MINNESOTA RULES 1998

CHAPTER 5220 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION⁴

5220 2570 5220 2630	DENIALS OF LIABILITY DISCONTINUANCE OF COMPENSATION		5220 2780 <u>5</u> 220 2790	FAILURE TO PAY UNDER ORDER, PENALTY INEXCUSABLE DELAY IN MAKING	
5220 2720	IMPROPER DISCONTINUANCES, PENALTY		5220 2810	PAYMENT, INCREASE IN PAYMENT FAILURE TO RELEASE MEDICAL	
5220 2740	FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY MEDICAL CHARGES, PENALTY	,		5220 2820	DATA, PENALTY FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY REPORT OF INJURY, PENALTY
5220 2750	FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY PAYMENT OF PERMANENT PARTIAL			5220 2830	OTHER FAILURE TO FILE REPORT IN MANNER OR WITHIN TIME LIMITS
	DISABILITY, ECONOMIC RECOVERY COMPENSATION, OR IMPAIRMENT		1	5220 2840	PROVIDED, PENALTY FAILURE TO MAKE PAYMENT OR
5220 2760 ADD	COMPENSATION, PENALTY ADDITIONAL AWARD AS PENALTY FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY, PENALTY	,		5220 2865 5220 2870	REPORT TO SPECIAL FUND, PENALTY FAILURE TO INSURE, PENALTY PENALTY OBJECTION AND HEARING

5220.2570 DENIALS OF LIABILITY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R]

Subp 2 **Denial of liability form.** A denial of primary liability under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 221, subdivision 1, except a letter denial under subpart 4 or 5, must be fully completed and on a form prescribed by the commissioner, containing substantially the following

[For text of items A to C, see M.R.]

D the name and telephone number of the person who made the determination,

[For text of items E to G, see MR]

Subp 3 Notice of intention to discontinue benefits. A denial of primary liability filed more than 60 days after notice to or knowledge by the employer of a work-related injury which is required to be reported to the commissioner under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 231, subdivision 1, and for which benefits are being paid must be made by a notice of mtention to discontinue benefits under part 5220 2630 and must clearly indicate that its purpose is to deny liability for the entire claim.

[For text of subps 4 to 6, see M R]

Subp 7 Time for filing. Denials of liability must be filed with the division within the following time limits.

A Where appropriate, a denial under subpart 2 must be filed within 14 days of notice to or knowledge by the employer of an injury which is required to be reported to the commissioner under Mmnesota Statutes, section 176 231, subdivision 1 Where appropriate, a denial under subpart 2 must be filed within 30 days after notice or knowledge where an extension has been requested in the event of a new period of temporary total or if payment has commenced. When payment of compensation has commenced, a denial more than 60 days after notice or knowledge must be filed under subpart 3

[For text of items B and C, see M R]

D A denial under subpart 5 must be filed within the time frame required by statute for the type of benefit being denied.

[For text of subp 9, see M R.]

Subp 10 Penalty; frivolous denial.

A A frivolous denial under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 225, subdivision 1, clause (a) or (e), includes one which

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see MR]

[For text of item B, see M.R]

Subp. 11 **Penalty; nonspecific denial.** A nonspecific denial as defined in subpart 2, item E, 4, item E, or 5, item E, may result m the assessment of a penalty in the amount of \$500 under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 84, subdivision 2 A penalty for a nonspecific denial may be assessed without regard to the substantive validity of the demal of benefits A penalty

MINNESOTA RULES 1998 REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION 5220.2720

under this subpart may be assessed in addition to the penalties described in subparts 9 and 10 and is payable to the special compensation fund

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176 138, 176 221, 176 225, 176 231, 176 238, 176 83; 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2630 DISCONTINUANCE OF COMPENSATION.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M R]

Subp 3 Notice of benefit payment.

A The employer or insurer may make a lump sum or final payment of the benefit indicated by the filing of a notice of benefit payment with the division and service of the notice on the other parties at the time that the payment occurs when the payment represents

[For text of subitem (1), see M R]

(2) a fmal periodic payment of permanent partial disability compensation, impairment compensation, or economic recovery compensation,

[For text of subitems (3) to (5), see MR]

[For text of tem B, see M R] [For text of subps 4 and 6, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176 138, 176 221, 176 225, 176 231, 176 238, 176.83, 176 84*

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2720 IMPROPER DISCONTINUANCES; PENALTY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M R.]

Subp 2 Amount. When the division makes a determination under subpart 1, notice will be given and fines assessed as follows

A (1) If an insurer has not had a penalty assessed in the one-year period before the assessment for violation of a particular item in subpart 1, the division will send a warning notice to the insurer that the division has determined the discontinuance is improper. The warning notice will direct the insurer to pay the improperly discontinued benefits and serve and file any required notice of discontinuance within ten days of service of notice or a penalty will be assessed.

(2) If the improperly discontinued benefits are not paid and any proper discontinuance filed within the following time periods after the warning notice is served, the division will send notice that a penalty is imposed as follows

(a) 11 to 20 days late, \$200,

(b) 21 to 30 days late, \$600,

(c) 31 to 60 days late, \$800; and

(d) over 60 days late, \$1,000

B If an insurer has had a penalty assessed m the one-year period before the assessment for violation of an item in subpart 1 and again violates the same item, the following penalties apply if the improperly discontinued benefit is not paid and a discontinuance notice is not filed when required

(1) one to ten days late, \$400,

(2) 11 to 20 days late, \$600,

(3) 21 to 30 days late, \$800, and

(4) over 30 days late, \$1,000

C Alternatively, a penalty may be assessed under Mmnesota Statutes, section 176.221, subdivision 3, payable to the assigned risk safety account, of up to 100 percent of the amount of compensation to which the employee is entitled

D In addition to a penalty payable to the special compensation fund or the assigned risk safety account under this part, a penalty may be assessed under part 5220 2760

11

MINNESOTA RULES 1998 5220.2720 REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION

Subp 3 **Payable to.** Penalties under this part are payable to the special compensation fund or the assigned risk safety account

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175.17, 175.171, 176 129, 176 138, 176 221; 176 225; 176.231, 176 238, 176 83, 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2740 FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY MEDICAL CHARGES; PENALTY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M R]

Subp 2 Amount. Under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 221, subdivision 3a, a penalty of up to \$2,000 shall be assessed as follows:

A one to 15 days late, \$500,

B 16 to 30 days late, \$1,000,

C 31 to 60 days late, \$1,500, and

D over 60 days late, \$2,000

[For text of subps 4 and 5, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176 138; 176 221; 176.225, 176 231, 176 238, 176.83, 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2750 FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY PAYMENT OF PERMANENT PARTIAL DISABILITY, ECONOMIC RECOVERY COMPENSATION, OR IM-PAIRMENT COMPENSATION; PENALTY.

Subpart 1 **Basis.** A penalty may be assessed where payment of permanent partial disability compensation, economic recovery compensation, or impairment compensation is not made in a timely inanner as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 176 101, and part 5220 2550

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176 138, 176 221; 176 225, 176 231, 176 238; 176 83; 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2760 ADDITIONAL AWARD AS PENALTY.

Subpart 1 **Basis.** Penalties under Mmnesota Statutes, section 176 225, subdivision 1, in an amount up to 30 percent of the total amount of the compensation award shall be assessed by the division on the grounds listed in that section, including:

[For text of items A and B, see MR]

C other violations under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 225, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), or (f)

This part does not affect the employee's independent right to seek penalties by filmg a claim petition under Mmnesota Statutes, section 176 271

Subp. 2 Amount. A penalty assessed under this part will be for at least six percent of the compensation owing and shall be assessed as follows

A one to five days late, six percent;

- B six to 15 days late, 12 percent,
- C 16 to 30 days late, 18 percent,
- D 31 to 60 days late, 24 percent, and
- E over 60 days late, 30 percent

[For text of subp 3, see M.R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176 138, 176.221; 176 225; 176 231; 176.238, 176 83, 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2770 FAILURE TO PAY OR DENY; PENALTY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R.]

MINNESOTA RULES 1998 REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION 5220.2790

Subp 2 Amount. The commissioner's designee must use the following procedure to determine the amount of the penalty

[For text of items A to C, see M R]

D. Where no compensation has been paid but the insurer has failed to file a denial of hability within the statutory 14— or 30—day limit on a claim required to be reported to the division, a penalty of up to \$2,000 may be assessed under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 221, subdivision 3a, as follows

(1) one to 15 days late, \$250;

(2) 16 to 30 days late, \$500;

(3) 31 to 60 days late, \$1,000, and

(4) over 60 days late, \$2,000

E. Where the insurer has filed a frivolous denial under part 5220 2570, subpart 10, a penalty may be assessed under Mmnesota Statutes, section 176 221, subdivision 3a, as follows

(1) one to five violations in the two-year period before the assessment, \$1,000, and

(2) six or more violations in the two-year period before the assessment, \$2,000.

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s 175 17; 175 171, 176 129, 176 138, 176 221; 176 225; 176 231, 176.238, 176 83, 176 84*

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2780 FAILURE TO PAY UNDER ORDER; PENALTY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M R]

Subp 2. Amount. The penalty available under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 221, subdivision 3 or 3a, shall be assessed where there has been a failure to pay under an order which has not been appealed. If the payor chooses not to appeal the order, payments made more than 14 days after the order is served and filed are late. Each day after the 14th day is considered a day late. Penalties under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 221, subdivision 3a, shall be assessed as follows:

A. one to 15 days late, \$500,

B 16 to 30 days late, \$1,000,

C. 31 to 60 days late, \$1,500, and

D over 60 days late, \$2,000

[For text of subp 3, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s 175 17, 175.171, 176 129, 176 138, 176 221, 176 225;* 176 231, 176.238, 176 83, 176.84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2790 INEXCUSABLE DELAY IN MAKING PAYMENT, INCREASE IN PAY-MENT.

[For text of subpart 1, see M R]

Subp. 2 Amount. The amount of the mcrease in payment under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 225, subdivision 5, for a delay under subpart 1, item A, is calculated as 25 percent of the payment found to be delayed.

The amount of the mcrease in payment assessed under subpart 1, item B, will be calculated at 25 percent of the payment found to be delayed

[For text of subp 3, see M R.]

Subp. 4 Assessment.

A The commissioner's designee must complete a delayed payment worksheet containing information identifying the claim and setting forth the time period of late payment.

MINNESOTA RULES 1998 5220.2790 REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION

B The calculation of a penalty under this part for late payment of temporary total, temporary partial, or permanent total disability benefits must be as follows

[For text of subitems (1) to (3), see M R]

(4) The penalty is calculated at 25 percent of the sum paid in an untimely man-

ner

C The calculation of a penalty for late payment of permanent partial disability benefits, including economic recovery compensation and impairment compensation under subpart 1, item B, must be as follows

(1) the due date specified in part 5220 2540 or 5220 2550 is determined,

(2) if payment of the sum due is not made within three business days of the due date on more than three occasions in any 12-month period, a penalty of 25 percent of the sum paid in an untimely manner is assessed

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17; 175 171, 176 129, 176 138, 176.221, 176.225, 176 231, 176 238, 176 83, 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2810 FAILURE TO RELEASE MEDICAL DATA; PENALTY.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see MR]

Subp 3 Amount.

A. The division must send a warning letter before a monetary penalty is assessed unless the initial request for records is from the division. The warning letter must advise the collector or possessor against whom the penalty is sought of the obligation to provide medical data under Minnesota Statutes, section 176–138, and that a penalty will be assessed if it fails to provide the requested data within seven working days after the warning letter and to file written verification of the release of the data or a copy of the data with the division within that time

B If the requested data is not provided and written verification filed with the division within seven working days after receipt of a required warning letter or the division's request where no warning letter is required, a penalty of \$300 shall be imposed

C. If the requested data is not provided and written verification filed with the division within 30 days after the date of a required warning letter or the division's request where no warning letter is required, a penalty of \$450 will be imposed

D. If the requested data is not provided and written verification filed with the division within 60 days after the date of a required warning letter or the division's request where no warning letter is required, a penalty of \$600 will be imposed

[For text of subp 4, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176.138, 176 221, 176 225, 176 231, 176 238; 176 83; 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2820 FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY REPORT OF INJURY; PENALTY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R]

Subp 2 Amount. If the employer or insurer has violated subpart 1 and has had no similar violations m the 12-month period prior to the assessment, an advisory letter informing the employer or insurer of the violation and the statutory requirement must be sent. If the employer or insurer has had one violation of subpart 1 in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$125 must be assessed. If the employer or insurer has had two violations in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$250 must be assessed. If the employer or insurer has had three violations in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$375 must be assessed. If the employer or insurer has had three violations in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$375 must be assessed. If the employer or insurer has had four or more violations in the past 12 months, a penalty of \$376 must be assessed.

[For text of subps 3 and 4, see M.R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s 175 17, 175 171, 176 129; 176 138, 176 221, 176 225, 176 231, 176 238, 176 83, 176 84*

History: 23 SR 1484

4

31

5220.2830 OTHER FAILURE TO FILE REPORT IN MANNER OR WITHIN TIME LIMITS PROVIDED; PENALTY.

[For text of subpart 1, see M.R]

Subp 2. Amount.

A If a report under subpart 1, item A, is not filed in the manner or within the time limitations prescribed, a penalty may be assessed under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 231, subdivision 10, as follows

(1) If more than 30 days after the date due, \$125,

(2) If more than 90 days after the date due, \$375, and

(3) if more than 180 days after the date due, \$500.

B If, after a letter request from the commissioner or authorized designee, a report under this part is not received by the division withm 21 days, a penalty of \$125 must be assessed A failure to file a report after a second request will result in an additional penalty assessment of \$375 A subsequent failure will result in penalty assessments of \$500

[For text of subp 3, see M R]

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175 171, 176.129, 176 138, 176 221, 176.225, 176 231, 176 238, 176.83, 176 84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2840 FAILURE TO MAKE PAYMENT OR REPORT TO SPECIAL FUND; PENALTY.

[For text of subps 1 and 2, see M R]

Subp. 3 Amount. Within 30 days of the due date, the special compensation fund will give notice of penalty to those who have neither filed the completed assessment form and paid the assessment amount, nor submitted a certified reason for nonpayment by the due date as follows

[For text of item A, see M R.]

B. \$1,000, whichever is greater, or

C \$200 for failure to timely report under subpart 2, item B, that no assessment is

Subp 4 **Payable to.** The penalty is payable to the assigned risk safety account *[For text of subp 5, see M R]*

Statutory Authority: *MS s 175.17, 175 171, 176 129, 176 138; 176 221, 176 225, 176 231, 176 238, 176.83, 176 84*

History: 23 SR 1484

due

5220.2860 [Repealed, 23 SR 1484]

5220.2865 FAILURE TO INSURE; PENALTY.

Subpart 1 **Definitions.** For purposes of this part, the following terms have the meanings given them

A "Avoided premium" means the workers' compensation msurance premium computed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 79, by multiplying the employer's payroll for the uninsured period by the applicable assigned risk plan workers' compensation insurance rate and adjusted for any applicable experience modification

B "Objection" means the written objection filed by an employer with the commissioner pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 176 181, subdivision 3

C "Order to comply and notice of penalty assessment" means the order to comply and notice of penalty assessment issued by the commissioner and issued to the employer under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 181, subdivision 3

Subp 2 **Determination of penalty.** In determining the amount of the administrative penalty for the failure to insure, the commissioner must take into consideration the factors listed in Mmnesota Statutes, section 14 045 The basis for determining the penalty shall be the employer's avoided premium which shall be adjusted by the factors listed in Mmnesota Statutes, section 14 045

MINNESOTA RULES 1998 5220.2865 REHABILITATION AND COMPENSATION

A No uninsured employer shall be assessed an administrative penalty of less than \$200, nor more than \$1,000 per employee per week uninsured

B For purposes of this subpart, the ability to pay shall not be considered a factor for adjusting the penalty amount

Subp 3 **Business license or permit penalty.** In addition to the assessed administrative penalty, the commissioner shall assess the penalty amount specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 176.182, agamst the uninsured employer who did not report, or falsely reported, the required information about their workers' compensation msurance coverage to any state or local governmental agency when obtaining or renewing a hcense or permit to operate a business in Mmnesota

Subp 4 **Order to comply and penalty assessment.** The commissioner shall, by certified mail, issue to the employer an order to comply and penalty assessment after conducting the investigation authorized by Minnesota Statutes, section 176 181, subdivision 8, paragraph (b)

Subp 5 **Contents of order.** An order to comply and penalty assessment must describe the alleged violations and reference the statute or rule which the employer has violated The order to comply and penalty assessment must state that the employer has ten working days to object to the order by filing a written objection with the commissioner and stating in detail its reasons for objecting

Subp 6 Objections. The objection must contain

- A. the employer's name and address,
- B the investigation number, and
- C. a detailed statement of the reasons for objecting.

Subp 7 Filing. The written objection must be filed with the commissioner within ten working days of the date the employer receives the order to comply and penalty assessment Upon receipt of a timely objection, the commissioner shall attempt to settle informally an agreed upon penalty If the parties fail to agree, the commissioner shall refer the matter to the Office of Administrative Hearings for an expedited hearing before a compensation judge An objection may be filed with the commissioner by postage—paid first class mail, personal delivery, or facsimile transmission

Subp 8 Hearing. The compensation judge shall use the contested case procedures contained in Minnesota Statutes, sections 14 57 to 14 62, in conducting the expedited hearing under Minnesota Statutes, section 176 181, subdivision 3

Statutory Authority: *MS s* 175 17, 175.171, 176.129, 176 138, 176.221, 176 225; 176 231, 176 238, 176 83, 176.84

History: 23 SR 1484

5220.2870 PENALTY OBJECTION AND HEARING.

A party to whom notice of assessment has been issued may object to the penalty assessment by filing a written objection with the division on the form prescribed by the commissioner. The objection must also be served on the employee if the penalty is payable to the employee The objection must be filed and served within 30 days after the date the notice of assessment was served on that party by the division. The written objection must contain a detailed statement explaining the legal or factual basis for the objection and including any documentation supporting the objection. Upon receipt of a timely objection, unresolved issues shall be referred for a hearing to determine the amount and conditions of any penalty Objections which are not served and filed within the 30–day objection period must be dismissed by a compensation judge.

Statutory Authority: *MS s 175 17, 175 171, 176 129, 176.138, 176 221; 176 225; 176 231, 176 238, 176 83, 176.84*

History: 23 SR 1484

Ŀ