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4830.7000 SCOPE.

Parts 4830.7000 to 4830.7900 govern state assistance to institutions to
reduce the cost of child care for eligible students attending eligible postsecondary
institutions. -

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7100 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. The definitions in this part apply for the purposes of parts
4830.7000 to 4830.7900.

Subp. 2. Continuing enrollment. “Continuing enrollment” means that a stu-
dent has not had an interruption in enrollment at the institution in which the stu-
dent is currently enrolled for more than one academic term or 60 days of the
immediately preceding academic year, whichever is longer. A student may miss
one academic term and summer school and not lose continuing enrollment sta-
tus.

Subp. 3. Eligible employment. “Eligible employment” means the number of
hours of paid employment that the institution determines shall be covered with
child care assistance, not to exceed 20 hours of employment per week.

Subp. 4. Eligible hours of education. “Eligible hours of education” means:

A. hours spent in class;

B. up to a maximum of one hour a day for transportation between class,
home, and employment;

C. up to four hours a day between classes; and

D. additional eligible hours as determined by the institution.

Subp. 5. Eligible student. “Eligible student” means a student who:

A. has a child 12 years of age or younger, or 14 years of age or younger
who is handicapped as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 120.03, and who
is receiving or will receive care on a regular basis from a provider of child care
services as those terms are defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256H.01, sub-
divisions 2 and 12, after the grant is received;

B. is a resident of Minnesota as defined in part 4830.0400, subpart 2;

C. is not a recipient of aid to families with dependent children;

D. has not earned a baccalaureate degree and has been enrolled full time
in any postsecondary institution fewer than eight semesters, 12 quarters, or the
equivalent;

E. is pursuing a nonsectarian program or course of study that applies to
an undergraduate degree, diploma, or certificate;
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F. 1s enrolled at least half time in an eligible institution for the term for
which an award is received;

G. is in good academic standing and making satisfactory progress, as
defined by the institution according to federal requirements; and

H. reports any changes to data reported on the child care application
within ten days of the change.

Subp. 6. Nonsectarian program. “Nonsectarian program” means a program
of study that is not specifically designed to prepare students to become ministers
of religion, to enter some other religious vocation, or to prepare them to teach
theological subjects. A nonsectarian program may provide for the scholarly study
of religion as a discipline of knowledge in a manner similar to that provided for
any other field of study, but must not require 1ts students to take courses that are
based on a particular set of religious beliefs, to receive instruction mtended to
propagate or promote any religious beliefs, to participate in religious activities,
to maintain affiliation with a particular church or religious organization, or to
attest to any particular religious beliefs.

Subp. 7. Institution’s share. “Institution’s share” means the number of stu-
dents in an eligible institution who have applied for the state scholarship and
grant program under parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 for the most current aca-
demic year and who have reported dependent children.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7200 ELIGIBLE INSTITUTIONS.
Institutions eligible for child care grants are Minnesota public postsecondary
institutions and private, residential colleges or universities granting two-year or

four-year liberal arts degrees that have signed a child care program agreement
with the board.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7300 STUDENT PRIORITY.

Beginning July 1, 1990, a student who has received an award from the pro-
gram 1n the immediately preceding academic year and who has had continuing
enrollment at that institution must be given a child care award for the next aca-
demic year if the student remains eligible and funds are available. A student shall
apply for a continuation of funds by June 1 of the preceding academic year or
lose priority ranking for the funds over students who did not apply for a continua-
tion of funds by June 1 and eligible students applying for a child care grant for
the first time.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 1364.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7400 APPLICATION AND DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDS FOR
GRANTS.
Subpart 1. Initial allocation formula. Funds shall be allocated to each eligible
institution according to the following formula:
A. the institution’s share divided by the sum of participating institu-
tions’ shares; and
B. multiplied by the current fiscal year’s appropriation for child care
grants.
Subp. 2. Yearly allocation to institutions. After the 1989-1990 academic year,
funlds shall be allocated to each eligible institutton according to the following for-
mula:
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A. the institution’s share divided by the sum of participating institu-
tions’ shares;

B. multiplied by the current ﬁscal year’s appropriation for ch11d care
grants; and

C. multiplied by the percent of funds for child care grants actually used
by the institution during the prior academic year.

Subp. 3. Reallocation. The board shall reallocate available funds at least
twice during the academic year to institutions requesting additional child care
funds according to the following formula:

*.A. the institution’s share divided by the sum of the shares of institutions
requesting additional funds; and

B. multiplied by the amount of child care funds available for realloca-
tion.

Subp. 4. Administrative expense. By July 1 of each year, the board shall set
the percentage of awarded child care grant funds that may be used for administra-
tion of the child care program by the board and the institution.

Subp. 5. Notification. The board shall notify each participating 1nst1tut10n
in writing of allocation and reallocation amounts.

Subp. 6. Accountability. Each participating institution shall be accountable
for any funds disbursed to students for child care grants. Funds may be used only
during the fiscal year of disbursement. If a student does not use a grant because
the student does not enroll or withdraws from the institution, the institution may
use the funds for other eligible students or return them to the board.

Subp. 7. Unused funds. An institution shall return funds that the institution
determines will not be used within 30 days from the date of a request by the
board. The board shall reallocate unused funds to other participating 1nst1tut10ns
requesting additional funds.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7500 AMOUNT AND TERM OF GRANTS.

Subpart 1. Financial need. An institution shall award a grant to each eligible
student to the extent allocated funds are available. The family income and family
size used shall be that used to determine eligibility for the state scholarship and
grant program under parts 4830.0200 to 4830.0700 and must be within the
income ranges established by Minnesota Statutes, section 256H.10, subdivision
2. Each student shall report any changes in income within ten days to the institu-
tion.

Subp. 2. Amount. The amount of a grant must cover:

A. the cost of child care for all children 12 years old or younger, or 14
years old or younger if the child is handicapped as defined in Minnesota Statutes,
section 120.03;

B. the total number of eligible hours for which child care is needed; and

C. the provider’s charge up to a maximum rate established each year by
the board based on rate information received from the Department of Human
Services in each county where services are being provided.

The institution shall determine the amount of child care needed for the eligi-
ble hours of education as defined in part 4830.7100, subpart 4, and the number
of eligible hours of employment as defined in part 4830.7100, subpart 3, for each
academic term and then subtract the amount of student copayment for each
month of child care according to charts provided by the board.

The amount of the grant must not exceed 60 hours per child per week and
must not cover hours during which a parent or legal guardian is capable and avail-
able to care for the children.
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If, after an award is made, a student presents information to the institution
that would increase the student’s child care award the award must be increased
if program funds are available.

Subp. 3. Insufficient funds. An institution shall make awards that cover all
eligible hours as defined in part 4830.7100, subparts 3 and 4. An institution may
use one of the following methods to award the next student on the institution’s
waiting list if funds are insufficient to award all students eligible for the child care
grants:

A. an institution may delay the beginning of an award but once an award
is made, the award must continue throughout the year unless a student becomes
mehglble

B. an institution may award a student a full child care grant but notify
the student that all awards are contingent on the availability of funds and that
the student might not receive the full award; as refunds or reallocations make
funds available, no new student may receive an award until outstanding awards
are assured full disbursement; or

C. an institution may supplement child care money with institutional
money in order to make a full disbursement to a student.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7600 PAYMENT.

Child care payments shall be made each academic term to the student or to
the child care provider, as determined by the institution.

Statutory Authority: MS s 136A4.04; 1364.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7700 TERMINATION OF CHILD CARE AWARD.

A child care award shall be terminated if the student ceases to meet the eligi-
bility requirements in part 4830.7100, subpart 5. Before termination of the award
occurs, the institution must allow the student to meet with the financial aid offi-
cer at the institution to discuss the termination, and documentation as to why
the termination should not occur.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 1364.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7710 PROCEDURES FOR DENIAL OR TERMINATION OF A CHILD
CARE AWARD.

Subpart 1. Applicability. Students meeting the eligibility requirements in
part 4830.7100, subpart 5, but denied a child care grant award due to an institu-
tion’s lack of program funds shall be placed on the institution’s waiting list pend-
ing the availability of program funds. Subpart 2 and part 4830.7720 are not
applicable to students who are denied child care grant awards due to lack of pro-
gram funds.

Subp. 2. Procedures. A school must follow the procedures in items A to D
when denying or terminating a child care grant award, except in cases where the
denial is due to lack of program funds.

A. The school shall notify a student, in writing, of denial or termination
of a child care grant award. The notice must state the reason or reasons the assis-
tance is being denied or terminated. The notice shall inform the student of the
right to contest the adverse action and the procedure for doing so. Except for
cases of suspected fraud when a child care grant is terminated, the notice must
be mailed to the student’s last known address, or hand delivered to the recipient
at least 14 calendar days before terminating assistance. In cases of suspected
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fraud, the termination notice must be mailed or hand delivered at least five work-
ing days before the effective date of the termination.

B. Failure of a child care grant recipient to provide required information
or documentation, to report changes required under part 4830.7100, subpart 5,
or to pay the family copayment fee or the provider charge if the state share of the
subsidy is paid directly to the family, is just cause for terminating assistance.

C. Child care assistance payments shall be terminated pending the resuit
of the appeal process in part 4830.7720. If the appeal results in the continuation
of child care payments to the student, payments covering the period from termi-
nation to the appeal decision to continue child care payments shall be made retro-
actively to the extent allocated funds are available.

D. If the child care grant award is made by vendor payment, the school
shall inform the child care provider of the notice of termination pending the
results of the appeal process.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 1364.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7720 APPEAL PROCESS.

Subpart 1. Appeal request. An applicant or recipient of a child care subsidy
adversely affected by a school’s action may file a written request for an appeal.

Subp. 2. Informal conference. The school shall offer an informal conference
to students adversely affected by the school’s decision in an attempt to resolve
. the dispute. The school shall advise such students that a request for a conference
with the school is optional and does not delay or replace the right to an appeal
under subpart 1.

Subp. 3. Appeal process. Students must follow the normal appeal process
established by the school to handle complaints about financial aid program deci-
sions. The school’s appeal process must be completed within two weeks of the
student’s filing a written request for an appeal with the school. If the student is
not satisfied with the result of the appeal, the student may ask the school to for-
ward the results to the executive director of the Minnesota Higher Education
Coordinating Board for review. The school must forward the results of the appeal
and documentation provided by the student at the appeal to the executive direc-
tor within two weeks of the school’s appeal decision. The executive director shall
review the decision and accompanying documentation, and shall make a decision
according to Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.125, and parts 4830.7000 to
4830.7900. The student and school shall be advised in writing of the executive
director’s decision. The executive director’s decision is final.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789

4830.7800 REFUNDS..

If a recipient reduces enrollment, the institution must refund the unused por-
tion of the award. Refunds are determined as follows:

A. the percentage the child care award represents of the student’s total
financial aid package for the applicable term; and

B. multiplied by the amount determined to be refunded to the student
under the institution’s refund policy. The result yields the amount to be refunded
to the program fund. Refunded awards are available for reassignment to other
qualified applicants.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 136A4.125
History: 14 SR 2789
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4830.7900 REPORTS OF DATA.

Institutions must:

A. collect demographic, educational, and financial data specified by the
board from eligible students requesting child care grants;

B. provide the board with individual student data upon request;

C. report information about students who receive awards, students who
are on the waiting list, and students who were denied awards, including the insti-
tution’s methods of prioritizing applicants if insufficient funds are available; and

D. submit fiscal year program activity reports and student data reports
to the board.

Fiscal year program activity reports and student data reports are required
by the board. Institutions shall correctly complete and submit all required reports
and any applicable refunds to the board by the first working day after August 9.
The board shall withhold an institution’s subsequent year’s allocation if the dead-
line date is not met.

Statutory Authority: MS s 1364.04; 1364.125
History: 14 SR 2789
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