiction shall have 
had substantially the same course of study as stated in the minimum curriculum 
requirements for Minnesota approved nursing programs at the time of his/her 
application. The applicant who cannot demonstrate having had the same course 
of study shall remove deficiencies before the examination as directed by the 
Minnesota Board of Nursing. The applicant from a program approved in 
another jurisdiction must hold a diploma from an approved nursing program 
before he/she can be admitted to the licensure examination. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 1; 148.296 

6310.5200 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Form; submission. The application forms and instructions for 

filing are provided by the board. The application shall be submitted to the 
board in advance of the published deadline for the desired examination date. 

Subp. 2. Application from graduate of Minnesota program. An application 
for licensure by examination from a student or graduate of a Minnesota program 
shall consist of: 

A. the notarized application form; 
B. the recommendation from the nursing program director; and 
C. the fee of $35, effective January 1, 1983. 

Following graduation, whether this occurs before or after the examination, 
the applicant must also submit an affidavit of graduation (notarized) and an 
official transcript. 
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Subp. 3. Application from out-of-state graduate. A completed application 
from an out-of-state graduate shall consist of: 

A. the notarized application; 
B. the recommendation from the nursing program director; 
C. the fee of $35, effective January 1, 1983; 
D. the affidavit of graduation; and 
E. the official school transcript. 

Subp. 4. Examination schedule. The board will schedule the applicant to 
write the first examination available after application is completed within the 
constraints of space, expense, personnel, and time. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 1; 148.296; 214.06 

6310.5300 PERMIT TO PRACTICE. 
A permit to practice practical nursing may be issued to an applicant 

accepted to write the first licensure examination following graduation. The 
permit shall remain valid until the applicant is notified of the results of the 
examination or recalled by the board. The holder of a permit may use the title 
"graduate practical nurse" and may use the letters "GPN". The holder of a 
permit who does not take the examination as scheduled must return the permit. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 2; 148.295 subd 2; 
148.296 

6310.5400 EXAMINATION AND REEXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Preparation. The licensure examination may be prepared by 

the Minnesota Board of Nursing or by others delegated to do so by the 
Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

Subp. 2. Passing score. The passing score on the Minnesota licensure 
examination, the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX-PN), shall 
be a scaled score of at least 350. 

Subp. 3. Time limit. An applicant must pass the examination in not more 
than three writings within a 24-month period that begins on the date of the first 
examination of the cycle. 

Subp. 4. Remedial assistance. An applicant who does not pass the 
examination within the 24-month period must present evidence of remedial 
assistance to the board prior to admission to each subsequent examination. The 
remedial assistance must occur during the period following the applicant's last 
examination and prior to the applicant's next examination. The remedial 
assistance must relate to the subject matter of the examination, test-taking skills, 
or English proficiency. 

Subp. 5. Reexamination fee. The fee for reexamination shall be $10, 
effective January 1, 1983, and is required for each reexamination. 

Subp. 6. Admission card. Prior to the examination date each accepted 
applicant will be sent an admission card, which shall be presented by the 
applicant for admission to the examination center. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 1; 148.296; 214.03; 
214.06 

6310.5500 DUPLICATE ORIGINAL LICENSE. 
Duplicate original licenses are not issued for any reason. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 1; 148.296 
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LICENSURE BY INTERSTATE ENDORSEMENT 
6310.6100 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE BY INTERSTATE 
ENDORSEMENT. 

Subpart 1. Previous licensing. An applicant for Minnesota licensure by 
interstate endorsement shall have been granted licensure in another jurisdiction 
of the United States. Minnesota LPN licensure shall not be required for a nurse 
licensed in another jurisdiction who is in Minnesota as a student enrolled in a 
program of formal education which involves nursing practice, such as a program 
leading to licensure at another level of nursing or a program to enhance skills in 
a specific area of nursing. However, such a person may not be employed in 
practical nursing in Minnesota without first securing a license from the board. 

Subp. 2. Education. The applicant shall have graduated from a program 
preparing for practical nurse licensure which is approved by the Minnesota 
Board of Nursing or similar board in another U.S. jurisdiction. Such applicant 
must have had substantially the same general and nursing education as required 
by the Minnesota Board of Nursing for Minnesota program graduates at the time 
such applicant was accepted for licensure in the original jurisdiction. 

Subp. 3. Additional study. An applicant who does not present evidence of 
satisfactory general or nursing education may be required to take an additional 
course of study to ensure that his/her background is comparable to that of 
Minnesota program graduates. 

Subp. 4. Nongraduate licensees. A person who is not a graduate of an 
approved program but has been licensed as a practical nurse in another U.S. 
jurisdiction shall be accepted for Minnesota licensure only if he/she would have 
been eligible for Minnesota licensure at the time of original licensure in another 
jurisdiction. 

Subp. 5. Licensure examination. An applicant must have written the same 
licensure examination as that administered in Minnesota and achieved a score 
established as passing for that examination by the Minnesota Board of Nursing 
unless he/she graduated from a U.S. practical nursing program and was licensed 
by examination in a U.S. jurisdiction prior to 1955. 

Subp. 6. Low score. An applicant whose licensure examination score does 
not meet the Minnesota requirements for 1955 or thereafter shall be required to 
rewrite the current Minnesota examination and achieve a passing score before a 
Minnesota license is issued. 

Subp. 7. Insufficient employment. The licensed practical nurse applying 
for licensure by interstate endorsement who has not been employed in nursing 
for five years or more preceding application shall be required to submit evidence 
of competency in nursing before receiving a license in Minnesota. Such 
evidence may include completion of a refresher course, continuing education 
courses, an apprenticeship, an orientation program, or such other evidence as the 
board may reasonably require. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 3; 148.296 

6310.6200 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE BY INTERSTATE 
ENDORSEMENT. 

The application forms and instructions for filing are provided by the board. 
The applicant may not be employed as a practical nurse in Minnesota until the 
Minnesota license has been issued. 

A completed application shall include all of the following: 
A. the completed and notarized application form; 
B. a verification of licensure from the state in which the licensure 

examination was written; 
C. a verification of licensure from the state in which most recently 

employed if this is different than the state of examination; 
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D. a satisfactory employment reference from the last five years. If 
the applicant has not been employed for five years or more, a character reference 
is required in lieu of the employment reference; and 

E. the fee of $30 effective January 1, 1982. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 3; 148.296; 214.06 
LICENSURE OF FOREIGN-EDUCATED PRACTICAL NURSES 

6310.7100 QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSURE OF FOREIGN-EDUCATED 
PRACTICAL NURSES. 

Subpart 1. Licensure examination. A foreign-educated practical nurse will 
be required to write the same licensure examination as administered in 
Minnesota and achieve scores established as passing for that examination by the 
Minnesota Board of Nursing. 

The foreign-educated practical nurse who has passed the same examination 
as administered in Minnesota and has been licensed on that basis in another U.S. 
jurisdiction, shall be licensed by interstate endorsement. 

Subp. 2. English competency. An applicant whose nursing education was 
in any language but English shall be required to prove competency in English 
before he/she can be admitted to the licensure examination. Achieving an 
acceptable score on a standarized test of English as a foreign language would be 
considered proof of competency. Other acceptable proofs of competency in 
English would be affidavits stating that nursing education had been acquired in 
the English language. 

Subp. 3. Education. An applicant shall have graduated with substantially 
the same general and nursing education as required by the board for Minnesota 
nursing graduates at the time such applicant was accepted for licensure by 
examination in the original foreign jurisdiction. 

An applicant who does not have evidence of satisfactory general or nursing 
education may be required to take an additional course of study as directed by 
the board in order to ensure that his/her background is comparable to that of 
Minnesota program graduates. 

Subp. 4. Immigration law. The applicant shall be required to demonstrate 
compliance with the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Act. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 3; 148.296 

6310.7200 APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE OF FOREIGN-EDUCATED 
PRACTICAL NURSES. 

Subpart 1. Licensure by interstate endorsement. The foreign educated 
practical nurse who has been licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction after passing 
the same examination as administered in Minnesota shall be licensed by 
interstate endorsement. He or she shall submit the same application as outlined 
in part 6310.6200, with the addition of a form indicating compliance with the 
U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Act. 

Subp. 2. Licensure by examination. The foreign educated practical nurse 
who has not passed the same licensure examination as administered in Minnesota 
shall be required to write and pass the examination. The completed application 
for such applicant shall include the notarized application form; certification of 
licensure from the foreign licensure authority, if the applicant has been licensed; 
certification of graduation from a nursing program; official transcript from the 
nursing program; reference from a United States employer, if employed in the 
United States; the immigration form; and the fee of $35, effective January 1, 
1983. The board will schedule the applicant to write the first examination, 
available after the application is complete within the constraints of space, time, 
expense, and personnel. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.291 subd 3; 148.296; 214.06 
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REGISTRATION OF LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSES 

6310.7600 RENEWAL OF REGISTRATION. 
Subpart 1. Requirement. Each licensee is responsible for applying for 

renewal of registration if he or she wishes to be employed as a licensed practical 
nurse in Minnesota. The board issues renewal application forms to all current 
licensees and will renew registration upon receiving a signed application and the 
renewal fee. 

Subp. 2. Renewal periods. Effective January 1, 1982, approximately 
one-half of all licensees shall be issued registration renewal certificates which 
expire on December 31, 1982, and one-half of all licensees shall be issued 
registration renewal certificates which expire on December 31, 1983. Thereafter, 
the renewal period for all licensees shall be 24 months in length, beginning 
January 1 and ending December 31. There shall be even-year renewal periods 
and odd-year renewal periods. 

Subp. 3. Renewal fee. The renewal fee shall be $15 per 24-month renewal 
period, effective January 1, 1982. The fee shall be $16 effective January 1, 1983. 
Licensees whose registrations expire December 31, 1982, shall pay $7.50. 

Subp. 4. First registration renewal. If a person is granted a Minnesota 
license within six calendar months prior to the first day of licensee's renewal 
period, the license fee shall serve as payment for the first renewal period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.294; 148.296; 214.06 

6310.7700 PENALTY FEE. 
An applicant for renewal of registration shall pay a late penalty fee of $5 

effective April 1, 1982, as well as the renewal fee if the request for renewal is 
postmarked after the end of the renewal period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.294; 148.296; 214.06 

6310.7800 REREGISTRATION. 
Subpart 1. Removal of name from roster. The names of all nurses who do 

not return the renewal application, renewal fees, and penalty fees by April 1 of 
each renewal year shall be removed from the roster of persons authorized to 
practice practical nursing during the current renewal period. 

Subp. 2. Requirements if not registered for five years or more. The 
licensed practical nurse whose name has not been on the registration roster for 
five years or more must present evidence of competency in nursing before 
becoming reregistered. Such evidence may include any of the following which 
occurred within the five year period prior to the application for a current 
renewal certificate: 

A. employment as a licensed practical nurse in another United States 
jurisdiction or foreign country; 

B. completion of no less than one week of a refresher course; 
C. attendance at no less than 15 clock hours of nursing-related 

educational offerings; 
D. participation in an orientation program at least one week in length 

conducted by an employer or potential employer; or 
E. such other similar evidence; and 
F. such other evidence as the board may reasonably require. 

Subp. 3. Requirements if not registered for less than five years. The 
licensee whose name has not been on the registration roster for less than five 
years will be granted reregistration upon submission of a signed reregistration 
application and payment of the renewal fee for the current period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.294; 148.296; 214.06; 214.12 
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6310.7900 CHANGE OF NAME ON RECORDS. 
Subpart 1. Name change. The licensee who has changed names shall 

notify the board in writing as soon as possible and request a revised renewal 
certificate. 

When requesting a revised renewal certificate, the licensee shall return the 
current certificate to the board. If the current certificate has been lost, stolen, 
or destroyed, the licensee shall provide written evidence of the situation. 

The board may require substantiation of the name change by requiring 
official documentation. 

Subp. 2. Address change. The licensee who has changed addresses shall 
notify the board in writing as soon as possible. 

The board shall notify the licensee of address changes made in the licensee's 
records. However, a revised renewal certificate will not be issued. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.294; 148.296; 214.06 

6310.8000 DUPLICATE AND REPLACEMENT DOCUMENTS. 
Subpart 1. License. A duplicate license shall not be issued. 
A replacement license may be issued when the licensee notifies the board, by 

certified statement, that the original license was lost, stolen, or destroyed. The 
replacement license shall be marked "Replacement" and the date of issuance 
indicated. The fee for a replacement license is $5. 

Subp. 2. Renewal certificate. A duplicate renewal certificate shall not be 
issued. 

If a renewal certificate is lost, stolen, or destroyed, the licensee shall submit 
written evidence of the situation. 

Upon written request of the licensee, a verification of current registration 
shall be issued for a fee of $5, effective January 1, 1982. 

If a licensee does not receive a renewal certificate which has been issued and 
notifies the board office within 90 days of date of issuance, a verification of 
current registration may be issued without a fee. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.294; 148.296; 214.06 

6310.8100 VERIFICATION OF MINNESOTA LICENSE. 
Subpart 1. Verification. A licensed practical nurse wishing to be licensed 

in another United States jurisdiction or foreign country may, upon written 
request, have a certified statement of Minnesota licensure issued to the Board of 
Nursing or another official agency empowered to issue nursing licenses in the 
other jurisdiction or country. 

The fee for verification of a license shall be $10 effective July 1, 1982, for 
each verification. 

Subp. 2. Transcript. If a transcript is provided from the board files for a 
nursing program which is no longer currently in operation, an additional fee of 
$5 effective January 1, 1982, may be charged. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148.191 subd 2; 148.294; 148.296; 214.06 
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