## **MINNESOTA RULES 2008**

# CHAPTER 5200 DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY WAGES AND LABOR

 5200 0300
 PROCEDURE FOR ESTABLISHING PROGRAMS

 5200 0320
 MINNESOTA MINIMUM STANDARDS

 5200 0370
 EQUAL OPPORTUNITY FOR APPRENTICES

5200 0420 5200 0910

MAINTENANCE OF RECORDS PROHIBITED EMPLOYMENTS OF MINORS UNDER 18 YEARS OLD

#### 5200.0300 PROCEDURE FOR ESTABLISHING PROGRAMS.

The procedure for establishing an approved apprenticeship program is as follows The proposed program must be presented to the director of the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship by the program sponsor in duplicate and must include a detailed job process for the occupation including the training standards, amount of time to be spent in each individual category of training, percentage of journeyman's wage rate to be paid the apprentice, graduated schedule of wage increases, and the journeyman's wage rate for the proposed occupation.

Under a program proposed for registration by an employer or employers' association, and where the standards, collective bargaining agreement, or other instrument provides for participation by a union in any manner m the operation of the substantive matters of the apprenticeship program, and the participation is exercised, written acknowledgment of union agreement or no objection to the registration is required. Where no participation is evidenced and practiced, the employer or employers' association shall simultaneously furnish to the union, if any, which is the collective bargaining agent of the employees to be trained, a copy of its application for registration and of the apprenticeship program. The state agency shall provide a reasonable time of not less than 30 days nor more than 60 days for receipt of union comments, if any, before final action on the application for registration and/or approval. For purposes of this paragraph, "employer" means a person or organization is a party to an apprenticeship agreement with the apprentice.

If the program is approved by the director, a certificate of registration will be issued to the program sponsor Within 90 days of the certificate being issued, the program sponsor must submit to the director of the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship a copy of at least one apprenticeship agreement or the director may revoke the certificate of registration

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388

History: 33 SR 130

#### 5200.0320 MINNESOTA MINIMUM STANDARDS.

Subpart 1 **Definitions.** When used in parts 5200 0290 to 5200 0420 the terms defined in this subpart have the meanings given them

A "Employer" means the apprenticeship sponsor (Employer, apprenticeship committee, association of employers, or organization of employees.)

B "Approval agency" or "registration agency" means the apprenticeship board

[For text of items C to F, see M R]

[For text of subps 2 to 15, see M R ]

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388

History: 33 SR 130

## 5200.0370 EQUAL OPPORTUNITY FOR APPRENTICES.

Requirements of program sponsors under the Minnesota plan for equal employment opportunity in apprenticeship and Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 30 are as follows

Copyright © 2008 Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.

# **MINNESOTA RULES 2008**

## 5200.0370 WAGES AND LABOR

[For text of items A and B, see M R.]

C Requirements for program reciprocity under the Minnesota plan for equal employment opportunity in Apprenticeship and Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part 30, are as follows:

[For text of subitems (1) and (2), see M.R.]

(3) A presentation of a request for reciprocity must be made to the Minnesota apprenticeship board in writing for information purposes and for the board's advice on the request.

[For text of subitem (4), see M.R.]

Statutory Authority: MS s 14.388

History: 33 SR 130

#### 5200.0420 MAINTENANCE OF RECORDS.

Subpart 1 Advisory board's duty. Minnesota apprenticeship board business and records are kept by the Division of Voluntary Apprenticeship for the board.

[For text of subps 2 and 3, see MR]

Statutory Authority: MS s 14 388

History: 33 SR 130

#### 5200.0910 PROHIBITED EMPLOYMENTS OF MINORS UNDER 18 YEARS OLD.

No minor under the age of 18 shall be employed

[For text of items A to O, see M.R.]

P. In any rooms constituting the place in which intoxicating liquors or 3.2 percent malt liquors are served or consumed or in any tasks involving the serving, dispensing, or handling of such liquors that are consumed on the premises except that

(1) minors who have reached the age of 16 may be employed to perform busing, dishwashing, or hosting services in those rooms or areas of a restaurant, hotel, motel, or resort where the presence of intoxicating liquor is incidental to food service or preparation;

(2) minors who have reached the age of 16 may be employed to perform busing, dishwashing, or hosting services or to provide waiter or waitress service in rooms or areas where the presence of 3 2 percent malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation;

(3) minors who have reached the age of 16 may be employed to provide musical entertainment m those rooms or areas where the presence of intoxicating liquor and 3 2 percent malt liquor is incidental to food service or preparation, and

(4) minors are not prevented from working at tasks which are not prohibited by law m establishments where liquor is sold, served, dispensed, or handled in those rooms or areas where no liquor is consumed or served

[For text of items *Q* to *S*, see *M*.*R*] Statutory Authority: *MS* s 181A 09; *L* 2007 c 135 art 2 s 38 History: 32 SR 500

۰,

۰.