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CHAPTER 4745
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER REGISTRATION
4745.0010  DEFINITIONS. . . 4745.0045  CONTINUING EDUCATION
4745.0020 PROTECTED TITLES AND REQUIREMENTS.

RESTRICTIONS ON USE. 4745.0050  FEES.
4745.0025  REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS. 4745.0055  INVESTIGATION PROCESS AND
4745.0030 TEMPORARY REGISTRATION GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY

REQUIREMENTS. . ACTION.
47450035  REGISTRATION PROCEDURES. 47450060  HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER
47450040  REGISTRATION RENEWAL. ) ADVISORY COUNCIL.

4745.0010 DEFINITIONS.

Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060, the following terms
have the meanings given them. ’

Subp. 2. Active practice. “Active practice” means engaged in hearing instrument sel-
ling and activities directly related to hearing instrument selling for aminimum of 750 hours a
year for three of the last five years.

Subp. 3. Advisory council. “Advisory council” means the Minnesota Hearing Instru-
ment Dispenser Advisory Council established under anesota Statutes section 214.13,
subdivision 4.

Subp. 4. ANSL “ANSI” means ANSI S$3.6—-1989, American National Standard Specifi-
cation for Audiometers from the American National Standards Institute. This document is
incorporated by reference and is not subject to frequent change This document is available
through the Minitex interlibrary loan system.

Subp. 5. Applicant. “Applicant” means a person who applies to the commissioner for
registration or registration renewal.

Subp. 6. Approved continuing education sponsor. “Approved continuing educat.on
sponsor” means an organization that offers a learning experience designed to promote con-
tinuing competency in the procedures and techniques of hearing instrument selling as de-
fined in subpart 13 and that meets the criteria in part 4745.0045, subpart 3.

Subp. 7. Commissioner. “Commissioner” means the commissioner of the Departmeznt
of Health or a designee.

Subp. 8. Contact hour. “Contact hour” means an instructional session of 50 consecu-
tive minutes, excluding coffee breaks, registration, meals with or without a speaker, and 50-
cial activities.

Subp. 9. Credential. “Credential” means a license, permit, certification, registration. or
other evidence of qualification or authorization to engage in hearing instrument selling is-
sued by any authority.

Subp 10. Hearing instrument. “Hearing instrument” is as defined in Minnesota Stat-
utes, section [53A.13, subdivision 3.

Subp. 11. Hearing instrument dispenser. “Hearmg instrument dispenser” means a
hearing instrument seller as defined in subpart 12, who meets the qualifications required by
parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060, and registers with the commissioner. As used in parts
4745.0010 to 4745.0060, the term hearing instrument dispenser also refers to a natural per-
scn using the title consultant, dispenser, or spectallst in conjunction with either hearing
instrument or hearing aid.

Subp. 12. Hearlng instrument seller. “Hearing instrument seller’” means a natural per-
scn who engages in hearing instrument selling as defined in subpart 13, but who is not regis-
tered under parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060.

Subp. 13. Hearing instrument selling. *‘Hearing instrument selling™ is as defined in
Minr~sota Statutes, section 153A.13, subdivision 4.

Subp. 14. Hearing instrument user. “‘Hearing instrument user” means ! person who
wears or uses a hearing instrument as defined in subpart 10 to aid defective hearing.

Subp. 15. Individual. “Individual” means any person over whom the commissioner has
jurisdiction under parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060. Individual includes an applicant. a regis-
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trant, or a person who uses any title protected by part 4745.0020, whether or not authorized to
do so by parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060.

Subp. 16. Register or registered. “Register” or “registered” means the act or status of a
natural person meeting the requ1rements of parts 4745.0010 to 4745. 0060 and authorized by
the commissioner to use the titles in part 4745.0020.

Subp. 17. Registrant. “Registrant” means a person who meets the requirements of parts
4745.0010 to 4745.0060 and is authorized by the commissioner to use the titles in part
4745.0020. _

Subp. 18. Registration. “Registration” is the system of regulation defined in Minneso-

ta Statutes, section 214.001, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), and is the process specified in parts
4745.0010 to 4745.0060.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2/4.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0020 PROTECTED TITLES AND RESTRICTIONS ON USE.
Subpart 1. Protected titles.

A. Use of any of the following titles by any person is prohibited unless that person

is registered under parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060.
(1) Hearing Instrument Dispenser;
(2) Hearing Instrument Specialist;
(3) Hearing Instrument Consultant;
(4) Hearing Instrument Dealer;
(5) Hearing Aid Dispenser;
(6) Hearing Aid Specialist;
(7) Hearing Aid Consultant; and
(8) Hearing Aid Dealer.

B. The term “Minnesota Registered” may be used in conjunction with any of the
titles listed in item A, by any person registered under parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060. Howev-
er, use of the term “Minnesota Registered” shall not be allowed until the registrant has been
registered by examination under part 4745.0025, subpart 2 or registered by reciprocity under
part 4745.0025, subpart 3.

Subp. 2. Restrictions on use of protected titles. Notwithstanding subpart [, item A, no
person will be prevented or restricted from using an official employment title if employed by
the federal government; however, use of the official title, under those circumstances, is al-
lowed only in connection with performance of official duties for the federal government.

Statutory Authority: MS s 214.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0025 REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. General requirements. An applicant must:
" A. be 18 years of age or older;
B. submit an application as required in part 4745.0035, subpart 1;

C. submit certification to the commissioner that the applicant’s audiometric equip-
ment has been calibrated to meet current ANSI standards within 12 months of the date of the
application; and

D. submit all fees required under part 4745.0050.

Subp. 2. Registration by examination. Except as provided in part 4745.0030, an appli-
cant must achieve a passing score, as determined by the commissioner, on an examination
according to items A to C.

A. The examination must include but not be limited to:

(1) A written examination approved by the commissioner covering the fol-
lowing areas as they pertain to hearing instrument selling:

(a) basic physics of sound,
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(b) the anatomy and physiology of the ear;

(c) the function of hearing instruments; and

(d) laws, rules, and regulations of Minnesota and the federal govern-
ment.

(2) Practical tests of proficiency in the following techniques as they pertain to
hearing instrument selling:

(a) pure tone audiometry, including air conduction testing and bone con-
duction testing;

(b) live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry including speech re-
ception threshold testing, speech discrimination testing, most comfortable loudness level,
and uncomfortable loudness measurements of tolerance thresholds;

(c) masking when indicated;

(d) recording and evaluation of audiograms and speech audiometry to
determine proper selection and adaption of a hearing instrument;

(e) taking ear mold impressions: and

(f) using an otoscope for the visual observation of the entire ear canal.

B. The examination shall be administered by the commissioner at least twice a
year. '

C. Applicants must submit the application and examination fee required under part
4745.0050, subpart 4, to the commissioner at least 60 days before the date set for the ex-
amination.

Subp. 3. Registration by reciprocity. An applicant may be registered as a hearing
instrument dispenser by reciprocity, according to items A and B.

A. Whenever the commissioner determines that an applicant holds a current and
unrestricted credential for hearing instrument selling in another jurisdiction that has require-
ments equivalent to or higher than those in effect for determining whether applicants in this
state are qualified to be registered as hearing instrument dispensers, the commissioner may
register the applicant without the applicant meeting the requirements of subpart 2, provided
that the applicant otherwise meets all other requirements of parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060.

B. An applicant for registration by reciprocity under item A, must have the ap-
propriate government body in each jurisdiction in which the applicant holds a credential sub-
mit letters of verification to the commissioner. Each letter must state the applicant’s name,
social security number, date of birth, credential number, date of issuance, a statement regard-
ing disciplinary actions, if any, taken against the applicant, and whether the credential was
issued by examination.

Subp. 4. Registration following lapse of registered status of two years or less. lFor
any applicant whose registered status has lapsed for two years or less, the applicant must:

A. apply for registration renewal according to part 4745.0040, subparts 1 and 2 and
document compliance with the continuing education requirements of part 4745.0045 since
the applicant’s registration lapsed; or

B. fulfill the requirements of subpart 3.

Subp. 5. Registration following lapse of registered status of more than two years.
For any applicant whose registered status has lapsed for more than two years, the applicant
must:

A. fulfill the requirements for registration in subparts 1 and 2; or

B. fulfill the requirements of subpart 3.

Statutory Authority: MS s 214.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0030 TEMPORARY REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Temporary registration requirements. An applicant for registration need
not comply with the requirements of part 4745.0025, subpart 2, item A, for two years after
April 30, 1990, if, at the time of application, the applicant provides the commissioner with
evidence that the applicant has engaged in active practice.
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Subp. 2. Examination requirement. After the time for temporary registration has ex-
pired, all applicants must meet the requirements of part 4745.0025, subparts 2 or 3.

Subp. 3. Netification of applicants. The commissioner shall notify applicants for reg-
istration of the effective date of parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060 and the date on which registra-
tion by examination is required.

Statutory Authority: MS s 214.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0035 REGISTRATION PROCEDURES.
Subpart 1. Applications for registration. All applicants for registration must:

A. submit a completed application for registration on forms provided by the com-
missioner. The application must include the applicant’s name, permit number under chapter
4692, social security number, business address and phone number, or home address and
phone number if the applicant conducts hearing instrument selling out of the home, and a
description of the applicant’s education, training, and experience, including previous work
history. The commissioner may ask the applicant to provide additional information neces-
sary to clarify information submitted in the application;

B. sign a statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the
best of the applicant’s knowledge and belief;

C. submit with the application all fees required by part 4745.0050;

D. sign a waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant’s
records in this state or any other state in which the applicant has engaged in hearing instru-
ment selling;

E. provide evidence of a passing score as determined by the commissioner on an
approved examination as described in part 4745.0025; and

F. provide certification to the commissioner that the applicant’s audiometric
equipment has been calibrated to meet current ANSI standards within 12 months of the date
of the application.

Subp. 2. Action on applications for registration. The commissioner shall act on an
application for registration according to items A to C. .

A. The commissioner shall determine if the applicant meets the requirements for
registration. The commissioner or advisory council may investigate information provided by
an applicant to determine whether the information is accurate and complete.

B. The commissioner, within 60 days of receiving an application for registration,
shall notify each applicant of action taken on the application and of the grounds for denying
registration if registration is denied.

C. Applicants denied registration may make a written request to the commissioner,
within 30 days of the commissioner’s determination, to appear before the advisory council
and for the advisory council to review the commissioner’s decision to deny the applicant’s
registration. After reviewing the denial, the advisory council shall make a recommendation
to the commissioner as to whether the denial shall be affirmed. Each applicant is allowed no
more than one request for a review of denial of reglstratnon in any one registration renewal
period.

Statutory Authority: MS s 214.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0040 REGISTRATION RENEWAL.
Subpart 1. Renewal requirements. To renew registration, an applicant must:

A. annually complete a renewal application on a form provided by the commis-
sioner and submit the annual renewal fee;

B. meet the continuing education requirements of part 4745.0045; and

C. submit certification to the commissioner that the applicant’s audiometric equip-
ment has been calibrated to meet current ANSI standards within 12 months of the date of the
application.
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Subp. 2. Other requirements.

A. An applicant must submit additional information if requested by the comrnis-
sioner to clarify information presented in the renewal application. The information must be
submitted within 30 days of the commissioner’s request.

B. An application submitted after the renewal deadline date must be accompanied
by a late fee as required in part 4745.0050, subpart 3. ’

Subp. 3. Registration renewal notice. Registration renewal is on an annual basis. At
least 30 days before the registration renewal date in subpart 4, the commissioner shall send
outarenewal notice to the registrant’s last known address. The notice shall include a renewal
application and notice of fees required for renewal. If the registrant does not receive the re-
newal notice, the registrant is still required to meet the deadline for renewal to qualify for
continuous registered status.

Subp. 4. Renewal deadline. The renewal application and fee must be postmarked on or
before the date registration must be renewed according to items A to E. Registration must be
renewed according to the following schedule:

A. for registrants whose last name begins with the letters A to E, February 1

B. for registrants whose last name begins with the letters F to L, April I;

C. for registrants whose last name begins with the letters M to P, June ;

D. for registrants whose last name begins with the letters Q to U, August 1; and

E. for registrants whose last name begins with the letters V to Z, October |.

Statutory Authority: MS s 2/4.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0045 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS.

Subpart 1. Number of contact hours required.

A. An applicant for registration renewal must provide evidence to the comrais-
sioner of a minimum of 20 contact hours of continuing education as provided by subitems (1)
and (2) offered by an approved continuing education sponsor within the two years immedi-
ately preceding registration renewal,

(1) A minimum of 14 contact hours of continuing education must be directly
related to hearing instrument selling.

(2) Six contact hours of continuing education may be in areas generally re-
lated to hearing instrument selling.

B. Contact hours cannot be accumulated in advance and transferred to a future
continuing education period.

Subp. 2. Preapproved continuing education sponsors. The commissioner will accept
continuing education approved or sponsored by the Minnesota Department of Heatlth, the
Minnesota Hearing Aid Society, the National Hearing Aid Society, the National Institute of
Hearing Instrument Studies, the Minnesota Speech—Language—Hearing Association, the
American Speech-Language—Hearing Association, the Academy of Dispensing Audiolo-
gists, the American Academy of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery, or the Minnesota
Academy of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery.

Subp. 3. Approval of continuing education sponsors. All continuing education spon-
sors, unless preapproved under subpart 2, must be approved by the commissioner according
to items A to E.

A. Applications for approval must be submitted to the commissioner at least 60
days before the date of the first continuing education activity. Applications must be made in
writing by the person or officer of the organization sponsoring the program. To obtain ap-
proval, continuing education sponsors must submit the following information on an applica-
tion provided by the commissioner:

(1) The continuing education sponsor must describe the content of all courses
to be offered. The course content must contribute directly to the professional competency of
the hearing instrument dispenser, must be related to the use of hearing instruments for aicling
or compensating the hearing impaired, and must include subject matter related to current de-
velopments in hearing instrument selling.
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(2) The continuing education sponsor must describe the method of instruc-
tion for each course offered. The continuing education sponsor must describe for each course
offered the teaching methods to be used, such as, lecture, seminar, audiovisual, or simulation.

(3) The continuing education sponsor must outline specific, written objec-
tives that describe expected outcomes for the participants. .

(4) The continuing education sponsor must state the number of contact hours
of continuing education which may be obtained by completing a specified course, which
must be a minimum of one hour.

(5) The continuing education sponsor must provide a resume of each instruc-
tor’s qualifications with the application for approval by the commissioner. Instructors must
be qualified to teach the specified course content based on their prior education, training, or
experience.

B. Sponsors of sales training courses and new product seminars offered for contin-
uing education purposes are subject to approval as continuing education sponsors by the
commissioner.

C. The continuing education sponsor must report to the commissioner, on a timely
basis, any change in the course content or instructor.

D. Continuing education sponsors must maintain, for a minimum of three years, a
record of attendance for each course offered.

E. The commissioner may withdraw the approval of any continuing education
sponsor for failure to comply with this part.

Subp. 4. Earning continuing education contact hours through contact hour equiv-
alents. A registrant who teaches continuing education courses may obtain contact hour
equivalents according to items A to C.

A. The sponsor of the course must be approved by the commissioner.

B. A registrant may not obtain more than four contact hours in any two—year con-
tinuing education period by teaching continuing education courses.

C. Aregistrant may obtain two contact hours for each hour spent teaching a course
if the course is sponsored by an approved continuing education sponsor. Contact hours may
be claimed only once for teaching the same course in any two—year continuing education pe-
riod.

Subp. 5. Evidence of attendance. Each registrant is responsible for maintaining re-
cords of attending the continuing education contact hours required for registration renewal.
Applicants for registration renewal must submit the following information on a form pro-
vided by the commissioner: the sponsoring organization, dates of the course, course name,
contact hours completed, and name and signature of the registrant. The form must be sub-
mitted with the renewal application.

Subp. 6. Verification of continuing education reports. The commissioner may re-
quest a registrant to verify the continuing education to which the registrant attested. Docu-
mentation may come directly from the registrant or from a national accrediting or certifying
organization that maintains the records.

Statutory Authority: MS s 214.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0050 FEES.

Subpart 1. First time registrants and appllcants for registration renewal. The com-
missioner shall prorate the registration fee for first time registrants and applicants for regis-
tration renewal according to the number of months that have elapsed between the date regis-
tration is issued and the date registration must be renewed according to part 4745.0040, sub-
part 4.

Subp. 2. Annual registration fee. The fee for initial registration and annual registration
renewal is $93.

Subp. 3. Penalty fee for late renewals. The penalty fee for late submission of a renewal
application is $15.

Subp. 4. Examination fee. The fee for taking the written and practical examination re-
quired by part 4745.0025 is $50.
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Subp. 5. Surcharge. In addition to the other applicable fees, each applicant must pay a
surcharge fee of $35. The surcharge fee applies to all registrants during the first five years
following April 30, 1990.

Subp. 6. Nonrefundable fees. All fees are nonrefundable.
Statutory Authority: MS s2/4.13
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0055 INVESTIGATION PROCESS AND GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINARY
ACTION.

Subpart 1. Investigations of complaints. The commissioner or advisory council may
initiate an investigation upon receiving a complaint or other oral or written communicarion
that alleges or implies that an individual has violated parts 4745.0010 to0 4745.0060. The in-
vestigation may proceed on an oral complaint but disciplinary action may only proceed on a
signed complaint. According to Minnesota Statutes, section 214.13, subdivision 6, in the: re-
ceipt, investigation, and hearing of a complaint that alleges or implies an individual has vio-
lated parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060, the commissioner shall follow the procedures in Mirine-
sota Statutes, section 214.10.

Subp. 2. Rights of applicants and registrants. The rights of applicants denied registra-
tion are stated in part 4745.0035, subpart 2, item C. Registrants shall not be subjected to dis-
ciplinary action under this part without first having an opportunity for a contested case hear-
ing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14.

Subp. 3. Grounds for disciplinary action by the commissioner. The commissioner
may take any of the disciplinary actions listed in subpart 4 upon proof that the individual has:

A.intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner or
the advisory council;

B. failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by
the commissioner or advisory council;

C. performed services of a hearing instrument dispenser in an incompetent or neg-
ligent manner;

D. violated parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060;

E. failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the
use of alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment;

F. been convicted within the last five years of violating any laws of the United
States, or any state or territory of the United States, and the violation is a felony or misde-
meanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or which relates to hearing instrument
selling, except as provided in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 364;

G. aided or abetted another person in violating any of the provisions of parts
4745.0010 to 4745.0060;

H. been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the
discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those in parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060;

1. not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory council in an investigarion
conducted according to subpart I;

J. engaged in any of the acts prohibited by Minnesota Statutes, section 153A.15,
subdivision 1; or

K. had the permit required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 153A, denied, sus-
pended, or revoked according to chapter 4692.

Subp. 4. Disciplinary actions. If the commissioner finds that an individual should be
disciplined according to subpart 3, the commissioner may take any one or more of the follow-
ing actions:

A. refuse to grant or renew registration;
B. suspend registration for a period not exceeding one year;
C. revoke registration for a period not exceeding three years; or

D. take any reasonable lesser action against an individual upon proof that the indi-
vidual has violated parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060.
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Subp. 5. Consequences of disciplinary action, Upon the suspension or revocation of
registration, the hearing instrument seller shall cease to use titles protected by parts
4745.0010t04745.0060 and shall cease to represent to the public that the hearing instrument
seller is registered by the commissioner.

Subp. 6. Reinstatement requirements after disciplinary action. A hearing instru-
ment seller who has had registration suspended or revoked may apply for reinstatement or
registration renewal following the period of suspension or revocation specified by the com-
missioner. All requirements of part 4745.0040 for renewing registration must be met before
registration may be reinstated or renewed.

Statutory Authority: MSs2/4.13 -
History: /4 SR 2493

4745.0060 HEARING INSTRUMENT DISPENSER ADVISORY COUNCIL.

Subpart 1. Membership. The commissioner shall appoint seven persons to a hearing
instrument dispenser advisory council.

A. The seven persons must include:

(1) two public members, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 214.02.
One of the public members shall be a hearing instrument user and one of the public members
shall be either a hearing instrument user or an advocate of such a person; and

(2) three hearing instrument dispensers registered under parts 4745.0010 to
4745.0060, each of whom is currently and has been for the five years immediately preceding
their appointment engaged in hearing instrument selling in Minnesota; all three must be reg-
istered hearing instrument dispensers who are not audiologists; and

(3) one audiologist who is a hearing instrument seller and registered as an au-
diologist under Minnesota Rules, or if no such rules are in effect, an audiologist who holds a
current certificate of clinical competence in audiology from the American Speech~Lan-
guage—Hearing Association; and

(4) one of the following:

(a) a licensed physician specializing in treatment of diseases of the ear,
who is board eligible or board certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology but is not
also a seller of hearing instruments and has no financial interest in the business of hearing
instrument selling; or

(b) an audiologist who is registered as an audiologist under Minnesota
Rules, or if no such rules are in effect, an audiologist who holds a current certificate of clini-
cal competence in audiology from the American Speech-Language~Hearing Association.
B. No two members of the advisory council shall be employees of, or have binding
contracts requiring sales exclusively for, the same hearing instrument manufacturer or the
same employer. .
Subp. 2. Organization. The advisory council shall be organized and administered ac-
cording to Minnesota Statutes, section 15.059.
Subp. 3. Duties. The advisory council shall:
A. advise the commissioner regarding hearing instrument dispenser registration
standards;
B. advise the commissioner on enforcement of parts 4745.0010 to 4745.0060;
C. provide for distribution of information regarding hearing instrument dispenser
registration standards;
D. review applications and make recommendations to the commissioner on grant-
ing or denying registration or registration renewal;

E. review reports of investigations relating to individuals and make recommenda-
tions to the commissioner as to whether registration should be denied or disciplinary action
taken against the individual;

F. advise the commissioner regarding approval of continuing education sponsors
using the criteria in part 4745.0045, subpart 3; and
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G. perform other duties authorized for advisory councils by Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 214, or as directed by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: MS s214.13
History: /4 SR 2493
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