# **BOILERS AND POWER BOATS 5225.8600**

# CHAPTER 5225 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY BOILERS AND POWER BOATS

5225 0300 EXPIRATION AND RENEWALS

5225 8600 FEES

**5225.0200** [Repealed, 10 SR 1379]

### 5225.0300 EXPIRATION AND RENEWALS.

[For text of subpart 1, see M R 1985]

- Subp. 2. Expirations within less than five years. Licenses which have expired less than five years prior to date of application for renewal may be renewed without the necessity of an examination upon filing an application therefor, accompanied by the fee required in part 5225.8600. Applications shall be marked "expired renewal" and do not have to be signed.
- Subp. 3. Expirations of five years or more. Licenses which have expired five years or more prior to the date of application for renewal may be renewed by filing an application therefor, accompanied by the fee required by part 5225.8600, and passing an examination.

Statutory Authority: MS s 183.545

**History:** 10 SR 1379

### 5225.8600 FEES.

Subpart 1. Generally. Fees for inspections, examinations, and licenses under parts 5225.0100 to 5225.7200 are in subparts 2 to 7.

## Subp. 2. Engineer licenses.

- A. The fees for a new engineer license application are as follows:
  - (1) chief engineer, \$40;
  - (2) first class engineer, \$25;
  - (3) second class engineer, \$20;
  - (4) special engineer, \$15;
  - (5) hobby engineer, \$30; and
  - (6) pilot, \$20.
- B. The fees for license renewal under part 5225.0300 are as follows:
  - (1) chief engineer, \$25;
  - (2) first class engineer, \$20;
  - (3) second class engineer, \$15; and
  - (4) special engineer, pilot, \$10.
- C. The fees for expired renewals under part 5225.0300, subpart 2, are as follows:
  - (1) chief engineer, \$30;
  - (2) first class engineer, \$25;
  - (3) second class engineer, \$20; and
  - (4) special engineer, pilot, \$15.
- Subp. 3. **Boiler and pressure vessel inspection.** The fees for the annual inspections of boilers and the biennial inspections of pressure vessels under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 3, are as follows:
  - A. boiler inaccessible for internal inspection, \$20;

### 5225.8600 BOILERS AND POWER BOATS

- B. boiler accessible for internal inspection, \$30;
- C. boiler internal inspection over 2,000 square feet, \$40;
- D. boiler internal inspection over 4,000 square feet, \$50;
- E. boiler internal inspection over 10,000 square feet, \$70;
- F. boiler requiring internal inspection up to one-half day, \$130;
- G. pressure vessel for internal inspection, \$20; and
- H. pressure vessel maccessible for internal inspection, \$10.
- Subp. 4. Shop inspections. The fees for shop inspections under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 3, are as follows:
  - A. inspection of two hours or less, \$70;
  - B. one-half day, four hours or less, \$130; supervisor, \$180;
  - C. eight hours or less, \$240; supervisor, \$320; and
  - D. each hour over eight hours, per hour, \$45; supervisor, \$50.
- Subp. 5. **Inspectors.** The fees for inspector's examinations, certificates, and endorsements under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivisions 6, 7, and 8, are as follows:
  - A. national board inspector's exam, \$40;
  - B. nuclear endorsement, \$20;
  - C. Minnesota certificate of competency, original, \$20; and
  - D. Minnesota certificate of competency, renewal, \$15.
- Subp. 6. Exemption certificates. The fees for exemption certificates under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.57, subdivision 2, are as follows:
  - A. first object inspected, \$10; and
  - B each additional object inspected, \$5
- Subp. 7. Vessel inspections. The fees for vessel inspections under Minnesota Statutes, section 183.545, subdivision 1, are as follows:
  - A. boat under 30 feet, \$30;
  - B. boat from 30 to 40 feet, \$40;
  - C. boat 40 to 50 feet, \$50; and
  - D. boat over 50 feet, \$60.

Statutory Authority: MS s 183.545

**History:** 10 SR 1379