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6305 0100 DEFINITIONS 6305 0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY
6305 0300 AUTHORIZATION TO PRACTICE EXAMINATION

NURSING 6305 0600 APPLICATION NULLIFICATION

6305.0100 DEFINITIONS.
[For text o f subpart 1, see M.R ]

Subp 1 a. Acceptable nursing practice. “Acceptable nursing practice” means employ­
ment or volunteer nursing in any setting, participation in clinical nursing courses, or any 
combination of these activities. Employment includes those positions for which the individ­
ual is required to be a nurse For professional nursing practice, the practice must have in­
cluded one or more of the functions defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148 171, para­
graph (3) For practical nursing practice, the practice must have included one or more of the 
functions defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148 171, paragraph (5)

[For text o f subp 2, see M R ]
Subp 3 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]

[For text ofsubps 4 to 7a, see M R ]
Subp. 8 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]
Subp 9 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]
Subp. 10 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]

[For text ofsubps 11 to 21, see M R ]
Subp. 22. Refresher course equivalent or equivalent. “Refresher course equivalent” 

or “equivalent,” when used to refer to a refresher course, means an educational activity that 
includes a clinical component and is used in lieu of a refresher course Examples of equiva­
lent activities are a preceptorship, an orientation program, a program of study leading to a 
degree in nursing, or a clinical course to enhance nursing skills in a clinical area 

Statutory Authority: MS s 148 211 
History: 18 SR 2195

6305.0300 AUTHORIZATION TO PRACTICE NURSING.
[For text o f subpart 1, see M R ]

Subp 1 a. Authorized abbreviations. The categories of nursing personnel listed below 
may use abbreviations as follows

[For text o f items A to D, see M R ]
E Nursing assistants who are on the long-term care registry are nursing assistants/ 

registered, abbreviated “NA/R ”
[For text ofsubps 2 and 3, see M R ]

Subp. 4 Eligibility for permit to practice nursing with direct supervision. The 
board shall grant an applicant who is not the subject of a pending investigation or disciplinary 
action a permit to practice nursing under the direct supervision of a registered nurse if the 
applicant

[For text o f items A and B, see M R ]
C has submitted the licensure application, licensure fee, permit fee, and affidavit 

of graduation or transcript The affidavit of graduation or transcript must be received in the 
board office within 60 days following graduation,

[For text o f items D to G, see M.R ]
H. is eligible to take the examination, and
I. is taking the examination for the first time in a United States jurisdiction

[For text ofsubps 5 and 6, see M.R.]
Subp 7 Length of permits. The permit authorizing practice under the direct supervi­

sion of a registered nurse expires 60 days from the date of issue or upon the applicant’s notifi­
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cation by the board of failure on the examination, whichever occurs first. The board may ex­
tend this permit if the applicant has come under investigation by the board after the issuance 
of the initial permit until the matter is resolved for the applicant

The permit authorizing practice without direct supervision expires six months after the 
date of issue, but the board shall extend this permit if licensure cannot occur because of a 
processing delay by another nurse licensing agency The board may extend the permit if the 
applicant has come under investigation by the board after the issuance of the initial permit 
until the matter is resolved for the applicant.

Subp 8 Revocation of permit. The board shall revoke a permit m the following situa­
tions

A The board shall revoke a permit if the permit holder
(1) has been notified of the results of the examination,
(2) is licensed by the board,
(3) did not write in another jurisdiction an examination acceptable to the

board,
(4) did not pass an examination in another jurisdiction with a score acceptable

to the board,
(5) is not eligible for licensure, or
(6) did not graduate

[For text o f item B, see M R ]
[For text o f subp 9, see M R ]

Statutory Authority: MS s 148 211 
History: 18 SR 2195

6305.0400 REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION.
[For text o f subpart 1, see M R ]

Subp 2 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]
[For text o f subps 3 to 5, see M R ]

Subp 6 Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools Qualifying Ex­
amination. The applicant who completed a nursing program in another country, except Can­
ada, shall successfully complete the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools 
Qualifying Examination The board must receive evidence of successful completion from 
the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS)

Until the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools Qualifying Examina­
tion is administered to practical nurse applicants, the applicant shall submit an evaluation of 
nursing education by the Credentials Evaluation Service of the Commission on Graduates of 
Foreign Nursing Schools The board must receive verification from CGFNS that the appli­
cant’s education is comparable to the education required of individuals educated in the 
United States

[For text o f subp 7, see M R ]
Subp 8 Affidavit of graduation or transcript. An affidavit of graduation or a tran­

script is required if an applicant graduated from an approved nursing program in a United 
States junsdiction or Canadian province If an applicant submits an affidavit of graduation, 
the affidavit must be completed and signed by an official of the nursing program or control­
ling institution and must bear the seal or stamp of the program or controlling institution. If the 
applicant submits a transcnpt, it must be an official transcnpt from the educational institu­
tion or nursing program that verifies that the applicant has graduated from the nursing pro­
gram

If the board finds after the examination has been taken that the affidavit of graduation 
was completed in error, the examination results shall not be released nor action taken on the 
application until the applicant has graduated If graduation requirements are not met within 
12 months after the application was submitted, the application will be nullified in accordance 
with part 6305 0600 If there is evidence that the applicant was aware of nongraduation status 
before the examination and did not inform the board, the matter may be handled through a 
disciplinary proceeding
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Subp 9 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]
Subp 10 Fees. The board shall charge the following fees

A The licensure fee is $80 This fee must be paid to the board and must be received 
before evaluation of an applicant’s qualifications for examination and licensure.

B The fee required with the request to retake the examination is $40 The fee must 
be paid to the board and must be received before evaluation of an applicant’s qualifications to 
retake the examination

C Personal checks are not accepted. Each remittance must be m the form of United 
States currency, cashier’s check, or money order

D If for any reason a license is not issued, fees are not refundable 
E. The permit fee is $50 and must be paid to the board.

Subp 11 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]
Subp 12 Licensure examination. The licensure examinations are the examinations of 

the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc An applicant must receive a pass on the 
National Council Licensure Examination

A An applicant is eligible for an examination when the following have been re­
ceived-

(1) application for licensure,
(2) fee for licensure,
(3) affidavit of graduation or transcript,
(4) when applicable, request to retake the examination and fee;
(5) when applicable, verification of passing score on the CGFNS qualifying 

examination, and
(6) when applicable, verification of comparable education

B The board will notify the applicant by mail when the applicant is eligible to take 
the examination. Placing the notice in first class United States mail, postage prepaid and ad­
dressed to the applicant’s last known address constitutes official notification

C To take the examination, the applicant must meet all requirements of the test 
service of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc , including the payment of 
fees, and, after receipt of an authorization to test, schedule the examination at one of the test­
ing centers.

D Official notification of the results of the examination shall be by first class 
United States mail, postage prepaid and addressed to the applicant’s last known address

E. An applicant who fails an examination and wants to retake the examination 
must notify the board on a form provided by the board On the request to retake the examina­
tion, an applicant shall respond to questions that relate to the grounds for disciplinary action 
listed in Minnesota Statutes, section 148 261 The board may require further information of 
the applicant in order to determine whether the applicant has engaged in conduct warranting 
disciplinary action An applicant must submit true information Falsification or omission of 
information provides grounds for denial of a license The request to retake the examination 
must be notarized If the request is received without a fee, it shall be returned to the applicant. 
An applicant may only retake the examination four times per year and not more often than 
once in every three months The board will notify the applicant by mail when the applicant is 
eligible to retake the examination Placing the notice in first class United States mail, postage 
prepaid and addressed to the applicant’s last known address, constitutes official notification.

Statutory Authority: MS s 148 211
History: 18 SR 2195

6305.0600 APPLICATION NULLIFICATION.
Subpart 1 Licensure by examination. The board will nullify an application for licen­

sure by examination if the applicant
A did not take the examination within one year following submission of a licen­

sure application and fee, or
B did not retake the examination within 12 months after the last examination

failed
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The board will not nullify an application if it agrees on a different action dunng a disci­
plinary proceeding

[For text ofsubps 2 to 4, see M R ]
Statutory Authority: MS s 148 211 
History: 18 SR 2195

6305.0700 [Repealed, 18 SR 2195]

r,
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