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2808.0100 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purposes of this chapter, the terms defined in this part have the 

meanings given them. 
Subp. 2. Applicant. "Applicant" means an individual who has applied to the commis­

sioner of commerce pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82B, for a license as a real estate 
appraiser. 

Subp. 3. Appraisal foundation or foundation. "Appraisal foundation" or "founda­
tion" means the appraisal foundation established on November 30,1987, as a nonprofit cor­
poration under the laws of Illinois. 

Subp. 4. Appraisal standards board. "Appraisal standards board" means the indepen­
dent board of the appraisal foundation responsible for promulgation of minimum appraisal 
standards for federally related transactions. 

Subp. 5. Appraiser qualifications board. "Appraiser qualifications board" means the 
independent board of the appraiser foundation responsible for promulgation of qualification 
criteria for licensure of real estate appraisers authorized to conduct appraisals on federally 
related transactions, and for issuing or endorsing a uniform state real estate appraiser qualifi­
cation examination. 

Subp. 6. Certified residential real property appraiser. "Certified residential real 
property appraiser" means an individual licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 82B. 11, 
to perform appraisals on one- to four-family residential units or agricultural property re­
gardless of transaction value or complexity. 

Subp. 7. Certified general real property appraiser. "Certified general real property 
appraiser" means an individual licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.11, to per­
form appraisals on all types of real property. 

Subp. 8. Classroom hour. "Classroom hour" means 60 minutes out of each 60-minute 
segment. 
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623 REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 2808.1000 

Subp. 9. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce. 
Subp. 10. Coordinator. "Coordinator" means an individual who is responsible for 

monitoring real estate appraisal education offerings. 
Subp. 11. Federal appraisal subcommittee. "Federal appraisal subcommittee" means 

the appraisal subcommittee of the Federal Financiallnstitutions Examinations Council as set 
forth under United States Code, title 12, sections 3301 et. seq. 

Subp. 12. Federal financial institutions regulatory agency."Federal financial institu­
tions regulatory agency" means the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, the 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the 
Office of Thrift Supervision, or the National Credit Union Administration. 

Subp. 13. Licensed real property appraiser. "Licensed real property appraiser" 
means an individual licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 82B. 11, to perform apprais­
als on noncomplex one- to four-family residential units or agricultural property having a 
transactional value of less than $1,000,000 and complex one- to four-family residential 
units or agricultural property having a transactional value of less than $250,000. 

Subp. 14. Federally related transaction. "Federally related transaction" means any 
real estate-related financial transaction that a federal financial institutions regulatory agency 
or the federal Resolution Trust Corporation engages in, contracts for, or regulates; and that 
requires the services of a licensed or certified real estate appraiser. 

Subp. 15. Foundation appraisal organization. "Foundation appraisal organization" 
means a member private appraisal trade organization of the appraisal foundation including, 
but not limited to, the following: American Institute of Real Estate Appraisers, American 
Society of Appraisers, American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers, Interna­
tional Association of Assessing Officers, International Right of Way Association, National 
Association of Independent Fee Appraisers, National Society of Real Estate Appraisers, or 
Society of Real Estate Appraisers. 

Subp. 16. Instructor. "Instructor" means an individual lecturing in a real estate apprais­
al education offering. 

Subp. 17. Person. "Person" means a natural person, firm, institution, partnership, cor­
poration, or association. 

. Subp. 18. Real estate appraiser or real property appraiser.'Real estate appraiser" or 
"real property appraiser" means a person who develops and communicates appraisals on real 
property and holds a current, valid license issued under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82B. 

Subp. 19. Real estate-related financial transaction. "Real estate-related financial 
transaction" means any transaction involving the sale, lease, purchase, investment in, or ex­
change of real property, including interests in property, or the financing thereof; the refinanc­
ing of real property or interests in real property; and the use of real property or interests in 
property as security for a loan or investments, including mortgage-backed securities. 

Subp. 20. Sponsor. "Sponsor" means a person offering or providing real estate apprais­
al education. 

Subp. 21. Registered real property appraiser. "Registered real property appraiser" 
means an individual licensed under Minnesota Statutes, section 82B. 11, to perform apprais­
als on residential real property or agricultural acreage which does not require a net income 
capitalization analysis under the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.J9 
History: 17 SR 1790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 

LICENSING 

2808.1000 PAYMENT OF FEES. 
Subpart 1. Cash not accepted. All fees shall be paid by check, draft, or other negotiable 

or nonnegotiable instrument or order of withdrawal that is drawn against funds held by a fi­
nancial institution. Cash will not be accepted. 

Subp. 2. Overpayment of fees. An overpayment of a fee paid pursuant to Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 82B, shall be refunded within a reasonable time after a letter requesting the 
refund is received by the commissioner and signed by the person making the overpayment. 
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2808.1000 REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 624 

Refunds shall not be given other than for overpayment of fees. A request for a refund of 
an overpayment must be received by the commissioner within six months of the date of de­
posit or it will be forfeited. 

Subp. 3. Fees to federal appraisal subcommittee. In addition to the fees required for 
licensure under Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.09, the commissioner shall collect and re­
mit such other fees as are required by the federal appraisal subcommittee. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.J9 

History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.1100 LICENSE. 
Subpart 1. Application for real estate appraiser license. After successful completion 

of the appropriate prelicensing education requirements and real estate appraiser licensing ex­
amination, an individual shall have one year from the date of the examination to apply for a 
real estate appraiser license. Application shall be on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Failure to apply for a license will require reexamination. 
Subp. 2. Cancellation of license. A real estate appraiser's license shall be canceled by 

the commissioner for failure of a licensee to complete continuing education requirements. In 
this case, the license must be returned to the commissioner within ten days of receipt of notice 
of cancellation. 

Subp. 3. Reinstatement of license. Within two years of a license cancellation, a person 
who was previously licensed may reinstate the license without examination by completing 
the required application, paying the required fee for a new license application, and reporting 
successful completion of all outstanding continuing education requirements for the period 
during which the license was canceled. The license shall be reinstated without reexamination 
by completing the required instruction, filing an application, and paying the fee for the li­
cense within two years of the cancellation date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 

2808.1200 CHANGE OF INFORMATION; NOTICE TO COMMISSIONER. 
A licensee must notify the commissioner in writing of any change in the information 

contained in the license application no later than ten days after the change. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 

2808.1300 NONRESIDENT APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONER FOR 
SERVICE OF PROCESS. 

Subpart 1. Requirement for appointment. Each real estate license applicant who is a 
nonresident of the state shall appoint the commissioner to serve as attorney for the applicant 
upon whom may be served all legal process in any action or proceeding to which that person 
may be a party and which relates to or involves any transaction governed by Minnesota Stat­
utes, chapter 82B. 

Subp. 2. Form for consent to service of process. The form for appointment of the com­
missioner as attorney for service of process shall be as provided in this subpart. 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
LICENSING UNIT 
133 East Seventh Street 
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101 
INDIVIDUAL APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEY FOR 
SERVICE OF PROCESS 
KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS: 
That in compliance with the Laws of the State of Minnesota, , a nonresi­

dent, does hereby appoint the Commissionerof Commerce of the State of Minnesota, succes-
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sor or successors in office as his/her true and lawful attorney upon whom may be served all 
legal process in any action or proceeding in which he/she may be a party and which relates to 
or involves any transaction covered by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82B, and does hereby 
expressly consent and agree that service upon such attorney shall be as valid and binding as if 
due and personal service had been made upon him/her and that such appointment shall be 
irrevocable. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand this.... day of , 19.. 

STATE OF ) 
COUNTY OF )SS. 

On this.... day of , 19.., personally appeared before me, a notary public in and for said 
County and State, , to me known to be the person described in and who executed the 
foregoing instrument and who, being by me first sworn, acknowledged that he/she executed 
the same as his/her free act and deed. 

Notary Public, County 
(NOTARIAL SEAL) My Commission expires 
Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.1400 WITHDRAWAL OF LICENSE OR APPLICATION. 
A licensee or license applicant may at any time file with the commissioner a request to 

withdraw from the status of licensee or to withdraw a pending license application. Withdraw­
al from the status of licensee or withdrawal of the license application becomes effective upon 
receipt by the commissioner unless a revocation, suspension, or denial proceeding is pending 
when the request to withdraw is filed or a proceeding to revoke, suspend, deny, or to impose 
conditions upon the withdrawal is instituted within 30 days after the request to withdraw is 
filed. If a proceeding is pending or instituted, withdrawal becomes effective at the time and 
upon the conditions the commissioner by order determines. If no proceeding is pending or 
instituted and withdrawal automatically becomes effective, the commissioner shall institute 
a revocation or suspension proceeding within one year after withdrawal became effective 
and enter a revocation or suspension order as of the last date on which the license was in ef­
fect. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.1500 FAILURE TO RENEW LICENSE. 
If a license lapses or becomes ineffective due to the licensee's failure to timely file a 

renewal application and the licensee continues to conduct business for which a license is re­
quired, the commissioner shall institute a revocation or suspension proceeding within two 
years after the license was last effective and enter a revocation or suspension order as of the 
last date on which the license was in effect. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SRI790 

2808.1600 REVOCATIONS. 
If the commissioner finds that any licensee or applicant is no longer in existence or has 

ceased to do business as a real estate appraiser or is subject to an adjudication of mental in­
competence or to the control of a committee, conservator, or guardian, or cannot be located 
after reasonable search, the commissioner may by order revoke the license or deny the ap­
plication of that person. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.1700 COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATES FOR REAL ESTATE 
APPRAISER LICENSE. 

Subpart 1. Submitting to commissioner. Applicants for a real estate appraiser license 
shall submit to the commissioner, along with their application for licensure, a copy of the 
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course completion certificate for all required prelicensing education coursework applicable 
to the class of license sought. 

Subp. 2. Forms. The real estate appraiser prelicensing education course completion 
certificate must be on forms provided by the commissioner. 

Subp. 3. Copies to be maintained. Students are responsible for maintaining copies of 
course completion certificates. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790 

EXAMINATION AND EXPERIENCE 

2808.2000 PASSING GRADE FOR EXAMINATION. 
A passing grade for a real estate appraiser licensing examination shall be a score of 75 

percent or higher. 
The commissioner shall not accept the scores of a person who has cheated on an ex­

amination. Cheating on a real estate appraiser examination shall be grounds for denying an 
application for an appraiser's license. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: / 7 SR 1790 

2808.2100 EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Registered real property appraiser examination. To qualify for a license 

as a registered real property appraiser, an applicant must pass a current uniform state residen­
tial real property appraiser (Level I) examination approved by the appraiser qualifications 
board. The examination must test the applicant's knowledge of appraisal terms, principles, 
theories, and ethics as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 82B. 12, and part 2808.7000. 

Subp. 2. Licensed real property appraiser examination. To qualify for a license as a 
licensed real property appraiser, an applicant must pass a current uniform state residential 
real estate appraiser (Level I) examination approved by the appraiser qualifications board. 
The examination must test the applicant's knowledge of appraisal terms, principles, theories, 
and ethics as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.12, and part 2808.7000. 

Subp. 3. Certified residential real property appraiser examination. To qualify for a 
license as a certified residential real property appraiser, an applicant must pass a current uni­
form state residential real estate appraiser (Level I) examination approved by the appraiser 
qualifications board. The examination must test the applicant's knowledge of appraisal 
terms, principles, theories, and ethics as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 82B. 12, and 
part 2808.7000. 

Subp. 4. Certified general real property appraiser examination. To qualify for a li­
cense as a certified general real property appraiser, an applicant must pass a current uniform 
state general real estate appraiser (Level II) examination approved by the appraiser qualifica­
tions board. The examination must test the applicant's knowledge of appraisal terms, prin­
ciples, theories, and ethics as provided in Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.12, and part 
2808.7100. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 

2808.2200 EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Verification of experience. Each applicant for licensure as a real estate ap­

praiser who is required to provide evidence of experience before licensing shall do so by affi­
davit on forms and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 2. Acceptable appraisal experience. Acceptable appraisal experience includes, 
but is not limited to, fee and staff appraisal, ad valorem tax appraisal, review appraisal, ap­
praisal analysis, real estate counseling, highest and best use analysis, feasibility analysis and 
study, and teaching appraisal courses. Teachers may request credit for either the classroom 
hour or experience requirement, but not both. 
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Subp. 3. Education may not substitute. Education, other than teaching, may not sub­
stitute for experience. 

Subp. 4. One year equivalent. For purposes of this part, 1,000 cumulative hours consti­
tutes one year of appraisal experience. 

Subp. 5. Registered real property appraiser. To be eligible for licensure as a regis­
tered real property appraiser, an applicant need not demonstrate evidence of experience in 
real estate appraising. 

Subp. 6. Licensed real property appraiser. To be eligible for licensure as a licensed 
real property appraiser, an applicant must provide the commissioner with evidence of at least 
two years of experience in real estate appraising. 

Subp. 7. Certified residential real property appraiser. To be eligible for licensure as a 
certified residential real property appraiser, an applicant must provide the commissioner 
with evidence of at least two years of experience in real estate appraising. 

Subp. 8. Certified general real property appraiser. To be eligible for licensure as a 
certified general real property appraiser, an applicant must provide the commissioner with 
evidence of at least two years of experience in real estate appraising. At least 50 percent, or 
1,000 hours, must be in nonresidential appraisal work. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.J9 

History: 17 SR 1790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 

PRELICENSING EDUCATION 

2808.3000 PRELICENSE EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart I. Registered real property appraiser. To qualify for a license as a registered 

real property appraiser, an applicant must provide evidence to the commissioner of success­
ful completion of an approved course of prelicense education consisting of 60 classroom 
hours of instruction in appraisal principles and appraisal practices and 15 classroom hours of 
instruction in appraisal ethics and the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 
Applicants for licensure must demonstrate that their education involved coverage of all top­
ics listed in part 2808.7200 

Subp. 2. Licensed real property appraiser. To qualify for a license as a licensed real 
property appraiser, an applicant must provide evidence to the commissioner of successful 
completion of an approved course of prelicense education consisting of 60 classroom hours 
of instruction in appraisal principles and appraisal practices and 15 classroom hours of 
instruction in appraisal ethics and the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. 
Applicants for licensure must demonstrate that their education involved coverage of all top­
ics listed in part 2808.7200. 

Each applicant is required to successfully complete all required coursework prior to 
taking a licensing examination. 

Subp. 3. Certified residential real property appraiser. To qualify for a license as a 
certified residential real property appraiser, an applicant must provide evidence to the com­
missioner of successful completion of an approved course of prelicensing education consist­
ing of 165 classroom hours of instruction in appraisal principles and appraisal practices, and 
include, at least, 15 classroom hours of instruction in appraisal ethics and the uniform stan­
dards of professional appraisal practice. Applicants for licensure must demonstrate that their 
education involved particular emphasis on the appraisal of one- to four-family residential 
units and included coverage of all topics listed in part 2808.7300. 

Each applicant is required to successfully complete all required coursework prior to 
taking a licensing examination. 

Subp. 3a. Education requirement prior to January 1,1994. Prior to January 1,1994, 
an approved course of prelicensing education for licensure as a certified residential real prop­
erty appraiser shall consist of 105 classroom hours of instruction in appraisal principles and 
appraisal practices, and include, at least, 15 classroom hours of instruction in appraisal ethics 
and the uniform standards of professional appraisal practice. Applicants for licensure must 
demonstrate that their education involved an emphasis on the appraisal of one- to four-fami­
ly residential units and included coverage of the topics listed in part 2808.7300. 
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Each applicant is required to successfully complete all required coursework prior to 
taking a licensing examination. 

Subp. 4. Certified general real property appraiser. To qualify for a license as a certi­
fied general real property appraiser, an applicant must provide evidence to the commissioner 
of successful completion of an approved course of prelicensing education consisting of 165 
classroom hours of instruction in appraisal principles and appraisal practices, and include, at 
least, 15 hours of instruction in appraisal ethics and the uniform standard of professional ap­
praisal practice. Applicants must demonstrate that their education involved an emphasis on 
the appraisal of nonresidential properties and included coverage of the topics listed in part 
2808.7400. 

Each applicant is required to successfully complete all required coursework prior to 
taking a licensing examination. 

Subp. 5. Approval of course offerings. Sponsors must submit their courses to the com­
missioner for approval at least 30 days prior to the date on which the course is to be held. Each 
application for approval of a course offering must be accompanied by the application for ap­
proval of the instructor unless the instructor has already been approved. Applications must 
be submitted on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 6. Approval of subsequent offerings. If approval has been granted for the initial 
offering of a course, approval for subsequent offerings shall be granted without requiring a 
new application if a "Notice of Subsequent Offering" is filed with the commissioner at least 
30 days in advance of the date the course is to be held. 

Subp. 7. Approval of courses not submitted for approval. Licensees may receive 
credit for courses attended which have not been submitted for approval by a coordinator. Re­
quests for approval of these courses must be submitted on forms prescribed by the commis­
sioner. 

Subp. 8. Successful completion of prelicensing education. Successful completion of 
prelicensing education requires full-time classroom attendance throughout the course, 
completion of required assignments or reading materials, and passage of a written examina­
tion designated by the sponsor that is sufficiently comprehensive to measure the student's 
knowledge of all aspects of the course. 

Subp. 9. Additional course content. Prelicensing courses may include coverage of 
subject matter not prescribed in this part; however, the subject matter must be presented in 
addition to, and may not be substituted for, the course content or hours specified in this part. 

Subp. 10. Textbooks. Each real estate appraiser prelicensing course must require the 
use of a text or other written materials. Texts and materials must be approved by the commis­
sioner prior to initiation of the course. The commissioner may also require the use of addi­
tional materials as appropriate to assure thorough coverage of the topic areas prescribed in 
this part. 

Subp. 11. Prelicensing education courses; access. All prelicensing education course 
offerings shall be open to any interested individual. Access may be restricted by the sponsor 
based on class size only, not by membership in any group or on any other basis. 

Subp. 12. Fees. Fees for courses shall be reasonable and clearly identified to students. 
Reasonable discounts of tuition may be offered. 
If a course is postponed for any reason, students shall be given the choice of attending 

the course at a later date or having their tuition refunded in full. The fees must be refunded 
within ten days of postponement unless the student has notified the sponsor that the student 
has chosen to attend the later course. 

If a course is canceled for any reason, all fees shall be promptly refunded within ten days 
of cancellation. 

A sponsor may have a refund policy addressing cancellation by students or student fail­
ure to complete a course, so long as the policy is clear to potential students. 

Subp. 13. Adequate facilities to be used. Each course of study shall be conducted in a 
classroom or other facility that is conducive to learning and is adequate to comfortably ac­
commodate the faculty and the number of students enrolled. The sponsor may limit the num­
ber of students enrolled in a course. Approved courses shall not be held on the premises of a 
real estate brokerage, appraisal firm, franchise, or affiliate thereof. 
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Subp. 14. Limitation on use toward continuing education. Prelicensing education 
courses may not be taken for credit toward continuing education requirements unless the stu­
dent is currently licensed as a real estate appraiser and has not taken the same prelicensing 
education course within the prior five-year period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.I9 

History: 17 SRI 790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 
NOTE: Subpart 3a is repealed effeclive January I. 1994. Subpart 7 is repealed effective December I, 1995. See the Notice of Adoption 

published at 17 SR 1790. 

2808.3100 CERTIFICATION OF COURSE COMPLETION. 
Subpart 1. Forms. Applicants for real estate appraiser licensure must provide evidence 

of successful completion of all required prelicensing instruction at the time of license ap­
plication. 

Certification of successful course completion of prelicensing education must be pro­
vided on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 2. Certification after completion. A certificate of prelicensing education course 
completion issued prior to the last scheduled class meeting for the course will not be accepted 
by the commissioner. 

Subp. 3. Records maintained. Sponsors of real estate appraiser prelicensing education 
courses must maintain copies of all applicants' grades and attendance records on file for five 
years from the beginning date of the courses. 

Grade and attendance records must be made available to the commissioner upon re­
quest. 

Subp. 4. Examinations maintained. Sponsors of real estate appraiser prelicensing 
education courses must maintain a master copy of each course examination, answer key, 
course date, and instructor's name on file for two years from the date of completion of the 
course. 

Examination files must be made available to the commissioner upon request. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 

2808.3200 PRELICENSING EDUCATION COORDINATORS. 
Each course of real estate appraisal licensing education must have at lease one coordi­

nator, approved by the commissioner, who is responsible for supervising the education pro­
gram and assuring compliance with the statutes and rules governing the offering of real estate 
appraisal education courses. 

Part 2808.4100 constitutes the general requirements for real estate appraiser prelicens­
ing education coordinators. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 

2808.3300 PRELICENSING EDUCATION INSTRUCTORS. 
Subpart 1. General requirement. Each course of real estate appraisal prelicensing 

education must be taught by an instructor, approved by the commissioner, who is qualified by 
education, training, or experience to assure competent instruction. Failure to have only ap­
proved instructors teach at an approved prelicensing education offering will result in loss of 
course approval. If, after approval of a course, the instructor named in the application for 
course approval is unable to teach the course and there is insufficient time to obtain approval 
of a substitute instructor, credit for the parts of a course taught by an unapproved instructor 
may be obtained if the requirements in items A and B are met. 

A. Within 15 business days after the course is taught by an unapproved instructor, a 
request for approval of the instructor is filed with the department. The request must be made 
on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

B. Notice of the use of an unapproved instructor must be given to all enrollees as 
soon as that fact is known and again prior to the commencement of the course. The notice 
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must state that an instructor for this course is not an approved instructor as required by the 
Department of Commerce. If approval is not obtained: 

(1) no credit may be earned for the course; 
(2) a full refund will be given if the enrollee decides not to attend the course; 

and 
(3) if the enrollee does attend the course and does not earn credit for the 

course, a refund will be automatically made. The refund will be made when the department's 
determination is made as to the disapproval of the substitute instructor. 

Subp. 2. Instructor qualifications. To qualify for approval by the commissioner, an 
instructor must meet the requirements in items A and B. 

A. An instructor who teaches prelicensing education to persons seeking licensure 
as either registered real property appraisers or licensed real property appraisers must have 
completed 75 classroom hours of real estate appraiser education, have two years of full-time 
experience as a real estate appraiser within the preceding seven years, and be licensed as a 
real estate appraiser. 

B. An instructor who teaches prelicensing education to persons seeking licensure 
as either certified residential real property appraisers or certified general real property ap­
praisers must have completed 165 classroom hours of real estate appraiser education, have 
five years of full-time experience as a real estate appraiser within the previous seven years 
with at least 50 percent of the experience being in income property appraising, and be li­
censed as a certified residential real property appraiser or a certified general real property 
appraiser. 

Subp. 3. Responsibilities. Approved instructors must: 
A. comply with all laws and rules pertaining to real estate appraiser prelicensing 

education; 
B. provide students with current and accurate information; 
C. maintain an atmosphere conducive to learning in a classroom; and 
D. provide assistance to the students and respond to questions relating to course 

material. 
Subp. 4. Waiver. The commissioner may approve as an instructor an individual who 

through education, training, or experience possesses qualifications equivalent to those re­
quired by this part. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER CONTINUING EDUCATION 

2808.4000 GENERAL CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Continuing education requirements. To be eligible for continuous licens­

ing, each real estate appraiser licensee is required to successfully complete 15 classroom 
hours of continuing education within the 12-month period immediately preceding license 
renewal. 

Subp. 2. Courses approved for continuing education credit. Only courses which im­
part substantive and procedural knowledge relating to the real estate appraisal field will be 
approved for credit. The burden of demonstrating that courses impart substantive or proce­
dural knowledge in the real estate appraisal field is on the person seeking approval or credit. 

Credit will be granted for educational offerings that cover the real estate-related ap­
praisal topics in part 2808.7400. 

Subp. 3. Courses not approved for continuing education. Courses that include the 
following topics will not be approved for continuing education credit: 

A. courses designed to prepare students for a license examination, except as per­
mitted by part 2808.3000, subpart 14; 

B. courses in mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speed-read­
ing, or use of calculators or other machines or equipment; 
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C. courses in sales promotion, including meetings held in conjunction with the 
general business of the licensee; 

D. courses in motivation, salesmanship, psychology, time management, or com­
munication; 

E. courses related to office management or intended to improve the operation of 
the licensee's business; 

F. courses that can be completed by the student at home or outside the classroom 
without the supervision of an instructor approved by the Department of Commerce; or 

G. courses that do not otherwise offer substantive or procedural knowledge in the 
field of real estate appraisal as determined by the Department of Commerce. 

Subp. 4. Approval of course offerings. Sponsors must submit their courses to the com­
missioner for approval at least 30 days before the date on which the course is to be held. Each 
application for approval of a course offering must be accompanied by the application for ap­
proval of the instructor unless the instructor has already been approved. Applications must 
be submitted on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 5. Approval of subsequent offerings. If approval has been granted for the initial 
offering of a course, approval for subsequent offerings shall be granted without requiring a 
new application if a "Notice of Subsequent Offering" is filed with the commissioner at least 
30 days in advance of the date the course is to be held. 

Subp. 6. Approval of continuing education courses not submitted for approval. Li­
censees may receive continuing education credit for courses attended which have not been 
submitted for approval by a coordinator. Requests for approval of these courses must be sub­
mitted on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 7. Credit hours. Credit toward satisfaction of continuing education require­
ments will only be granted where course offerings are at least one-half hour in length. The 
number of hours approved will only include time spent on educational activities. 

Continuing education courses must be attended in their entirety in order for a licensee to 
receive full credit. Sponsors may not issue certificates of completion to students who have 
not attended a continuing education course in its entirety. Proportional credit may not be giv­
en for partial attendance at a continuing education course. Certificates of completion, how­
ever, may be issued to students who have completed the entire course even if the student did 
so by attending more than one offering of the course. 

Upon completion of approved courses, students shall receive credit for the number of 
hours approved for the course based on one hour of credit for each classroom hour of atten­
dance. 

The approved instructor for a continuing education course shall earn 1-1/2 hours of 
continuing education credit for each classroom hour of instruction of approved continuing 
education courses. 

Neither students nor instructors may earn continuing education credit for attending or 
instructing at any subsequent offering of the same continuing education course for three 
years after attending or teaching the course. 

Subp. 8. Examinations. Course examinations will not be required for continuing 
education courses unless the sponsor requires an examination. 

Subp. 9. Textbooks. Textbooks are not required for real estate appraiser continuing 
education courses. If textbooks are not used, students must be provided with a syllabus con­
taining, at a minimum, the course title, the times and dates of the course offering, the names 
and addresses or telephone numbers of the course coordinator and instructor, and a detailed 
outline of the subject matter to be covered. A textbook or syllabus must be available for the 
use of each student during the course. Any printed material disbursed to the students must be 
of a readable quality. Any textbook required must contain accurate and current information 
relating to the subject being taught. 

Subp. 10. Continuing education courses; access. Continuing education course offer­
ings must be open to any interested individuals. Access may be restricted by the sponsor 
based on class size only, not on membership in any group or on any other basis. 

Subp. 11. Fees. Fees for courses shall be reasonable and clearly identified to students. 
Reasonable discounts of tuition may be offered. 
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If a course is canceled for any reason, all fees shall be promptly refunded within ten days 
of cancellation. 

If a course is postponed for any reason, students shall be given the choice of attending 
the course at a later date or having their tuition refunded in full. Fees must be refunded within 
ten days of postponement unless the student has notified the sponsor that the student has cho­
sen to attend the later course. 

A sponsor may have a refund policy addressing cancellation by students or a student's 
failure to complete a course, as long as that policy is clear to potential students. 

Subp. 12. Adequate facility to be used. Each course of study shall be conducted in a 
classroom or other facility that is conducive to learning and adequate to comfortably accom­
modate the faculty and the number of students enrolled. The sponsor may limit the number of 
students enrolled in a course. Approved courses shall not be held on the premises of a real 
estate brokerage, appraisal firm, franchise, or an affiliate thereof. 

Subp. 13. National examination preparatory course. Courses offered in preparation 
for a recognized national appraisal organization accreditation examination shall be assigned 
continuing education credit hours in the same manner as other courses. 

Subp. 14. Extensions. Upon appropriate showing of a bona fide financial or medical 
hardship, the commissioner shall extend, for up to 90 days, the time period during which the 
continuing education must be successfully completed. Loss of income from either atten­
dance at courses or cancellation of a license is not a bona fide financial hardship. 

Requests for extensions must be submitted in writing no later than June 1 of the year due 
and shall include an explanation with verification of the hardship, plus verification of enroll­
ment at an approved course of study. 

Subp. 15. Waiver of continuing education classroom requirement. If a licensee pro­
vides satisfactory documentation to the commissioner that the licensee is unable, and will 
continue to be unable, to attend actual classroom course work because of a physical handi­
cap, medical condition, or similar reason, classroom attendance at continuing education 
courses shall be waived for a period not to exceed one year. 

The commissioner shall require that the individual read a sufficient number of real es­
tate appraisal textbooks or listen to a sufficient number of real estate appraisal-related tapes 
as would be necessary for the licensee to satisfy the licensee's educational credit hour needs. 
The commissioner shall award the licensee credit hours for reading books or listening to 
tapes by determining how many credit hours would be granted to a classroom course involv­
ing the same material and giving the licensee the same number of credit hours. 

The licensee may apply each year for a new waiver upon the same terms and conditions 
as were necessary to secure the original waiver. The commissioner may request the docu­
mentation of the condition upon which the request for waiver is based as shall be necessary to 
satisfy the commissioner of the existence of the condition and that the condition does pre­
clude attendance at continuing education courses. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.4100 CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE COORDINATOR. 
Subpart 1. General requirement. Each course of study shall have at least one coordina­

tor, approved by the commissioner, who is responsible for supervising the program and as­
suring compliance with the statutes and rules governing the offering of real estate appraiser 
education courses. Assistants may be hired by the sponsor; however, the approved coordina­
tor remains responsible for compliance with the laws. 

Subp. 2. Qualifications. Course coordinators shall possess one of the following qualifi­
cations: 

A. a minimum of five years of experience during the immediately preceding five-
year period as a full-time real estate appraiser; 

B. at least three years of practical experience during the immediately preceding 
five-year period in the administration of an education program; or 

C. a degree in education plus at least two years of practical real estate appraisal 
experience during the immediately preceding five-year period. 
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Subp. 3. Applications; forms. Applications for coordinator approval shall be sub­
mitted on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

Subp. 4. Responsibilities. The coordinator must: 
A. assure compliance with all laws and rules pertaining to real estate appraiser 

education; 
B. notify the commissioner of any material change in applications for course or 

instructor approval; 
C. assure that students are provided with current and accurate information; 
D. supervise and evaluate courses and instructors. The commissioner may request 

written evaluations of courses and/or instructors either by students or coordinators; 
E. investigate written complaints relating to course offerings and/or instructors, 

and forward a copy of the written complaints to the Department of Commerce; 
F. maintain accurate records relating to course offerings, instructors, and student 

attendance for a period of five years from the date the course was completed. If the coordina­
tor leaves the employ of the sponsor, the records must be turned over to the replacement coor­
dinator or an officer of the sponsor. If a sponsor ceases operation, the coordinator is responsi­
ble for maintaining the records or providing a custodian of the records acceptable to the com­
missioner. In order to be acceptable, custodians must agree to make copies of student records 
available to students at a reasonable fee. Under no circumstances will the commissioner act 
as custodian of the records; 

G. be available to instructors and students throughout the course offerings, and 
provide the name of the coordinator and a telephone number at which the coordinator can be 
reached; and 

H. provide students with a course completion certificate, on a form prescribed by 
the commissioner, within 30 days of completion of the course. However, a coordinator may 
require payment of the course tuition as a condition for receiving the course completion cer­
tificate. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR J 790 

2808.4200 CONTINUING EDUCATION INSTRUCTORS. 
Subpart 1. General requirements. Each course of real estate appraiser continuing 

education must be taught by an instructor who is qualified by education, training, or experi­
ence to ensure competent instruction. Failure to have only approved instructors teach at an 
approved continuing education offering will result in loss of course approval. 

If, after approval of a course, the instructor named in the application for course approval 
is unable to teach the course and there is insufficient time to obtain approval of a substitute 
instructor, proportional credit will be given for those parts of the course taught by approved 
instructors. 

Credit for the parts of a course taught by an unapproved instructor may be obtained if the 
requirements in items A and B are met. 

A. Within 15 business days after the course is taught by an unapproved instructor, a 
request for approval of the instructor is filed with the department. The request must be made 
on forms prescribed by the commissioner. 

B. Notice of the use of an unapproved instructor must be given to all enrollees as 
soon as that fact is known and again prior to the commencement of the course. The notice 
must state that an instructor for this course is not an approved instructor as required by the 
Department of Commerce. If approval is not obtained: 

(1) no credits or fewer credit hours may be earned for the course than the 
course was originally approved for; 

(2) a full refund will be given if the enrollee decides not to attend the course; 
(3) if the enrollee does attend the course and does not earn the number of cred­

it hours for which the course was originally approved, a refund will automatically be made in 
proportion to the reduction in credit hours earned. The refund will be paid when the depart­
ment's determination is made as to the approval of the substitute instructor. 
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Subp. 2. Instructor qualifications. The provisions in items A to D apply to the approv­
al and qualification of continuing education instructors. Continuing education instructors 
must have: 

A. a degree in any area plus two years of practical experience in the subject area 
being taught; 

B. five years of practical experience in the subject area being taught; 
C. a college or graduate degree in the subject area being taught; or 
D. held an appraiser's license for three years or have three years of practical expe­

rience in the subject area being taught. These individuals shall also have completed at least 60 
hours of approved continuing education in the subject area being taught. 

Subp. 3. Responsibilities. Approved instructors must: 
A. comply with all laws and rules pertaining to real estate appraiser continuing 

education; 
B. provide students with current and accurate information; 
C. maintain an atmosphere conducive to learning in a classroom; and 
D. provide assistance to the students and respond to questions relating to course 

material. 
Subp. 4. Waiver. The commissioner may approve as an instructor an individual who 

through education, training, or experience possesses qualifications equivalent to those re­
quired by this part. 

Subp. 5. Guest lecturers. Guest lecturers who do not meet the requirements of subpart 
2 may be used to teach up to one-third of any course, provided the guest lecturer possesses 
training or experience directly related to the particular subject matter covered in the course. 
Coordinators have the responsibility for assuring that the requirements of this subpart are 
met. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR 1790 

GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR PRELICENSING 
AND CONTINUING EDUCATION 

2808.5000 ADVERTISING OF COURSES. 
Subpart 1. Truth in advertising. Advertising of course offerings must be truthful and 

not deceptive or misleading. Courses may not be advertised in any manner as being approved 
unless approval has been granted, in writing, by the commissioner. 

Subp. 2. Approval statement. No advertisement, pamphlet, circular, or other similar 
materials pertaining to an approved course offering may be circulated or distributed in this 
state unless one of the following statements is prominently displayed on the cover of the ma­
terials used to advertise education courses: 

A. for prelicense education courses, "This course has been approved by the Minne­
sota Commissioner of Commerce for (number) hours of real estate appraiser prelicensing 
education"; 

B. for continuing education courses, "This course has been approved by the Min­
nesota Commissioner of Commerce for (number) hours of real estate appraiser continuing 
education." 

Subp. 3. Course hours approved. The number of hours for which a course has been 
approved or for which approval is pending shall be displayed as provided in subpart 2 on any 
advertisement for the course. If a course offering involves attendance for a period that is 
longer than the number of hours of credit approved, the advertisement must clearly state that 
credit will not be earned for the entire course. 

Subp. 4. Advertising pending approval. Upon submission of a request for prelicens­
ing or continuing education course approval, a sponsor may also request permission to use 
the term "approval pending" in course advertisements. Upon receipt of the request, the com­
missioner will grant written permission for use of the term. When used, the words "approval 
pending" must be clearly visible in the advertisement. 
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Subp. 5. Nonapproved courses to be distinguished. Advertising of approved courses 
must be clearly distinguishable from the advertisement of other nonapproved courses and 
services. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.5100 MANDATORY NOTICE TO STUDENTS. 
At the beginning of each approved real estate appraiser education offering, one of the 

following notices, as appropriate, shall be read to the students: 
A. for prelicensing education courses, "This course has been approved by the Min­

nesota Commissioner of Commerce for (number) hours of real estate appraiser prelicensing 
education credit. If you have any comments about this offering, please provide them in writ­
ing to the Commissioner of Commerce, 133 East Seventh Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota 
55101"; or 

B. for continuing education courses, "This course has been approved by the Min­
nesota Commissioner of Commerce for (number) hours of real estate appraiser continuing 
education credit. If you have any comments about this offering, please provide them in writ­
ing to the Commissioner of Commerce, 133 East Seventh Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota 
55101." 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.J9 
History: 17 SR J 790 

2808.5200 EDUCATION REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. 
Subpart 1. Requirement; forms. Real estate appraiser education credit must be re­

ported by the licensee on forms and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. 
Forms will not be accepted unless they reflect completion of all required hours. Licens­

ees are encouraged to submit the appropriate forms as soon as they have completed the re­
quired hours of real estate appraiser education. Incomplete forms will be returned to the li­
censee. 

Subp. 2. Continuing education reporting deadlines. Forms for reporting completion 
of continuing education requirements must be received by the commissioner no later than 
August 31 of the year due. 

Forms submitted between June 15 and August 31 must be accompanied by the appropri­
ate application and fees for license renewal. Forms that are personally submitted or post­
marked no later than August 1 shall be considered timely received and the licensee shall be 
considered to be continuously licensed regardless of whether a renewed license is issued to 
the licensee before August 31. Persons who have failed to make a timely application for re­
newal of a license and who have not received the renewal license as of September 1 are unli­
censed until the time the license has been issued by the commissioner and is received. 

Forms submitted by mail must be addressed to Minnesota Department of Commerce, 
Licensing Unit, 133 East Seventh Street, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101. 

Subp. 3. New licensees; waiver of reporting requirement. Persons licensed for the 
first time on or after June 1 in any year shall not be subject to the continuing education re­
quirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.19, subdivision 1, until the next annual re­
porting period begins. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SRI790 

2808.5300 FALSIFICATION OF REPORTS. 
A licensee or applicant found to have falsified a real estate appraiser education report to 

the commissioner shall be considered to have violated Minnesota Statutes, section 82B. 13 or 
82B. 19, and shall be subject to suspension or revocation of the licensee's real estate appraiser 
license or denial of the applicant's application for licensing. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 
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2808.5400 GENERAL POWERS OF COMMISSIONER. 
Subpart 1. Action against approval. The commissioner may deny, censure, suspend, 

or revoke the approval of a coordinator, instructor, or course if any is determined not to be in 
compliance with the statutes or rules governing the offering of real estate appraiser education 
courses. The commissioner may also refuse to approve courses by specific sponsors if it is 
determined that past offerings have not been in compliance with real estate appraiser educa­
tion laws and rules. 

Subp. 2. Right to audit. The commissioner has the right to audit an education course 
offering with or without notice to the sponsor. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.5500 MANAGEMENT RESPONSIBILITY OF SPONSORS. 
Sponsors of real estate appraisal education courses are responsible for the actions of the 

coordinators and instructors. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 

2808.5600 PROHIBITED PRACTICES FOR SPONSORS, COORDINATORS, 
AND INSTRUCTORS. 

Subpart 1. Prohibitions. In connection with an approved course, sponsors, coordina­
tors, and instructors shall not: 

A. recommend or promote the services or practices of a particular real estate ap­
praiser or appraisal firm, real estate brokerage, franchise, coordinator, instructor, or sponsor; 

B. encourage or recruit individuals to engage the services of, or become associated 
with, a particular real estate appraiser, appraisal firm, real estate brokerage, or franchise; 

C. use materials, clothing, or other evidence of affiliation with a particular real es­
tate appraiser, appraisal firm, real estate brokerage, or franchise; 

D. require students to participate in other programs or serv ices offered by the spon­
sor, coordinator, or instructor; 

E. take a Minnesota real estate appraiser licensing examination without the prior 
approval of the commissioner; 

F. attempt, either directly or indirectly, to discover questions or answers on a real 
estate appraiser licensing examination; or 

G. disseminate to any other person specific questions, problems, or information 
known or believed to be included in licensing examinations. 

Subp. 2. Notification of misconduct. Coordinators and instructors must notify the 
commissioner within ten days after the occurrence of any of the following: 

A. a felony or gross misdemeanor conviction of or disciplinary action taken 
against the real estate appraiser license or other occupational license held by the coordinator 
or instructor, which may be grounds for denying or revoking instructor or coordinator ap­
proval; and 

B. any change of information contained in an application for approval as a coordi­
nator or instructor. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SRI790 

STANDARDS OF APPRAISER CONDUCT 

2808.6000 STANDARDS OF CONDUCT. 
Subpart 1. Compliance with the uniform standards of professional appraisal prac­

tice. In addition to an act compelled or prohibited by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82B, or this 
chapter, an appraiser must act in accordance with the standards of professional appraisal 
practice as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.02, subdivision 12. 
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Subp. 2. Disclosure requirements. In addition to the requirements of the standards of 
professional appraisal practice as defined by Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.02, subdivi­
sion 12, an appraiser must, prior to performing any appraisal service which requires licensing 
pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 82B, disclose in writing to the person contracting for 
the appraisal service the information identified in item D. In addition, an appraiser must pre­
pare a written disclosure providing the information identified in items A to M. The written 
disclosure must be included as part of the final written appraisal report. As specified in this 
subpart, an appraiser must: 

A. disclose who has employed the appraiser; 
B. disclose who the appraisal is rendered for, if not the person who employed the 

appraiser; 
C. disclose the purpose of the appraisal, including an explanation of the difference 

between the appraisal being given and an appraisal of fee simple market valuation; 
D. disclose any conflict of interest or situation which might reasonably be per­

ceived to be a conflict of interest which shall include, but not be limited to, the following 
situations: 

(1) whether the appraiser has any ownership interest in the subject property or 
contiguous properties; 

(2) whether there is an ownership interest by a spouse, parent, or child of the 
appraiser in the property or contiguous properties; and 

(3) whether the appraiser has a continuing business relationship with one of 
the parties, for example, any part-time or full-time employment of the appraiser, spouse, 
children living at home, or dependent children. 

Failure to promptly give notification of a conflict shall be considered a violation of the 
standards of professional appraisal practice; 

E. disclose that the appraisal is a reevaluation and identify the areas of difference 
between the two appraisals and the justification for the changes; 

F. disclose any facts concerning the valuation needed for loan purposes or similar 
information that was provided to the appraiser before or during the appraisal; 

G. disclose that the appraiser has not performed appraisals of the type requested or 
for the type of property to be appraised as a regular part of the appraiser's business in the 
preceding five-year period, provided that if the appraiser asserts qualification by training or 
related experience to perform the appraisal, the appraiser shall set forth the training or experi­
ence and how it is applicable to the appraisal; 

H. disclose the license classification of the appraiser and the types of appraisals 
that the appraiser is authorized to conduct under the licensure; 

I. disclose any lack of experience or training that would affect the ability of the 
appraiser to perform the appraisal or could cause rejection of the appraisal by the party re­
quiring the appraisal; 

J. disclose any appraisal on the same property made by the appraiser in the last 
three years; 

K. disclose all pertinent assumptions upon which a valuation based upon income 
from the property is derived such as expected occupancy rates, rental rates, construction of 
future improvements, roads, or highways; 

L. prior to performing the appraisal, disclose whether the appraiser has previously 
been to the property; and 

M. disclose any other fact or circumstance that could bring the reliability of the 
appraisal or the impartiality of the appraiser into question. 

Subp. 3. Additional requirements. In addition to the requirements of subparts 1 and 2, 
an appraiser must: 

A. not knowingly make any of the following unacceptable appraisal practices: 
(1) include inaccurate or misleading factual data about the subject neighbor­

hood, site, improvements, or comparable sales; 
(2) fail to comment on negative factors with respect to the subject neighbor­

hood, subject property, or proximity of the subject property to adverse influences; 
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(3) unless otherwise disclosed in the appraisal report, use comparables in the 
valuation process that the appraiser has not at least personally inspected from the exterior by 
driving by them; 

(4) select and use inappropriate comparable sales or fail to use comparables 
that are physically and by location the most similar to the subject property; 

(5) use data, particularly comparable sales data, that was provided by parties 
who have a financial interest in the sale or financing of the subject property without the ap­
praiser's verification of the information from a disinterested source. For example, it would 
be inappropriate for an appraiser to use comparable sales provided by the real estate broker 
who is handling the sale of the subject property, unless the appraiser verifies the accuracy of 
the data provided through another source and makes an independent investigation to deter­
mine that the comparables provided were the best ones available; 

(6) use adjustments to the comparable sales that do not reflect the market's 
reaction to the differences between the subject property and the comparables, or fail to make 
adjustments when they are clearly indicated; 

(7) develop a valuation conclusion that is based either partially or completely 
on factors identified in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 363, including race, color, creed, 
religion, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, familial status 
of the owner or occupants of nearby property, or national origin of either the prospective 
owners or occupants of the properties in the vicinity of the subject property; or 

(8) develop a valuation conclusion that is not supported by available market 
data; 

B. provide a resume, current within six months of the date it is provided, to anyone 
who employs the appraiser, indicating all professional degrees and licenses held by the ap­
praiser; 

C. prior to performing the appraisal, view the entire property, inside and out, as 
well as confirm the existence of any contiguous highways, buildings, or other factors that 
affect the valuation of the property; and 

D. reject any request by the person who has employed the appraiser that is in con­
flict with the requirements of Minnesota law or this chapter and withdraw from the appraisal 
assignment if the employing party persists in the request. 

Subp. 4. Enforcement. Failure to comply with the provisions of this part is a prohibited 
practice under Minnesota Statutes, section 82B.20, subdivision 2, clause (17). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.7000 NATIONAL UNIFORM EXAMINATION CONTENT OUTLINE 
RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION (l^J Units) 

LEVEL 
% WEIGHT OF DIFFICULTY 

I. INFLUENCES ON REAL ESTATE VALUE 3-4% Conceptual 
A. Physical and Environmental 
B. Economic 
C. Governmental and Legal 
D. Social 

II. LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS IN APPRAISAL 6-8% Conceptual, 
A. Real estate vs. real property Definitions 
B. Real property vs. personal property 
C. Limitations on real estate ownership 

1. Private 
a. Deed restrictions 
b. Leases 
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c. Mortgages 
d. Easements 
e. Liens 
f. Encroachments 

2. Public 
a. Police power 

(1) ' Zoning 
(2) Building and fire codes 
(3) Environmental regulations 

b. Taxation 
(1) Property tax 
(2) Special assessments 

c. Eminent domain 
d. Escheat 

D. Legal rights and interests 
1. Fee simple estate 
2. Life estate 
3. Leasehold interest 
4. Leased fee interest 
5. Other legal interests 

a. Easement 
b. Encroachment 

E. Forms of property ownership 
1. Individual 
2. Tenancies and undivided interests 
3. Special ownership forms 

a. Condominiums 
b. Cooperative 
c. Timesharing 

F. Legal descriptions 
1. Metes and bounds 
2. Government survey 
3. Lot and block 

G. Transfer of title 
1. Basic types of deeds 
2. Recordation 

III. TYPES OF VALUE 3-5% Conceptual, 
A. Market Value or Value in Exchange Definitions 
B. Price 
C. Cost 
D. Investment Value 
E. Value in Use 
F. Assessed Value 
G. Insurable Value 

IV. ECONOMIC PRINCIPLES 7-9% Conceptual, 
A. Anticipation Definitions 
B. Balance 
C. Change 
D. Competition 
E. Conformity 
F. Contribution 
G. Increasing and Decreasing Returns 
H. Substitution 
I. Supply and Demand 
J. Surplus Productivity 
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V. REAL ESTATE MARKETS AND ANALYSIS 5-7% Conceptual 
A. Characteristics of real estate 

markets 
1. Availability of information 
2. Changes in supply vs. demand 
3. Immobility of real estate 
4. Segmented markets 
5. Regulations 

B. Absorption analysis 
1. Demographic data 
2. Competition 
3. Absorption 
4. Forecasts 

C. Role of money and capital markets 
1. Competing investments 
2. Sources of capital 

D.. Real estate financing 
1. Mortgage terms and concepts 

a. Mortgagor 
b. Mortgagee 
c. Principal and Interest 

2. Mortgage payment plans 
a. Fixed rate, level payment 
b. Adjustable rate 
c. Buydown 
d. Other 

3. Types of mortgages 
a. Conventional 
b. Insured 

VI. VALUATION PROCESS 4-6% Conceptual 
A. Definition of the problem 

1. Purpose and use of appraisal 
2. Interests to be appraised 
3. Type of value to be estimated 
4. Date of the value estimate 
5. Limiting conditions 

B. Collection and analysis of data 
1. National and regional trends 
2. Economic base 
3. Local area and neighborhood 

a. Employment 
b. Income 
c. Trends 
d. Access 
e. Locational convenience 

4. Site and improvements 
C. Analysis of highest and best use 
D. Application and limitations of each 

approach to value 
1. Sales comparison 
2. Cost 
3. Income capitalization 

E. Reconciliation and final value 
estimate 

F. The appraisal report 

VII. PROPERTY DESCRIPTION 2 ^ % Conceptual, 
A. Site Description Definitions 

1. Utilities 
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2. Access 
3. Topography 
4. Size 

B. Improvement description 
1. Size 
2. Condition 
3. Utility 

C. Basic construction and design 
1. Techniques and materials 

a. Foundations 
b. Framing 
c. Finish (exterior and interior) 

2. Functional utility 

VIII. HIGHEST AND BEST USE ANALYSIS 5-7% Conceptual, 
Definitions, 
Analysis/ 
Application 

HIGHEST AND BEST USE ANALYSIS 
A. 

B. 
C. 
D. 

Four tests 
1. Physically possible 
2. Legally permitted 
3. Economically feasible 
4. Maximally productive 
Vacant site or as if vacant 
As improved 
Interim use 

APPRAISAL STATISTICAL CONCEPTS 
A. 
B. 
C. 
D. 
E. 

Mean 
Median 
Mode 
Range 
Standard deviation 

IX. APPRAISAL STATISTICAL CONCEPTS 1-3% Conceptual, 
Analysis/ 
Application 

X. SALES COMPARISON APPROACH 21-24% Conceptual, 
A. Research and selection of Definitions, 

comparables Analysis/ 
1. Data sources Application 
2. Verification 
3. Units of comparison 

a. Data sources 
b. Size 

(1) Square foot 
(2) Acres 
(3) Other 

c. Utility (examples only) 
(1) Rooms 
(2) Beds 
(3) Other 

B. Elements of comparison 
1. Property rights conveyed 

a. Leased fee/leasehold 
b. Easements 
c. Others 

2. Financing terms and cash 
equivalency 
a. Loan payment 
b. Loan balance 

3. Conditions of sale 
a. Arms length sale 
b. Personalty 
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A. 
B. 
C. 
D. 
E. 

Sales comparison 
Land residual 
Allocation 
Extraction 
Plottage and Assemblage 
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4. Market conditions at time 
of contract and closing 

5. Location 
6. Physical characteristics 

C. Adjustment process 
1. Sequence of adjustments 
2. Dollar adjustments 
3. Percentage adjustments 
4. Paired sales analysis 

D. Application of sales comparison 
approach 

XI. SITE VALUE 4-6% Conceptual, 
Definitions, 
Analysis/ 
Application 

XII. COST APPROACH 8-10% Conceptual, 
A. Steps in cost approach Definitions, 

1. Reproduction vs. replacement cost Analysis/ 
a. Comparative unit method Application 
b. Unit-in-place method 
c. Quantity survey method 
d. Cost service index 

2. Accrued depreciation 
a. Types of depreciation 

(1) Physical deterioration 
(a) Curable 
(b) Incurable 
(c) Short-lived 
(d) Long-lived 

(2) Functional obsolescence 
(a) Curable 
(b) Incurable 

(3) External obsolescence 
(a) Locational 
(b) Economic 

b. Methods of estimating 
depreciation 
(1) Age-life method 
(2) Breakdown method and 

sequence of deductions 
(3) Market extraction of 

depreciation 
B. Application of the cost approach 

XIII. INCOME APPROACH 7-9% Conceptual, 
A. Estimation of income and expenses Definitions, 

1. Gross market income Analysis/ 
2. Effective gross income Application 

a. Vacancy 
b. Collection loss 

3. Operating expenses 
a. Fixed expenses 
b. Variable expenses 
c. Reserve for replacements 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1993

Copyright © 1993 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



643 REAL ESTATE APPRAISERS 2808.7100 

4. Net operating income 
B. Operating expense ratios 
C. Gross rent multiplier 

XIV. VALUATION OF PARTIAL INTERESTS 1-3% Conceptual, 
A. Life estates Definitions 
B. Undivided interest in commonly held 

property 
C. Easements 
D. Timeshares 
E. Cooperatives 
F. Leased fee estate 
G. Leasehold estate 

XV. APPRAISAL STANDARDS AND ETHICS 7-11% Conceptual, 
Definitions 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.7100 NATIONAL UNIFORM EXAMINATION CONTENT OUTLINE 
GENERAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER CLASSIFICATION 

LEVEL 
% WEIGHT OF 

DIFFICULTY 

I. INFLUENCES ON REAL ESTATE VALUE 2-3% Conceptual 
A. Physical and Environmental 
B. Economic 
C. Governmental and Legal 
D. Social 

II. LEGAL CONSIDERATIONS IN APPRAISAL 7-8% Conceptual, 
A. Real estate vs. real property Definitions 
B. Real property vs. personal property 

1. Fixtures 
2. Trade Fixtures 
3. Machinery and equipment 

C. Limitations on real estate ownership 
1. 

2. 

Private 
a. 
b. 
c. 
d. 
e. 
f. 
Pub 
a. 

b. 

c. 
d. 

Deed restrictions 
Leases 
Mortgages 
Easements 
Liens 
Encroachments 

lie 
Police power 
(1) Zoning 
(2) Building and fire codes 
(3) Environmental regulations 
Taxation 
(1) Property tax 
(2) Special assessments 
Eminent domain 
Escheat 
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D. Legal rights and interests 
1. Fee simple estate 
2. Life estate 
3. Leasehold interest 
4. Leased fee interest 
5. Other legal interests 

a. Easement 
b. Encroachment 

E. Forms of property ownership 
1. Individual 
2. Tenancies and undivided interests 
3. Special ownership forms 

a. Condominiums 
b. Cooperative 

F. Legal descriptions 
1. Metes and bounds 
2. Government survey 
3. Lot and block 

G. Transfer of title 
1. Basic types of deeds 
2. Recordation 

III. TYPES OF VALUE 2-3% Conceptual, 
Definitions 

V. 

TYPES OF VALUE 
A. 
B. 
C. 
D. 
E. 
F. 
G. 
H. 

Market Value or Value in Exchange 
Price 
Cost 
Investment Value 
Value in Use 
Assessed Value 
Insurable Value 
Going Concern Value 

ECONOMIC PRINCIPLES 
A. 
B. 
C. 
D. 
E. 
F. 
G. 
H. 
I. 
J. 
K. 

Anticipation 
Balance 
Change 
Competition 
Conformity 
Contribution 
Increasing and Decreasing Returns 
Opportunity Cost 
Substitution 
Supply and Demand 
Surplus Productivity 

IV. ECONOMIC PRINCIPLES 3-5% Conceptual, 
Definitions 

L ESTATE MARKETS AND ANALYSIS 
Characteristics of real estate 
markets 
1. Availability of information 
2. Changes in supply vs. demand 
3. Immobility of real estate 
4. Segmented markets 
5. Regulations 
Absorption analysis 
1. Demographic data 
2. Competition 
3. Absorption 
4. Forecasts 
5. Existing space inventory 
6. Current and projected space surplus 

5-7% Conceptual, 
Analysis/ 
Application 
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7. New space 
C. Role of money and capital markets 

1. Competing investments 
2. Sources of capital 

D. Real estate financing 
1. Mortgage terms and concepts 

a. Mortgagor 
b. Mortgagee 
c. Principal and Interest 

2. Mortgage payment plans 
a. Fixed rate, level payment 
b. Adjustable rate 
c. Buydown 
d. Other 

3. Types of mortgages 
a. Conventional 
b. Insured 

VI. VALUATION PROCESS 2-A% Conceptual 
A. Definition of the problem 

1. Purpose and use of appraisal 
2. Interests to be appraised 
3. Type of value to be estimated 
4. Date of the value estimate 
5. Limiting conditions 

B. Collection and analysis of data 
1. National and regional trends 
2. Economic base 
3. Local area and neighborhood 

a. Employment 
b. Income 
c. Trends 
d. Access 
e. Locational convenience 

4. Site and improvements 
C. Analysis of highest and best use 
D. Application and limitations of each 

approach to value 
1. Sales comparison 
2. Cost 
3. Income capitalization 

E. Reconciliation and final value 
estimate 

F. The appraisal report 

VII. PROPERTY DESCRIPTION 2-4% Conceptual, 
A. Site Description Definitions 

1. Utilities 
2. Access 
3. Topography 
4. Size 

B. Improvement description 
1. Size 
2. Condition 
3. Utility 

C. Basic construction and design 
1. Techniques and materials 

a. Foundations 
b. Framing 
c. Finish (exterior and interior) 
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d. Mechanical 
2. Functional utility 

VIII. HIGHEST AND BEST USE ANALYSIS 5-7% Conceptual, 
A. Four tests Definitions, 

1. Physically possible Analysis/ 
2. Legally permitted Application 
3. Economically feasible 
4. Maximally productive 

B. Vacant site or as if vacant 
C. As improved 
D. Interim use 

IX. APPRAISAL MATH AND STATISTICS 3-5% Conceptual, 
A. Compound interest concepts Analysis/ 

1. Future value of $ 1 Application 
2. Present value of $1 
3. Future value of an annuity 

of $ 1 per period 
4. Present value of an annuity 

of $ 1 per period 
5. Sinking fund factor 
6. Installment to amortize $ 1 

(loan constant) 
B. Statistical concepts used in 

appraisal 
1. Mean 
2. Median 
3. Mode 
4. Range 
5. Standard deviation 

X. SALES COMPARISON APPROACH 10-12% Conceptual, 
A. Research and selection Definitions, 

of comparables Analysis/ 
1. Data sources Application 
2. Verification 
3. Units of comparison 

a. Income 
(1) Potential gross 

income multiplier 
(2) Effective gross 

income multiplier 
(3) Overall rate 

b. Size 
(1) Square foot 
(2) Acres 
(3) Other 

c. Utility (examples only) 
(1) Motel and apartment units 
(2) Theater seats 
(3) Other 

B. Elements of comparison 
1. Property rights conveyed 

a. Easements 
b. Leased fee/Leasehold 
c. Mineral rights 
d. Others 
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2. Financing terms and cash 
equivalency 
a. Loan payment 
b. Loan balance 

3. Conditions of sale 
a. Arms length sale 
b. Personalty 

4. Market conditions at time 
of contract and closing 

5. Location 
6. Physical characteristics 
7. Tenant improvements 

C. Adjustment process 
1. Sequence of adjustments 
2. Dollar adjustments 
3. Percentage adjustments 
4. Paired sales analysis 

D. Application of sales comparison 
approach 

XI. SITE VALUE 3-5% Conceptual, 
A. Sales comparison Definitions, 
B. Land residual Analysis/ 
C. Allocation Application 
D. Extraction 
E. Ground rent capitalization 
F. Subdivision analysis 

1. Development cost: direct 
and indirect 

2. Contractor's overhead and 
profit 

3. Forecast absorption and 
gross sales 

4. Entrepreneurial profit 
5. Discounted value conclusion 

. G. Plottage and Assemblage 

XII. COST APPROACH 9-12% Conceptual, 
A. Steps in cost approach Definitions, 

1. Reproduction vs. replacement cost Analysis/ 
a. Comparative unit method Application 
b. Unit-in-place method 
c. Quantity survey method 
d. Cost service index 

2. Accrued depreciation 
a. Types of depreciation 

(1) Physical deterioration 
(a) Curable 
(b) Incurable 
(c) Short-lived 
(d) Long-lived 

(2) Functional obsolescence 
(a) Curable 
(b) Incurable 

(3) External obsolescence 
(a) Locational 
(b) Economic 

b. Methods of estimating 
depreciation 
(1) Age-life method 
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(2) Breakdown method and 
sequence of deductions 

(3) Market extraction of 
depreciation 

B. Application of the cost approach 

XIII. INCOME APPROACH 20-24% Conceptual, 
A. Estimation of income and expenses Definitions, 

1. Gross market income Analysis/ 
2. Effective gross income Application 

a. Vacancy 
b. Collection loss 

3. Operating expenses 
a. Fixed expenses 
b. Variable expenses 
c. Reserve for replacements 

4. Net operating income 
B. Operating statement ratios 

1. Operating expense ratio 
2. Net income ratio 
3. Break-even ratio 

C. Direct capitalization 
1. Relevance and limitations 
2. Overall capitalization rate 
3. Gross income multiplier and 

net income ratio 
4. Band of investment 

(mortgage equity) techniques 
5. Residual techniques 

a. Land (building value given) 
b. Building (land value given) 
c. Equity (mortgage value given) 

D. Cash flow estimates (before tax only) 
1. Operating years 

a. Estimating NOI with 
a change in NOI 

b. Estimating NOI using lease 
information 

c. Cash flow (NOI less mortgage 
payment) 

2. Reversion 
a. Estimating resale with 

a change in value 
b. Estimating resale with 

a terminal capitalization rate 
c. Cash flow (sale price less 

mortgage balance) 
d. Deductions for costs of 

sale and legal fees to arrive 
at a net reversion 

E. Measures of cash flow 
1. Equity dividend rate 

(cash on cash rate) 
2. Debt coverage ratio 

F. Discounted cash flow analysis (DCF) 
1. Relevance and limitations 
2. Potential gross income and expense 

estimate 
a. Market vs. contract rents 
b. Vacancy and lease commissions 
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c. Tenant improvements 
and concessions 

3. Discount rates and yield rates 
(definition and concept but no 
calculations of yield rate) 

4. Discounting cash flows 
(from operations and reversion 
where all cash flows projected 
in dollar amounts and tables 
or calculators can be used) 

XIV. VALUATION OF PARTIAL INTERESTS 4-6% Conceptual, 
A. Interests created by a lease Definitions, 

Analysis/ 
Application 

B. 

C. 

D. 

1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
5. 
6. 

Leased fee 
Leasehold 
Subleasehold 
Renewal options 
Tenant improvements 
Concessions 

Lease Provisions 
1. 
2. 
3. 
4. 
5. 
6. 
7. 

Overage rent 
Expense stops 
Net leases 
Minimum rent 
Percentage rent 
CPI adjustments 
Excess rent 

Valuation considerations 
1. 

2. 

3. 

Identifying the cash flows, 
to the different interests, 
including turnover ratios 
Discount rate selection for 
different interests 
Relationship between the values 
of the interests 

Other partial interests 
1. 
2. 

3. 
4. 
5. 

Life estates 
Undivided interest in commonly 
held property 
Easements 
Timeshares 
Cooperatives 

XV. APPRAISAL STANDARDS AND ETHICS 7-11% Conceptual, 
Definitions 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790 

2808.7200 CERTIFIED STATE AND FEDERAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER 
INITIAL EDUCATION. 

Various appraisal courses may be credited toward the 75 classroom hour education re­
quirement. Applicants must demonstrate that their education involved coverage of all topics 
listed below with particular emphasis on the appraisal of one to four unit residential proper­
ties: 

A. influences on real estate value; 
B. legal considerations in appraisal; 
C. types of value; 
D. economic principles; 
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E. real estate markets and analysis; 
F. valuation process; 
G. property description; 
H. highest and best use analysis; 
I. appraisal statistical concepts; 
J. sales comparison approach; 
K. site value; 
L. cost approach; 
M. income approach; 

(1) gross rent multiplier analysis; 
(2) estimation of income and expenses; and 
(3) operating expense ratios; 

N. valuation of partial interests; and 
0 . appraisal standards and ethics. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.J3; 82B.J9 

History: / 7 SR 1790 

2808.7300 CERTIFIED RESIDENTIAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER 
INITIAL EDUCATION. 

Various appraisal courses may be credited toward the 165 classroom hour education re­
quirement. Applicants must demonstrate that their education involved coverage of all topics 
listed below with particular emphasis on the appraisal of one to four unit residential proper­
ties: 

A. influences on real estate value; 
B. legal considerations in appraisal; 
C. types of value; 
D. economic principles; 
E. real estate markets and analysis; 
F. valuation process; 
G. property description; 
H. highest and best use analysis; 
1. appraisal statistical concepts; 
J. sales comparison approach; 
K. site value; 
L. cost approach; 
M. income approach; 

(1) gross rent multiplier analysis; 
(2) estimation of income and expenses; 
(3) operating expense ratios; and 
(4) direct capitalization; 

N. valuation of partial interests; 
O. appraisal standards and ethics; and 
P. narrative report writing. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 
History: 17 SR 1790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 

2808.7400 CERTIFIED GENERAL REAL PROPERTY APPRAISER INITIAL 
EDUCATION. 

Various appraisal courses may be credited toward the 165 classroom hour education re­
quirement. Applicants must demonstrate that their education included coverage of all topics 
listed below with particular emphasis on the appraisal of one to four unit residential proper­
ties: 
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A. influences on real estate value; 
B. legal considerations in appraisal; 
C. types of value; 
D. economic principles; 
E. real estate markets and analysis; 
F. valuation process; 
G. property description; 
H. highest and best use analysis; 
I. appraisal math and statistics; 
J. sales comparison approach; 
K. site value; 
L. cost approach; 
M. income approach; 

(1) estimation of income and expenses; 
(2) operating statement ratios; 
(3) direct capitalization; 
(4) cash flow estimates; 
(5) measures of cash flow; and 
(6) discounted cash flow analysis; 

N. valuation of partial interests; 
O. appraisal standards and ethics; and 
P. narrative report writing. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 45.023; 82B.13; 82B.19 

History: 17 SR 1790; L 1993 c 309 s 31 
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