CHAPTER 5230

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY PIPEFITTERS; POWER PIPING SYSTEMS

 5230 0050
 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION
 5230 0100
 FEES

 REQUIREMENT
 5230 0115
 PIPEFITTER TRAINEES

5230.0050 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION REQUIREMENT.

No person, firm, corporation, or association shall engage m the business or work at the occupation of high pressure piping in Minnesota without first obtaining a license and being registered as a contracting or journeyman pipefitter, as the case may be, and no licensed contractor shall employ a journeyman pipefitter, to install high pressure piping unless the journeyman is a licensed pipefitter, and no person shall work as a pipefitter trainee without being registered as such, nor longer than four years without making application for examination and license as a journeyman pipefitter. No person shall work as an apprentice pipefitter without entering an agreement of apprenticeship approved by the division of voluntary apprenticeship, nor longer than four years without making application for examination and license as a journeyman pipefitter

Licenses shall be granted as contracting or journeyman pipefitters upon proof of qualifications therefor as hereinafter provided

An applicant for a contractor's license to do business in the name of a firm or partnership shall be a bona fide member or employee of the firm or partnership An applicant for a contractor's license to do business in the name of a corporation shall be a regular employee or member in the corporation

Statutory Authority: *MS* s 16A 1285, 175 171, 326 46 to 326 521 History: 25 SR 992

5230.0100 FEES.

[For text of subpart 1, see MR]

Subp 2 Application for renewal. A license that has expired within one year of application for renewal may be renewed without an examination on filing an application for renewal with the department, accompanied by the fee required in this part. An application for renewal received by the department more than 30 days after the expiration date of the license must be accompanied by the late fee in subpart 3, item G

If a license holder has failed to submit an application for renewal within one year of the date of the expiration of the license, renewal is not allowed unless the applicant files the application, pays the fee required by this part, and passes the examination required by this chapter

A license holder may obtain an inactive license by filing the renewal application, paying the fee required by this part, and not engaging in the business or work at the occupation of high pressure piping in Minnesota without first activating a license and being registered as a contracting or journeyman pipefitter A license holder with an inactive license must pay the renewal fee required by this part to activate a license

Subp 3 Examination and license. The fees for examination and license are as follows

[For text of items A to D, see MR]

E high pressure pipefitting business license, \$350,

 ${\rm F}\,$ inactive contracting pipefitter and journeyman pipefitter individual competency license, \$30, and

G late fees

(1) contracting pipefitter individual competency license, \$250,

(2) journeyman pipefitter individual competency license, \$90,

MINNESOTA RULES 2000

PIPEFITTERS; POWER PIPING SYSTEMS 5230.0100

(3) high pressure pipefitting business license, \$380, and

(4) inactive journeyman or contracting pipefitter individual competency license, \$60

Payment of examination and license fees must accompany the application There will be no refund of fees paid

[For text of subp 3a, see MR]

Subp 4 Permit to construct or install power piping, ammonia refrigeration systems, or anhydrous ammonia piping which form a part of a refrigeration, liquification, process, or manufacturing system. A person, firm, or corporation that constructs or installs power piping, anhydrous ammonia, or ammonia refrigeration systems must file an application for a permit with the Department of Labor and Industry, or with a municipality that is authorized by law to issue that type of permit, before beginning construction or installation. The department's fees for a permit to construct or install power piping, anhydrous ammonia, or ammonia refrigeration systems are:

A filing fee (application for permit), \$50, and

B when filed prior to the start of construction or installation, an inspection fee of \$100, plus 0 020 of the first \$1,000,000, plus 0.010 of the next \$2,000,000, plus 0 0005 of the amount over \$3,000,000 of the cost of constructing or installing the power piping, anhydrous ammonia, or ammonia refrigeration systems as defined under part 5230 0260 and Minnesota Statutes, section 326 461, subdivision 2, or

C when filed after the start of construction or installation, an inspection fee of \$100 plus 0 030 of the first \$1,000,000, plus 0 015 of the next \$2,000,000, plus 0 000725 of the amount over \$3,000,000 of the cost of constructing or installing the power piping, anhydrous ammonia, or ammonia refrigeration systems as defined under part 5230 0260 and Mmnesota Statutes, section 326 461, subdivision 2, or \$1,000, whichever is greater. The department shall consider any extenuating circumstances that may cause a permit application to be filed after the start of construction before requiring payment of the higher permit fee

Subp 5 **Permit payment alternatives.** The department shall make the following alternatives available for payment of permit applications.

A. a lump-sum payment at the time the permit application is submitted to the department,

B quarterly payments based on the actual cost of labor and materials incurred that quarter to construct or install the power piping, anhydrous ammonia, or ammonia refrigeration systems; and

C an annual payment based on the actual cost of labor and materials incurred to construct or install the power piping, anhydrous ammonia, or ammoma refrigeration systems This payment method is only available under those circumstances where a licensed high pressure piping business does continuous high pressure piping work at a single work site A log of work completed, with the cost of labor and materials, shall be maintained and provided to the department at inspection and with fmal payment. A nonrefundable \$300 payment shall be made, in addition to the application filing fee, to the department when requesting this permit payment alternative

The department shall not accept any applications for permits from any parties that are m arrears on their permit payments. The department shall revoke any approved permit where payments are 60 days in arrears

Subp 6 **Pipefitter trainee registration fee.** The annual fee for registration of a pipefitter trainee is \$50 An application for renewal received by the department more than 30 days after the expiration date must be accompanied by the annual fee and a \$30 late fee The pipefitter trainee's registration shall become immediately inactive and suspended the day after the expiration date of the license if the pipefitter trainee's

MINNESOTA RULES 2000

5230.0100 PIPEFITTERS; POWER PIPING SYSTEMS

registration is not renewed, and shall remain inactive and suspended until the registration is renewed.

Statutory Authority: *MS s 16A 1285, 175 171, 326 46 to 326 521* History: 25 SR 992

5230.0110 [Repealed, 25 SR 992]

5230.0115 PIPEFITTER TRAINEES.

Subpart 1 **Trainee qualifications.** A person learning the trade of pipefitting shall be registered with the department and meet the following criteria

A be at least 18 years of age;

B possess sufficient education to learn how to read and comprehend blueprints and specifications for the installation of high pressure piping,

C. be employed by a licensed high pressure pipefitting business,

D learn the trade of pipefitting pursuant to a training program on file with the department, and

E pay the registration fee

Subp 2 Registration. A licensed high pressure piping business shall register pipefitting trainees with and pay the registration fee to the department before the pipefitter trainee may participate in the construction or installation of high pressure piping The pipefitter trainee shall be registered on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The pipefitter trainee must sign the registration form. Registration of a pipefitter trainee shall be renewed annually, provided the registration renewal fee is paid and the pipefitter trainee is making progress toward becoming a licensed journeyman pipefitter.

Subp 3 Training program. A registered pipefitter trainee shall learn the trade of pipefitting pursuant to a training program established and maintained by the high pressure piping business. The high pressure piping business shall submit an outline of the training program to the department and must melude information on the supervision of a trainee and the work processes to be learned by the pipefitter trainee. The training program must describe how the pipefitter trainee will be supervised consistent with subpart 4, and shall document the hours of work or training in the work processes participated in by the pipefitter trainee on the job and in the classroom. The training program must be signed by the licensed high pressure piping business contracting pipefitter and the pipefitter trainee.

Subp 4. Direct supervision. A pipefitter trainee learning and assisting in the construction, replacement, and installation of high pressure piping shall be under the direct supervision of a licensed journeyman or contracting pipefitter "Direct supervision" means the pipefitter trainee and the licensed pipefitter are on the same job site and working m close proximity and according to the training program filed with the department.

Subp 5 **Completion of training.** The pipefitter trainee shall make application for examination and license as a journeyman pipefitter upon completion of four years of employment and training m the construction and installation of high pressure piping Renewal of a pipefitter trainee registration shall be denied after five years unless the high pressure piping business can present good cause for renewing the pipefitter trainee registration

Subp 6 Changes in address. The licensed high pressure piping business or contracting pipefitter shall immediately notify the department of a change in address of the registered pipefitter trainee.

Subp 7 **Trainee registration fee.** The licensed high pressure piping business shall pay the pipefitter trainee registration fee to the department

Subp 8 Registration card. The department shall issue to each registered pipefitter trainee a wallet card that shall at all times be in the possession of the registered

MINNESOTA RULES 2000

PIPEFITTERS; POWER PIPING SYSTEMS 5230.0115

pipefitter trainee during business hours and shall be displayed when required by a representative of the Division of Pipefitting Standards or the department. The registration card shall include, at a minimum, the pipefitter trainee's name, registration number, and employer's name. The registration card shall at no time be in the possession of any person other than the registered pipefitter trainee to whom it was issued Registration cards are not transferable

Subp. 9 Apprentices exempt. A high pressure pipefitting apprenticeship program approved by the department's voluntary apprenticeship division pursuant to Mmnesota Statutes, section 178.08, and its apprentices are exempt from this part and are not required to separately register apprentices as trainees, pay the trainee registration fee, file the training program, or meet the other requirements of this part

Statutory Authority: *MS s 16A 1285; 175 171, 326 46 to 326 521* History: 25 SR 992

295