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2725.0100 DEFINITIONS.
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose o f parts 2725.0100 to 2725.0240, the 

following terms have the meanings given them.
Subp. la. Applicant. “Applicant” means a person who has applied to the 

commissioner o f commerce pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 60A.17, 
subdivision 1, paragraph (a), for a license as an insurance agent.

Subp. 2. Coordinator. “Coordinator” means an individual who is responsible 
for monitoring insurance education offerings.

Subp. 3. Correspondence courses. “Correspondence courses” means courses 
that have been offered by a provider that has been in existence for at least five 
years; or courses approved by the National Home Study Council.

Subp. 4. Instructor. “Instructor” means an individual lecturing in an insur­
ance education offering.

Subp. 5. Licensee. “Licensee” means a natural person licensed by this state 
to sell classes o f insurance for which licensing examinations are required.

Subp. 6. National examinations. “National examinations” means examina­
tions taken pursuant to, or examinations related to or taken in the course of:

A. The Life Underwriter Training Council (LUTC) life course curricu­
lum or the health course curriculum.

B. The American College diploma curriculum for Chartered Life 
Underwriter (CLU) or Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC).

C. The College o f Financial Planning diploma curnculum for Chartered 
Financial Planning (CFP) program.

D. The Insurance Institute o f America curriculum for: Program in 
General Insurance (INS); Associate in Claims Program (AIC); Associate in Risk 
Management Program (ARM); Associate in Underwriting Program (AIU); Asso­
ciate in Loss Control Management Program (ALCM); Accredited Adviser in 
Insurance Program (AAI); Associate in Premium Auditing Program (APA); Asso­
ciate in Research and Planning Program (ARP); Chartered Property Casualty 
Underwater (CPCU).

E. The National Association o f Health Underwriters curnculum for 
Registered Health Underwriter program (RHU).

F. The Health Insurance Association o f Amenca curriculum for HIAA
program.

G. The Academy o f Life Underwriting Education Council curriculum 
for LUEC program.

H. The Certified Insurance Counselor curriculum for CIC program.
Subp. 7. Person. “Person” means a natural person, firm, institution, partner­

ship, corporation, or association.
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15 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 2725.0110

Subp. 8 Sponsor. “Sponsor” means a person offering or providing insurance 
education. A sponsor o f prelicense education must satisfy the requirements for 
a private vocational school as mandated by the Minnesota Department o f Educa­
tion.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45 023, 60A 17; 60A 1701 su b d  6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0110 GENERAL REQUIREMENTS.
Subpart 1. Courses approved for continuing education credit. Only courses 

which impart substantive and procedural knowledge relating to the insurance 
field shall be approved for credit.

Subp. la. Curriculum for prelicense education. The following are the curricu­
lum requirements for insurance prelicense courses for Minnesota resident agents.

Basic Fundamentals Course

30 hours

Minimum time: 15 hours 
Maximum time: 22 5 hours

1. Rules, Regulations, and Law
A. Rules from the Administrative Procedure Act

a. Chapter 2795 - Agent Conduct
b. Chapter 2790 - Insurance Marketing 

Standards
B. Minnesota law regarding general requirements

2. Fundamentals o f Insurance
A. What is insurance?
B. What is the insurance organization?
C. How does insurance relate to society?
D. What is management o f risk?

Minimum time: 3 hours 
M axim um  time: 7.5 hours

And Casualty
1. Insurance and insurance-related concepts
2. Policy provisions
3. Types o f policies
4. Penis, exclusions, deductibles, and liability
5. Prospecting and evaluating needs
6. Servicing clients
7. Presentation and acceptance o f policy

Minimum time: 3 hours 
Maximum time: 7.5 hours 

Life/Accident And Health
1. Types o f policies and coverages 
2 Policy provisions, options, and benefits
3. Completing the application/delivenng the policy
4. Taxes, retirement, and other insurance concepts
5. Group insurance
6. Other provisions affecting insurance benefits

Life/Accident And Health

P arti

Part II 

Property

Part III
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2725.0110 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 16

15 Hours

A. Life
Including but not limited to the following:
1. Whole life
2. Endowment
3. Term
4. Variable
5. Universal

B. Health
Including but not limited to the following:
1. Major medical
2. Hospital
3. Disability
4. Medicare supplement

C. Minnesota laws, rules, and regulations pertinent 
to life/accident and health insurance only.

Property/Casualty Course

15 hours

A. Personal lines
Including but not limited to the following:
1. Homeowners
2. Auto
3. Inland marine

B. Commercial lines
Including but not limited to the following:
1. Fire
2. Auto
3. Crime
4. Umbrella
5. Inland marine

C. Minnesota laws, rules, and regulations pertinent 
to property and casualty insurance only.

Subp. 2 Nonapproved courses for continuing education. The following are not 
approved courses:

A. a course which is approved for prelicense training,
B. courses designed to prepare students for a license examination;
C. courses in mechanical office or business skills, including typing, speed 

reading, or use o f calculators or other machines or equipment,
D. courses m sales promotion, including meetings held in conjunction 

with the general business o f  the licensee;
E. courses in motivation, salesmanship, psychology, time management, 

or communication,
F. courses related to office management or intended to improve the 

operation o f the licensee’s business, or
G. courses which are primarily intended to impart knowledge o f specific 

products o f specific companies, i f  the use o f the product or products relates to 
the sales promotion or marketing o f one or more o f the products discussed.

Subp. 3. Automatic approval. The commissioner shall grant automatic approv­
al for continuing education for insurance related courses approved by the Depart­
ment o f Commerce for real estate education, the Board o f Continuing Legal 
Education for legal education, or similar regulatory offices withm Minnesota. 

The commissioner shall grant approval for the purpose o f continuing educa-
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17 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 2725.0110

tion for courses approved by the insurance regulatory agency m another state if  
the continuing education laws and rules governing course accreditation m that 
state do not conflict with parts 2725.0100 to 2725.0240.

Subp. 4. Credit hours. Continuing education .courses must be attended in 
their entirety in order for a licensee to receive full credit. Proportional credit will 
be given for partial attendance at a continuing education course. Sponsors may 
not issue certificates o f compliance to students that have not attended the entire 
prehcensmg course. Certificates o f compliance may be issued to students who 
have completed the entire course even i f  the student did so by attending more 
than one offering o f the course.

Upon completion o f approved courses, students shall receive credit for the 
number o f hours approved for the course based on one hour o f credit for each 
hour o f attendance.

The number o f approved hours will include only time spent on educational 
activities.

The approved instructor for a continuing education course shall earn one 
and one-half hours o f continuing education credit for each one hour o f instruc­
tion o f approved continuing education courses.

Neither students nor instructors may earn continuing education credit for 
attending or instructing at any subsequent offering o f the same continuing 
education course for three years after attending or teaching the course.

Subp. 5 Examinations. Course examinations will not be required for insur­
ance education courses unless the sponsor requires an examination.

Subp. 6. Textbooks. Textbooks are not required for insurance education 
courses. If textbooks are not used, students are to be provided with a syllabus 
containing, at a minimum, the course title, times and dates o f the course offering, 
the names and addresses or telephone numbers o f the course coordinator and 
instructor, and a detailed outline o f the subject matter to be covered. A textbook 
or syllabus must be available for the use o f each student during the course. Any 
printed matenal disbursed to the students must be o f a readable quality. Any 
textbook required must contam accurate and current-information relating to the 
subject being taught.

Subp. 7. Approval of course offerings. Sponsors must submit their courses to ’ 
the commissioner for approval at least 30 days prior to the date on which the 
course is to be held. Each application for approval o f a course offering must be 
accompanied by the application for approval o f the instructor unless the instruc­
tor has already been approved. Applications must be submitted on forms pre­
scribed by the commissioner

Subp. 8. Approval of continuing education courses not submitted for approval. 
Licensees may receive continuing education credit for courses attended which 
have not been submitted for approval by a coordinator. Requests for approval 
o f these courses must be submitted on forms prescribed by the commissioner.

Subp. 9. Advertising. Courses cannot be advertised m any manner as approved 
unless approval has been granted, in wntmg, by the commissioner

Upon written request by a sponsor, the commissioner shall grant permission, 
in writing, to the sponsor to use the term “approval pending” if  it is clearly visible 
in the advertisement and i f  in fact the course has been submitted to the commis­
sioner for approval m accordance with subpart 7.

All advertising relating to approved course offenngs must contain either o f  
the two following statements as is appropriate: “This course has been approved 
by the commissioner o f commerce for insurance continuing education credit.” 
or “This course has been approved by the commissioner o f commerce for 
prehcensmg education credit.” The statement must be prominently displayed on 
the cover of any pamphlet, advertisement, or circular.

The number o f hours for which a course has been approved shall be promi-
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2725.0110 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 18

nently displayed on any advertisement for the course. If the course offering is 
longer than the number o f hours o f credit to be given, it must be clear that credit 
is not earned for the entire course.

Advertising must be truthful, clear, and not deceptive or misleading.
Advertising o f approved courses must be clearly distinguishable from the 

advertisement o f other nonapproved courses and services.
Subp. 10. Approval of subsequent offerings. If approval has been granted for 

the initial offering o f a course, approval for subsequent offerings shall be granted 
without requiring a new application i f  a “Notice o f Subsequent Offering” is filed 
with the commissioner at least 30 days m advance o f the date the course is to be 
held.

Subp. 11. Continuing education courses must be open. All continuing educa­
tion course offerings shall be open to any interested individuals. Access to 
prelicensing course offerings may be restricted by the sponsor.

Subp. 12. Fees. Fees for courses shall be reasonable and clearly identified to 
students.

Reasonable discounts o f tuition may be offered.
If a course is canceled for any reason, all fees shall be returned promptly. In 

all instances, the fees must be refunded within 30 days o f cancellation.
In the event that a course is postponed for any reason, students shall be given 

the choice o f attending the course at a later date or having their tuition refunded 
in full. The fees must be refunded within 30 days o f postponement unless the 
student has notified the sponsor that he or she has chosen to attend the postponed 
course.

A sponsor may have a refund policy addressing student’s cancellation or 
failure to complete a course, as long as that policy is clear to potential students.

Subp. 13. Adequate facility to be used. Each course o f study shall be conduct­
ed in a classroom or other facility which is adequate to comfortably accommo­
date the faculty and the number o f students enrolled. The sponsor may limit the 
number o f students enrolled in a course.

Subp. 14. National examinations. Courses leading to a recognized national 
examination shall be assigned continuing education credit hours m the same 
manner as other courses. A licensee who passes a national examination shall 
receive 20 hours o f continuing education credit, even though the licensee has not 
attended 20 or more hours o f courses leadmg to the examination.

Subp. 15. Correspondence courses. The amount o f continuing education 
credit received by an agent for a correspondence course shall be based on 
successful completion o f the course and subject to the number o f hours assigned 
by the commissioner.

Any offeror o f correspondence courses shall clearly disclose to any agent 
wishing to receive credit m Minnesota the number o f continuing education hours 
for which that particular course has been approved by the commissioner.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45 023, 60A. 17, 60A. 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538; 10 S R  2512

2725.0120 FALSIFICATION OF REPORTS.
A licensee or applicant found to have falsified an insurance education report 

to the commissioner shall be considered to have violated the insurance licensing 
law, and shall be subject to suspension or revocation o f his or her insurance 
license or denial o f  his or her application for licensing.

Statutory Authority: M S s 45 023; 60A 17; 60A.1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 SR 538, 10 SR 2512
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19 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 2725.0160

2725.0130 COM M ISSIONER’S RIGHT TO AUDIT.
The commissioner has the right to audit subject offerings with or without 

notice to the sponsor.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 45 023; 60A.17, 60A 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538; 10 S R  2512

2725.0140 GENERAL POW ERS OF COM M ISSIONER.
The commissioner may deny, censure, suspend, or revoke the approval o f  

a coordinator, instructor, or course if  it is determined not to be in compliance 
with the statute or rules governing the offering o f insurance education courses. 
The commissioner may also refuse to approve courses by specific sponsors i f  it 
is determined that past offerings have not been in compliance with insurance 
education laws and rules.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45.023, 60A.17; 60A.1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0150 MANDATORY NOTICE TO STUDENTS.
At the beginning o f each approved insurance education offering, one o f  the 

following notices, as is appropriate, shall be read to the students: “This course
has been approved by the commissioner o f commerce fo r ____ (number) hours'
o f insurance continuing education credit. I f  you have any comments about this 
offering, please mail them to the Commissioner o f Commerce, 500 Metro Square 
Building, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101.” or “This course has been approved by
the commissioner o f commerce fo r____ (number) hours o f insurance prehcens-
ing education credit. If you have any comments about this offering, please mail 
them to the Commissioner o f Commerce, 500 Metro Square Building, Saint Paul, 
Minnesota 55101.”

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45.023, 60A 17; 60A.1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0160 COURSE COORDINATOR.
Subpart 1. General requirement. Each course o f study shall have at least one 

coordinator, approved by the commissioner, who is responsible for supervising 
the program and assuring compliance with the statutes and rules governing the 
offering o f insurance education courses.. Assistants may be hired by the sponsor, 
however, the approved coordinator remains responsible for compliance with the 
laws.

Subp. 2. Qualifications. Course coordinators shall possess the following 
qualifications:

A. a minimum o f five years (during the immediately preceding five-year 
period) as an active licensed insurance agent; or ,

B. at least three years (during the immediately preceding five-year 
penod) full-time experience in the administration o f an education program; or

C. a degree m  education plus at least two years (during the immediately 
preceding five-year period) insurance experience.

Subp. 3. Forms. Applications for coordinator approval shall be submitted on 
forms prescribed by the commissioner.

Subp. 4. Responsibilities. The coordinator must:
A. Assure compliance with all laws and rules pertaining to insurance 

education.
B. Notify the commissioner o f any material change m applications for 

course or instructor approval.
C. Assure that students are provided with current and accurate informa­

tion.
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2725.0160 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 20

D. Supervise and evaluate courses and instructors. The commissioner 
may request written evaluations o f courses and/or instructors either by students 
or coordinators.

E. Investigate written complaints relating to course offerings and/or 
instructors, and' forward a copy o f the written complaints to the Department o f  
Commerce.

F. Maintain accurate records relating to course offerings, instructors, 
and student attendance for a period o f five years from the date the course was 
completed. If the coordinator leaves the employ o f the sponsor, the records must 
be turned over to the replacement coordinator or an officer o f  the sponsor. If a 
sponsor ceases.operation, the coordinator shall be responsible for maintaining 
the records or providing a custodian o f the records acceptable to the commission­
er. In order to be acceptable, custodians must agree to make copies o f student 
records available to students at a reasonable fee. Under no circumstances will the 
commissioner act as custodian o f the records.

G. Be available to instructors and students throughout the course offer­
ings, and provide the name o f the coordinator and a telephone number at which 
he or she can be reached.

H. Provide students with course completion certificates, on a form 
prescribed by the commissioner, within 30 days o f completion o f the course. 
Notwithstanding the preceding sentence, a coordinator may require payment o f  
the course tuition as a condition for receiving the course completion certificate.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45.023, 60A.17, 60A.1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0170 INSTRUCTORS.
Subpart 1. General requirement; continuing education. Failure to have only 

approved instructors teach at an approved continuing education offering will 
result in loss o f course approval.

If, after approval o f a course, the instructor named in the application for 
course approval is unable to teach the course and there is insufficient time to 
obtain approval o f a substitute instructor, proportional credit will be given for 
those parts o f the course taught by approved instructors.

Credit for the parts o f  a course taught by an unapproved instructor may be 
obtained i f  the following requirements are satisfied:

A. Within 15 business days after the course is taught by. an unapproved 
instructor, a request for approval o f the instructor is filed with the department. 
The request must be made on forms prescribed by the commissioner.

B. Notice o f the use o f an unapproved instructor must be given to all 
enrollees as soon as that fact is known and again prior to the commencement o f  
the course. The notice must state:

(1) that fewer credit hours may be earned for the course than the 
course was originally approved for;

(2) that a full refund will be given i f  the enrollee decides not to 
attend the course;

(3) that if  the enrollee does attend the course and does not earn the 
number o f credit hours for which the course was originally approved, a refund 
will be automatically made m  proportion to the reduction in credit hours earned. 
The refund will be made when the department’s determination is made as to the 
approval o f the substitute instructor.

Subp. la. General requirement; prelicensing education. Failure to have only 
approved instructors teach at an approved prelicensing education offering will 
result in loss o f course approval. If, after approval o f a course, the instructor 
named in the application for course approval is unable to teach the course and
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21 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 2725.0200

there is insufficient time to obtain approval o f a substitute instructor, credit for 
the parts o f a course taught by an unapproved instructor may be obtained if  the 
following requirements are satisfied:

A. Within 15 business days after the course is taught by'an unapproved 
instructor, a request for approval o f the instructor is filed with the department. 
The request must be made on forms, prescribed by the commissioner.

B. Notice o f the use o f an unapproved instructor must be given to all 
enrollees as soon as that fact is known and again prior to the commencement of 
the course. The notice must state:

(1) that no credit may be earned for the course;
(2) that a full refund will be given if  the enrollee decides not to 

attend the course;
(3) that if  the enrollee does attend the course and does not earn 

credit for the course, a refund will be automatically made. The refund will be 
made when the department’s determination is made as to the approval o f the 
substitute instructor.

Subp. 2. Qualifications. Instructors shall possess the following qualifications:
A. three years o f recent experience in the subject area being taught; or
B. a degree related to the subject area being taught, or
C. two years o f recent experience in the subject area being taught and 

60 hours o f course work m  the subject area being taught.
Subp 3. Responsibilities. Approved instructors must:

A. comply with all laws and rules pertaining to insurance education,,
B. provide students with current and accurate information, ■
C. maintain an atmosphere conducive to learning m a classroom; and
D. provide assistance to the students and respond to questions relating 

to course material.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 45.023, 60A.17, 60A 1701 subd 6 para (c) '
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0180 MANAGEM ENT RESPONSIBILITY OF SPONSORS.
Sponsors o f insurance education courses are responsible for the actions o f  

the coordinators and instructors.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 45 023, 60A 17; 60A 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0190 PROHIBITED PRACTICES.
The following practices o f sponsors, coordinators, and instructors are pro­

hibited:
A. misrepresenting any material submitted to the commissioner, and
B. promoting any particular insurance agency or company or their 

products.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 60A.1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538

2725.0200 NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR COORDINATORS 
AND INSTRUCTORS.

Coordinators and instructors must notify the commissioner within ten days 
after the occurrence o f the following:

A. A felony or gross misdemeanor conviction or o f disciplinary action 
taken against an insurance or other occupational license held by the coordinator 
or instructor. The conviction or action may be grounds for denying or revoking 
instructor or coordinator approval.
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2725.0200 INSURANCE CONTINUING EDUCATION 22

B. Any change o f information contained m an application for approval.
Statutory Authority: M S  s 60A. 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538

2725.0210 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.
A. Insurance education credit must be reported by the licensee on forms 

and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner.
B. Persons licensed for the first time on or after June 1 in any year shall 

not be subject to the continuing education requirements o f Minnesota Statutes, 
section 60A.1701, subdivision 8, until the commencement o f the following 
annual reporting period.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45.023, 60A 17; 60A 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0220 WAIVERS.
If a licensee provides satisfactory documentation to the commissioner that 

he or she is unable, and will continue to be unable, to attend actual classroom 
course work, because o f a physical handicap, medical condition, or similar 
reason, attendance at continuing education courses shall be waived for a period 
not to exceed one year. The commissioner shall require that the individual read 
a sufficient number o f insurance textbooks, or listen to a sufficient number o f  
insurance related tapes as would be necessary for the licensee to satisfy his or her 
educational credit hour needs. The commissioner shall award the licensee credit 
hours for reading books or listening to tapes by determining how many credit 
hours would be granted to a classroom course involving the same material and 
giving the licensee the same number o f credit hours under this part. The licensee 
may apply each year for a new waiver upon the same terms and conditions as 
were necessary to secure the original waiver. The commissioner may request such 
documentation o f the condition upon which the request for waiver is based as 
shall be necessary to satisfy the commissioner o f the existence o f the condition 
and that the condition does preclude attendance at continuing education courses.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 60A.1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538

2725.0230 CONTINUING EDUCATION EXTENSIONS.
Upon appropriate showing o f a bona fide financial or medical hardship, the 

commissioner shall extend, for up to 90 days, the time period during which the 
continuing education must be successfully completed. Loss o f income from either 
attendance at courses or cancellation o f a license is not a bona fide financial 
hardship.

Requests for extensions must be submitted in writing no later than April 1 
o f the year due and shall include an explanation with verification o f the hardship, 
plus verification o f enrollment at an approved course o f study.

Statutory Authority: M S  s 45.023; 60A.17; 60A 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 S R  538, 10 S R  2512

2725.0240 CONTINUING EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS.
A currently licensed insurance agent shall be exempted from continuing 

education requirements i f  the agent’s age and years licensed as an insurance agent 
in good standing m Minnesota exceed 85 years, as long as that agent has 
maintained an active insurance agent license m the state for the last ten consecu­
tive years.

Statutory Authority: M S s 45 023; 60A 17; 60A 1701 subd 6 para (c)
History: 10 SR 538; 10 SR 2512
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