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CHAPTER 4850 
HIGHER EDUCATION COORDINATING BOARD 

SUPPLEMENTAL STUDENT LOANS
4850 0011 DEFINITIONS 4850 0014 AMOUNT AND TERMS
48500012 SCHOOL AGREEMENTS AND 48500017 REPAYMENT PROCEDURES

STUDENT APPLICATIONS

4850.0011 DEFINITIONS.
[For text ofsubps 1 to 9, see M R ]

Subp. 10 Cosigners. All borrowers from the student educational loan fund shall have a 
credit worthy cosigner who is either a United States citizen or a permanent resident The co­
signer is jointly and separately responsible for making loan payments (principal, interest, 
and other charges) The cosigner is relieved of this financial responsibility only in the event 
of death or permanent disability of the borrower A cosigner must 

A be at least 18 years old;
B. be a person or an eligible school,
C agree to the release of information to a consumer credit reporting agency, as de­

scribed in part 4850 0012, subpart 4, and
D permanently reside in the United States 

If the cosigner has no credit history, credit worthiness shall be determined by the execu­
tive director, by a review of banking references and a review of net worth data with a mini­
mum test requiring that net worth equal or exceed a sum ten times the size of each loan 
amount requested

[For text ofsubps 11 to 14, see M R ]
Subp 15 Eligible student. “Eligible student” means a student who-

A is enrolled in an eligible school in Minnesota, or is a Minnesota resident en­
rolled in an eligible school in another state, United States territory, or province as defined in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.15, subdivision 5;

[For text o f  items B and C, see M R ]
D is not currently in default, as defined by each specific program, of any student 

educational loan program (Stafford Loan, GSL, FISL, NDSL, Perkins, HPL, HEAL, ALAS/ 
SLS, or other similar federal, state, pnvate, or institutional student loan program) at the cur­
rent or any previous school,

[For text o f items E to I, see M.R ]
[For text ofsubps 16 to 25, see M R ]

Subp 26 Maximum effort. To have used “maximum effort” means that the student has 
applied for and exhausted all eligibility for other forms of financial aid (except work-study, 
PLUS/ALAS, unsubsidized Stafford, or other similar federal student loan, and HEAL) be­
fore applying for a SELF loan Financial aid administrators must mclude any financial aid 
that has been awarded or is expected to be awarded to the student for the loan period 

[For text ofsubps 27 and 28, see M R ]
Subp. 29 Transition period. “Transition penod” means a 12-month penod immedi­

ately following graduation or termination of enrollment for borrowers who have loans made 
from the bonds Borrowers with loans made from sources other than the bonds may extend 
the transition period an additional period not to exceed 24 months upon approval by the 
executive director During the transition period, borrowers are billed for interest only

[For text o f subp 30, see M R ]
Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 04, 136A 16 
History: 18 SR 1848

4850.0012 SCHOOL AGREEMENTS AND STUDENT APPLICATIONS.
[For text ofsubps 1 and 2, see M R ]
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Subp 3 Application, guarantee, and promissory note. The student shall follow the 
appropnate SELF application process used at the eligible school The student shall deliver or 
mail the application and promissory note to the cosigner who shall complete the cosigner’s 
portion of the application and promissory note and deliver or mail them to the executive di­
rector The executive director will check the application and promissory note for complete­
ness, determine the eligibility of the applicant, and conduct a credit check of the cosigner If 
the executive director approves the loan application, the document file shall be sent to the 
trustee (or agent) for approval The trustee (or agent) shall approve the application and for­
ward the document file to the servicer or shall reject the application and return the document 
file to the executive director The servicer shall enter the application on the servicing comput­
er system, prepare and mail a disclosure statement to the borrower and cosigner, advise the 
school of the loan approval, schedule disbursements, deduct and mail the guarantee fee from 
the loan proceeds to the insurer, and place the document file in permanent storage If the 
executive director rejects the loan application, the applicant and the cosigner must be advised 
in writing of the decision and the reasons for the rejection

[For text o f subp 4, see M R ]
Statutory Authority: MS s 136A.04, 136A 16 
History: 18 SR 1848 

4850.0014 AMOUNT AND TERMS.
Subpart 1 Loan amounts. The minimum loan amount from the student educational 

loan fund is $500
The annual and maximum loan amounts for

A an undergraduate student are those prescribed in this part, not to exceed the lim­
its specified in Minnesota Statutes, section 136A 1701, subdivisions 4 and 5 The loan must 
not exceed the annual borrowing maximums of $4,500 for grade levels one and two, and 
$6,000 for grade levels three, four, and five or the cost of attendance less all other financial 
aid (including PLUS loans or other similar federal parent loans borrowed on the student’s 
behalf); and the cumulative student loan debt (excluding PLUS loans or other similar federal 
parent loans borrowed on the student’s behalf) must not exceed the aggregate borrowing 
maximums by grade level indicated in this subpart The cumulative undergraduate borrow­
ing maximums are

(1) grade level 1, $ 4,500,
(2) grade level 2, $ 9,000,
(3) grade level 3, $15,000;
(4) g rade  level 4, $21 ,000 , and
(5) grade level 5, $25,000

B a graduate student are those prescribed m Minnesota Statutes, section 
136A 1701. The loan must not exceed the annual graduate student borrowing maximum of 
$9,000 for grade levels 6 through 9 or the cost of attendance less all other financial aid (in­
cluding PLUS loans borrowed on the student’s behalf), and the cumulative student loan debt 
of the graduate student (excluding PLUS loans borrowed on the student’s behalf) does not 
exceed $40,000 for both undergraduate and graduate educations combined

[For text o f subps 2 to 4, see M  R.]
Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 04; 136A 16 
History: 18 SR 1848 

4850.0017 REPAYMENT PROCEDURES.
Borrowers shall make payments of principal and interest according to the following 

schedule
[For text o f items A to G, see M.R ]

H Upon request, the executive director shall provide borrowers and cosigners 
with an annual statement of outstanding principal and interest paid dunng the previous calen­
dar year

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A 04, 136A 16 
History: 18 SR 1848
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