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CHAPTER 2872
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES

28720100 CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES.

2872.0100 CURRENCY EXCHANGE FEES.

Subpart 1. Presumption. It shall be presumed that fees and amendments of fees
filed with the commissioner of commerce under Minnesota Statutes, section 53A.07,
are fair and reasonable if they do not exceed the following amounts:

A. for cashing checks issued by a government entity in an amount up to $500,
the greater of (1) 2-1/2 percent of the face amount of the instrument, or (2) $1, except
that it is permissible to charge a first-time customer up to five percent of the face
amount of the instrument; and

B. for cashing all other government checks and for cashing payroll checks, the
greater of (1) three percent of the face amount of the instrument, or (2) $1, except that
it is permissible to charge a first-time customer up to six percent of the face amount of
the instrument.

Subp. 2. Disapproval. Fees and amendments of fees filed with the commissioner
under Minnesota Statutes, section 53A.07, that exceed the maximum amounts in
subpart 1 may be disapproved by the commissioner as not fair and reasonable based on
a consideration of the standards in Minnesota Statutes, section 53A.07, subdivision 3.

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 534.12

History: 15 SR 1924
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