CHAPTER 5225 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY BOILERS AND POWER BOATS

5225 0300 EXPIRATION AND RENEWALS

5225 8600 FEES

5225.0300 EXPIRATION AND RENEWALS.

Subpart 1. Timing. Licenses for engineers and pilots, unless revoked, are valid for a period of one year from the date of issuance, with privilege of renewal without examination upon application to the Department of Labor and Industry, Boiler Inspection Division, and payment of a renewal fee within ten calendar days of the expiration date. The renewal license must be given a consecutive issue number and the same monthly date as the original issue. An application for renewal may not be presented before 30 days preceding the expiration date of the license. Engineers who fail to renew their licenses before the ten day grace period has expired are subject to subparts 2 and 3.

- Subp. 2. Renewal application within one year of expiration. A license that expired within one year of application for renewal may be renewed without an examination on filing an application for renewal, accompanied by the expired renewal fee required in part 5225.8600.
- Subp. 3. Renewal application beyond one year of expiration. A license that expired more than one year before the date of application for renewal may be renewed by filing an application for renewal, accompanied by the fee required by part 5225.8600, subpart 2, item C, and passing the examination required by part 5225.0500.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128; 183.44; 183.545; 326.46 to 326.50

History: 12 SR 1148

5225.8600 FEES.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R. 1987]

Subp. 2. Engineer licenses.

- A. The fees for a new boiler operating engineer license, application, and examination are as follows:
 - (1) chief engineer, \$50;
 - (2) first class engineer, \$30;
 - (3) second class engineer, \$25;
 - (4) special engineer, \$20;
 - (5) hobby engineer, \$50; and
 - (6) pilot, \$30.
 - B. The fees for license renewal under part 5225.0300 are as follows:
 - (1) chief engineer, \$25;
 - (2) first class engineer, \$20;
 - (3) second class engineer, \$15;
 - (4) special engineer, \$10; and
 - (5) pilot, \$10.
- C. The fees for expired renewals under part 5225.0300, subpart 2, are as follows:
 - (1) chief engineer, \$50;
 - (2) first class engineer, \$30;

BOILERS AND POWER BOATS 5225.8600

- (3) second class engineer, \$25;
- (4) special engineer, \$20; and
- (5) pilot, \$30.
- D. The fee for replacement of a lost license of any class is \$15.
- Subp. 3. Boiler and pressure vessel inspection. The fees for the annual inspections of boilers and the biennial inspections of pressure vessels under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 3, are as follows:
 - A. boiler inaccessible for internal inspection, \$30;
 - B. boiler accessible for internal inspection, \$45;
 - C. boiler internal inspection over 2,000 square feet, \$60:
 - D. boiler internal inspection over 4,000 square feet, \$75;
 - E. boiler internal inspection over 10,000 square feet, \$100;
 - F. boiler requiring internal inspection up to one-half day, \$170;
 - G. pressure vessel for internal inspection, \$30; and
 - H. pressure vessel inaccessible for internal inspection, \$20.
- Subp. 4. Shop inspections. The fees for shop inspections under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 3, are as follows:
 - A. inspection of two hours or less, \$90; supervisor, \$115;
 - B. one-half day, four hours or less, \$170; supervisor, \$220;
 - C. eight hours or less, \$300; supervisor, \$350; and
 - D. each hour over eight hours, per hour, \$50; supervisor, \$75.
- Subp. 5. Inspectors. The fees for inspector's examinations, certificates, and endorsements under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivisions 6, 7, and 8, are as follows:
 - A. national board inspector's exam, \$75;
 - B. endorsement, \$30;
 - C. Minnesota certificate of competency, original, \$30; and
 - D. Minnesota certificate of competency, renewal, \$20.
- Subp. 6. Exemption certificates. The fee for an exemption certificate under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.57, subdivision 2, is \$10 for each object inspected.
- Subp. 7. Vessel inspections. The fees for vessel inspections under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 1, are as follows:
 - A. boat under 30 feet, \$50;
 - B. boat from 30 to no more than 40 feet, \$60;
 - C. boat over 40 to no more than 50 feet, \$70; and
 - D. boat over 50 feet, \$80.
- Subp. 8. Hobby boilers. The inspection fee for hobby boilers or traction boilers, not previously certified in Minnesota is \$75. The inspection fee for an inspection of a hobby or traction boiler is \$45.

Statutory Authority: MS s 16A.128: 183.44: 183.545: 326.46 to 326.50

History: 12 SR 1148