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CHAPTER 6242 
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 

SHOOTING PRESERVES 

6242.0100 DEFINITION OF SHOOTING 6242.0400 OPERATION OF COMMERCIAL 
PRESERVE. SHOOTING PRESERVES. 

6242.0200 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR 6242.0900 RESTRICTIONS ON SALE OF GAME 
SHOOTING PRESERVES. FARM ANIMALS. 

6242.0300 OPERATION OF PRIVATE SHOOTING 
PRESERVES. 

6242.0100 DEFINITION OF SHOOTING PRESERVE. 
A shooting preserve is a privately operated facility where protected wild animals are 

released for shooting outside regularly established seasons and regulations. Only species au­
thorized on the shooting preserve license may be released and taken. A person, corporation, 
or partnership may not operate a shooting preserve without a valid license. There are two 
classes of shooting preserve, private and commercial, as provided by Minnesota Statutes, 
sections 97A. 115 and 97A. 121. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 97A.115 . 
History: 18 SR 83 

6242.0200 GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR SHOOTING PRESERVES. 
Subpart I. License requirement and application procedure for shooting preserves. 

Application for a shooting preserve license must be made on forms provided by the commis­
sioner. Additional information may be required when renewing a license or changing an area 
or species. 

Subp. 2. Tagging requirements. Harvested game, except ducks that are marked ac­
cording to regulations of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, must be tagged with a 
self-sealing tag, purchased from the commissioner, identifying the private shooting pre­
serve. Birds dressed and packaged in a nonreusable sealed bag identified by the shooting pre­
serve's name or license number need not be tagged. The tag or package labeling must remain 
attached while the bird is transported. 

Subp. 3. Posting requirements. The boundaries of shooting preserves must be posted 
with signs with letters at least two inches high. The sign must include the language "Licensed 
Shooting Preserve" and "No Trespassing," must be signed by the owner or manager, and 
must be posted at intervals of not more than 500 feet around the entire boundary of the shoot­
ing preserve. 

Subp. 4. Marking of released birds. Released ring-necked pheasants must be identifi­
able by a clipped outer toe of the right foot, evidence of wearing blinders, or debeaking. Re­
leased ducks must be identifiable by having had the hind toe (Hallux) of the right foot re­
moved before the age of four weeks. Marking is not required on other species released for 
hunting. 

Subp. 5. Required records. Records must be kept current within 48 hours and main­
tained for three years following the year of creation. 

Subp. 6. Required annual report. An annual report must be submitted by each shoot­
ing preserve on a form provided by the commissioner. This report is due by March 15 of each 
year for the preceding calendar year. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 97A.U5 
History: 18 SR 83 

6242.0300 OPERATION OF PRIVATE SHOOTING PRESERVES. 
Private shooting preserves are authorized in counties outside the pheasant range includ­

ing Norman, Becker, Wadena, Cass, Crow Wing, Aitkin, and Carlton counties and counties 
to the north of those counties. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 97A.115 
History: 18 SR 83 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1993

Copyright © 1993 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



6242.0400 SHOOTING PRESERVES 694 

6242.0400 OPERATION OF COMMERCIAL SHOOTING PRESERVES. 
A person hunting waterfowl on a commercial shooting preserve is required to have fed­

eral and state waterfowl stamps and a small game license, except when taking only pen-
reared and marked mallards. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 97A.115 

History: 18 SR 83 

6242.0900 RESTRICTIONS ON SALE OF GAME FARM ANIMALS. 
Subpart 1. Sales receipt requirement. For every sale of animal parts, or products, the 

game farm licensee must complete a sales receipt, provided by the commissioner, containing 
the following information: 

A. name, address, and game farm license number of licensee; 
B. name and address of purchaser or person to whom sale is made; 
C. species, number, and kinds of animals, parts, or products sold; and 
D. identification numbers, if the animals sold are marked with numbered tags, 

bands, or tattoos. 
Subp. 2. Department receives original of sales receipt. The original copy of the sales 

receipt of a game farm animal must be mailed td the Division of Enforcement within 48 hours 
of completion of the transaction. A second copy must be given to the purchaser at the time the 
transaction is made. A third copy must be retained by the licensee and be subject to inspection 
by the commissioner. A fourth copy must be submitted to the local conservation officer. 

Subp. 3. Shipping animals by common carrier. When animals, parts, or products are 
shipped by common carrier or are transported other than by the purchaser or receiver, a se­
cond copy of the receipt must be attached to the outside of the box, crate, or container, or to 
one of the containers if a single shipment is made in several containers. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 97A.105; 97A.425 

History: 18 SR 83 
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