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2100.0100 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300, the terms defined 

in this part have the meanings given them. 
Subp. la. Barbering. The practice of barbering as defined in Minnesota Statutes, sec­

tion 154.02, means the services described in that section when performed on a living person 
and includes those services when performed in conjunction with the selling of hair pieces, 
wigs, or an artificial hair application. 

Subp. 2. A license or certificate of registration as practicing barber. The phrase "a 
license or certificate of registration as practicing barber" contained in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 154.11, means a current certificate of registration as a certified barber. 

Subp. 3. Has practiced as a barber. The phrase "has practiced as a barber" contained 
in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11, means that a person has performed the acts of barber­
ing under a certificate of registration as either a registered barber or a registered apprentice. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

REGISTERED APPRENTICES 

2100.0200 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 
Upon completion of the required 1,500 hour course of training, the school shall issue 

each graduate a certificate of completion. 
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79 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 2100.0700 

Upon issuance of the certificate of completion, the graduate is eligible to be scheduled 
for the apprentice examination under part 2100.0500. 

In an emergency or in a situation beyond a student's control in which the 1,500 hours of 
training course cannot be completed before the apprentice examination schedule, the board 
shall make an exception from the requirement of course completion if: 

A. the course can be completed within the following week after the apprentice ex­
amination and before the registered barber examination; and 

B. the student has less than 48 hours to complete after the examination schedule in 
part 2100.0500. 

Results of examinations must not be issued until the certificate of completion is filed. 
Statutory Authority: MS s J54.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0300 NONRESIDENT APPRENTICE QUALIFICATIONS. 
The board must find the following to determine that another state or country has sub­

stantially the same requirements for registration of an apprentice as provided under Minne­
sota Statutes, chapter 154: 

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06, 
clause (1); 

B. graduation from a barber school that requires: 
(1) approval by a state requiring at least the same number of hours of instruc­

tion for school approval as Minnesota; and 
(2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07, and 

parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; and 
C. must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11. 

Applicants unable to comply with items A and B shall make up the difference in a Min­
nesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience shall be considered equivalent to or 
substantially the same as hours in school training. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.0500 EXAMINATION DATES. 
Examinations for a certificate as a registered apprentice shall be held the first week in 

February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the examination shall be given 
during the first week of the month preceding the month in which the examination is to be 
held. Two additional examinations may be held when the board determines it is cost efficient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0600 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION. 
Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical services. The 

type of haircut, shave, or beard trim and two of the following practical services: shampoo, 
perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be determined at the discretion of the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0700 GRADING OF EXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Grading criteria. The apprentice examinations given pursuant to Minneso­

ta Statutes, section 154.09 shall be graded as follows. The grading criteria for the written part 
of the examination and the passing grade thereon will be established for each written ex­
amination at the time of its preparation; however, the lowest passing grade established here­
under shall never be less than 55. The grading for the practical performances and the oral part 
of the examination will be on a scale of 1 to 100 with 100 representing a perfect score. A score 
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2100.0700 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 80 

of 70 will be the minimum passing grade for the haircut portion, and 70 will also be the mini­
mum passing score forthe average of the remaining parts of the practical performances. The 
minimum passing score for the oral portion of the examination will be 70. If an applicant does 
not receive at least the established minimum passing grade on the written portion of the ex­
amination, or at least a grade of 70 on the oral portion of the examination, the haircut portion 
of the examination, or score an average of at least 70 on the remaining parts of the practical 
examination, such applicant will have failed the entire examination, and thereafter may only 
retake the entire examination after paying the necessary fee and meeting the requirements of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06. 

Subp. 2. Grading system. The grade of an examination conducted pursuant to Minne­
sota Statutes, section 154.09 shall be determined under the following grading system: see 
grading card. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.0800 MODELS USED IN PRACTICAL EXAMINATION. 
The Board of Barber Examiners shall have discretion to change, supply, or reject mod­

els for an applicant's use in the practical parts of the examination in order to insure that the 
practical parts of the examination will be a fair test of the applicant's ability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.0900 REVIEW OF EXAMINATION RESULTS. 
An applicant may review his or her examination results at the office of the Board of Bar­

ber Examiners during usual business hours. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1000 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION. 
A student who fails the apprentice examination shall complete an additional 500 hours 

to be eligible to retake the apprentice examination, as many times as necessary to pass. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1100 APPRENTICE PRACTICE. 
The requirement of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4) regarding the prac­

ticing as a registered apprentice for a period of 12 months shall mean licensure for not less 
than 1,500 hours of work time. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1200 TIME REPORT. 
The registered barber who supervises the practice of a registered apprentice shall file an 

affidavit as to the number of hours the apprentice accumulated under the registered barber's 
supervision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1300 HOME STUDY COURSE. 
The 12 months practice of a registered apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, section 

154.05 shall include completion of the program entitled "Related Home Study Course for 
Apprentice Barbers" prepared or approved by the Board of Barber Examiners. The course 
must be successfully completed before the examination may be taken. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1400 PRACTICE COMPLETION BEFORE BARBER EXAMINATION. 
A registered apprentice meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, 

clause (4) if 1,500 hours and 12 months of practice are completed at any time before or within 
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81 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 2100.2700 

the week in which the examination is given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, 
clause (5). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1500 REPORTING PRACTICE UNDER SUPERVISION. 
A registered apprentice who practices under the immediate personal supervision of a 

registered barber must file with the annual license renewal, a statement of the number of 
hours completed and under whose supervision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1600 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.1700 EXPIRATION OF CERTIFICATE. 
Upon the expiration of a certificate of registration to practice as an apprentice pursuant 

to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06, an individual will be required to pass an apprentice 
examination to attain apprentice status. If the applicant fails the apprentice examination so 
taken, the applicant must complete an additional 500 hours of training in a duly licensed Min­
nesota barber school to qualify to retake the apprentice examination. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

REGISTERED BARBERS 

2100.2500 EXAMINATION DATES. 
Examinations for a certificate as a registered barber shall be held in the second week of 

February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the examination shall be given 
during the first week of the month preceding the month in which the examination is to be 
held. Two additional examinations may be held when the board determines it is cost efficient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2600 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 
An applicant for examination as a registered barber shall file an application for ex­

amination and a sworn affidavit of completing 12 months and 1,500 hours of supervision on 
forms furnished by the board. This application must be filed with the board no later than the 
20th day of the month preceding the month in which the examination is to be given; provided, 
however, that the board shall, upon the showing of a hardship, accept applications at a later 
date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2700 NONRESIDENT BARBERS; QUALIFICATIONS. 
The board must find the following to determine that another state or country has sub­

stantially the same requirements for registration of barbers as provided under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 154: 

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, 
clause (1); 

B. graduation from a barber school that requires: 
(1) approval by a state requiring at least the same number of hours of instruc­

tion for school approval as Minnesota; and 
(2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07, and 

parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; 
C. must meet requirements for a registered apprentice in Minnesota Statutes, sec­

tion 154.05, clause (4); and 
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2100.2700 LICENSING, REGISTRATION, AND OPERATION 82 

D. the same practice requirements for a registered apprentice as set forth in Minne­
sota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4). 

Applicants unable to comply with items A and B must make up the difference in a Min­
nesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience shall be considered equivalent to or 
substantially the same as hours in school training. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2800 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.2900 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION. 
Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical services. The 

type of haircut, shave or beard trim, and two of the following practical services: shampoo, 
perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be determined at the discretion of the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.3000 GRADING OF EXAMINATION. 
The registered barber examinations given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 

154.09 shall be graded as follows: The grading criteria for the written part of the examination 
and the passing grade thereon will be established for each written examination at the time of 
its preparation; however, the lowest passing grade established hereunder shall never be less 
than 55. The grading for the practical performances and the oral part of the examination will 
be on a scale of 1 to 100 with 100 representing a perfect score. A score of 75 will be the mini­
mum passing grade for the haircut portion, and 75 will also be the minimum passing score for 
the average of the remaining parts of the practical performances. The minimum passing 
score for the oral portion of the examination will be 75. If an applicant does not receive at 
least the established minimum passing grade on the written portion of the examination, or at 
least a grade of 75 on the oral portion of the examination, the haircut portion of the examina­
tion, or score an average of at least 75 on the remaining parts of the practical examination, 
such applicant will have failed the entire examination, and thereafter may only retake the 
entire examination after paying the necessary fee and meeting the requirements of Minneso­
ta Statutes, section 154.05. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.3100 MODELS USED IN PRACTICAL EXAMINATION. 
The Board of Barber Examiners shall have discretion to change, supply, or reject mod­

els for an applicant's use in the practical parts of the examination in order to insure that the 
practical parts of the examination will be a fair test of the applicant's ability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.3200 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION; ADDITIONAL APPRENTICE PRAC­
TICE. 

An apprentice who fails to satisfactorily pass an examination for a certificate of regis­
tration to practice as a registered barber, must practice an additional two months and 300 
hours to be eligible to retake the examination. The additional two months practice required 
by Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (5) shall include not less than 300 hours of 
work time. The registered barber who supervises the additional two months practice must 
file an affidavit with the board for the additional practice period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.3300 FAILURE TO RENEW CERTIFICATE WITHIN ONE YEAR. 
A registered barber who has failed to renew the certificate of registration for one year or 

more from the date of expiration must take and pass the registered barber examination before 
a certificate of registration may be issued. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 17 SR 1279 
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LICENSED INSTRUCTORS 

2100.4000 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE EXAMINATION. 
An applicant for examination as a registered teacher or instructor in a barber school 

shall file the application with the board not later than the 20th day of the month preceding the 
month in which the examination is to be given; provided, however, that the board shall, upon 
the showing of a hardship, accept applications at a later date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s J54.065 subd 5 
History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.4100 GRADING THE INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE EXAMINATION. 
Examinations given to applicants for an instructor's license shall be graded. An appli­

cant for an instructor's certificate must receive a minimum grade of at least 70 on each phase 
of the examination and an average of at least 75 on all phases to pass the examination, and if 
any part of the examination is failed, the entire examination must be retaken. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4200 RENEWING INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE. 
The board will not renew an instructor's license if the person does not hold a current 

vocational teacher's certificate. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.4400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.4500 INSTRUCTOR LICENSE QUALIFICATION. 
To qualify for an instructor's examination, an applicant must be a licensed registered 

barber with five years' experience and hold a current vocational teacher's certificate. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

BARBER SCHOOLS 

2100.5000 LICENSE REQUIREMENT. 
No person shall operate a barber school in Minnesota without having first obtained a 

license from the Board of Barber Examiners. Persons holding a permit for the conduct of a 
barber school which was issued prior to the adoption of these rules have a period of 60 days 
after the adoption of these rules to file the necessary documents showing conformance with 
these rules with the exception of the course outline required by part 2100.5100, subpart 2. 
After the date of adoption of these rules all barber schools operating or requesting a license to 
operate will be governed by and shall proceed in accordance with these rules. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5100 LICENSE APPLICATION. 
Subpart 1. Verified statement. A person desiring to operate a barber school in Minne­

sota shall present to the board a verified statement showing at least the following: 
A. all information required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 elsewhere in these 

rules; 
B. the name of the applicant or applicants together with their occupations and resi­

dences for the ten years immediately prior to making applications; 
C. the address of the proposed school; 
D. a complete financial statement; and 
E. a plan of operation of the school setting forth the following information: 

(1) drawings showing the number of chairs to be installed and showing a 
minimum of five feet between barber chairs, measuring from center to center, the waiting 
area must be separate from work stations; 
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(2) drawings showing classroom space with a minimum area of 25 square feet 
available for each proposed student in classroom space; 

(3) a statement showing that the following will be available: one desk for each 
student enrolled; one chart on skin and hair; one chart on blood supply to face and neck; one 
chart on the muscles of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the nerves of the face, head, and 
neck; one chart on the bones of the face, head, and neck; and one blackboard of a size not less 
than six feet by 3-1/2 feet; 

(4) plans showing the following: separate toilet and washroom facilities for 
men and women; plumbing and sewer system appropriate to the size and use of the building 
as a barber school; a statement regarding the availability and intended use of municipal sewer 
and water supplies; 

(5) plans for appropriate lighting and ventilating systems; 
(6) plans showing use of a type of floor material such as tile or linoleum which 

may be easily kept clean and sanitary; 
(7) plans for proper sanitization facilities including the following: one sink 

for each barber chair or dispensary as required in part 2100.8100, subpart 3; one closed cabi­
net for clean towels for each barber chair; one closed container for soiled towels for each 
barber chair; one time clock; and one hair dryer; and 

(8) plans for adequate waiting chairs and clothes racks. 
Subp. 2. Course outline. All barber schools shall submit to the board a full course out­

line including each instructional unit, showing a course of instruction comprising an aggre­
gate of not less than 1,500 hours, of not more than eight work instruction hours in any one 
working day. A copy of each school's curriculum will be filed with the board. In the case of 
applicants for a license to operate a barber school submitted to the board after the adoption of 
these rules, the application will contain the foregoing statements. Barber schools in existence 
at the time of adoption of these rules shall have two months from the date of adoption for 
submission of the outline prescribed by this part. All schools shall submit a complete student 
course syllabus to the board at the time of application for license and any renewal of it. 

Subp. 3. Brochure. Applicants for a license to operate a barber school shall submit a 
copy of a brochure which will be made available to students upon approval of the application. 
This brochure shall list the fees which will be charged; together with enrollment and termina­
tion procedures for students. Any change in the tuition fee listed in this brochure must be 
immediately reported, in writing, to the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5200 CONSIDERATIONS IN LICENSE ISSUANCE. 
Subpart 1. Factors. Upon receipt of an application for establishment of a barber school, 

the board shall give consideration to the factors in subparts 2 to 5. 
Subp. 2. Public welfare. The board shall give consideration to any detriment to the 

public welfare and the need for barber school facilities in the community and neighborhood 
where the proposed barber school is to be located, giving particular consideration to: 

A. the economic character of the community and neighborhood; 
B. the effect on existing barber shops and barber schools in the community; 
C. the availability of adequate support for the proposed barber school in the com­

munity and neighborhood with particular regard to adequate practice for students; 
D. the extent to which the proposed barber school would draw patrons from adja­

cent communities or neighborhoods and the character thereof; and 
E. the effect of the establishment of a barber school on the social and economic 

aspects of the community and neighborhood and adjacent communities and neighborhoods 
in regard to the proposed site. 

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 
Subp. 4. [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 
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Subp. 5. Student-license ratio. There must be at least one instructor for every 17 stu­
dents enrolled. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5300 PUBLIC HEARING ON LICENSE APPLICATION. 
Upon receipt of an application for the establishment of a barber school, the board shall 

conduct a public hearing in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, and rules pro­
mulgated thereunder. The applicant shall show at such hearing, by competent evidence, the 
factual basis of the assertions of the application and the applicant's qualifications as required 
by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, and the rules of the board. The applicant shall further 
show financial qualifications and it shall be a sufficient reason for denial of the application 
that the board considers the financial resources of the applicant to be insufficient to maintain 
and operate a barber school and assure the graduation of students who are registered in such 
school and have paid their tuition. 

Statutory Authority: MS s J54.24 

History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.5400 CORPORATIONS PROHIBITED. 
No school license shall be issued to a corporation, nor shall the school indicate any affil­

iation with a corporation. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5500 LOCATION OF LICENSE, TRANSFER OF LOCATION, OR EXPAN­
SION OF SCHOOL. 

Subpart 1. Location. Licenses shall issue for only a specific location upon the applica­
tion of an individual who is to operate the school. Licenses shall not be transferable to any 
other individual or location without the approval by the board. The facilities of an approved 
barber school shall not be expanded or increased without the prior approval of the board, as 
provided in subpart 2. 

Subp. 2. Transfer of license, change of location, or expansion of school. Upon receipt 
of an application to the board for transfer of a license, change of location of the barber school 
facility, or expansion of the school, the board shall approve or deny the application in accord­
ance with the standards of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07, and parts 2100.5100 to 
2100.5200. If the board denies the application, it shall notify the applicant of a right to a hear­
ing under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 12 SR 1710 

2100.5600 RENEWAL OF LICENSE. 
Subpart 1. Application. Owners of barber schools shall make annual application for 

renewal of their licenses in accordance with the rules of the board. The board shall make a 
new determination annually that the school meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 154, and part 2100.5100, subpart 2, of the board before issuing the renewal license. 

Subp. 2. Nonrenewal; hearing. In the event that a license is not renewed by the board 
upon application pursuant to these rules, the aggrieved applicant may by written notice to the 
board request a public hearing concerning the denial of his or her application in accordance 
with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, and rules adopted thereunder. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5700 REGISTERED INSTRUCTORS, TEMPORARY TEACHER, OR EMER­
GENCY TEACHER. 

Subpart 1. Number of registered instructors. The provisions of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 154.07 requiring one registered instructor for every 17 students or minor fraction in 
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excess thereof applies to classroom instruction as well as practical instruction. "Minor frac­
tion in excess thereof means a maximum of 20 students per instructor for a period of no more 
than three months. An applicant shall name in the application the names of all instructors and 
teachers. The board will not issue a temporary teacher's permit for a new school. To assure 
barber school students adequate uninterrupted training, a temporary teacher's permit can be 
issued upon approval of the board. 

Subp. 2. Temporary permits. This subpart applies to temporary teacher's permits. 
A. To be granted a temporary teacher's permit, a permit applicant must: 

(1) hold a current Minnesota registered barber's license; 
(2) have practiced for at least two years as a registered barber; and 
(3) show proof of a temporary vocational teaching permit and continuous en­

rollment talcing courses as required by part 2100.4500. 
B. Application forms will be prepared and furnished by the board. Applications 

must be signed and sworn to by the applicant and contain proof of the minimum qualifica­
tions and qualifications for a teacher's vocational certificate and the barber instructor ex­
amination. The applicant shall furnish to the board two photographs, three inches by five in­
ches in size, signed by the applicant. One photograph must be returned with the permit and 
one must be kept on file with the application. 

C. The applicant shall pay the required application fee. 
D. Permits must be annually renewed on or before December 31 of each year. 
E. The permit must be posted in the school. 
F. A barber school may only have a temporary teacher for each licensed instructor 

or for each 17 students at any given time. 
G. Persons holding a temporary teacher's permit shall immediately inform the 

board of any change in location of the teacher's work place. 
H. The board will not issue a temporary teacher's permit for a new school or for 

expansion of a school. 
1. A temporary teacher's permit is valid for four years from the date it is issued if 

continued educational courses are being pursued. 
J. Any request for a temporary teacher's permit must be made by the applicant and 

verified by the school of barbering. 
K. The Board of Barber Examiners shall keep an active list of all instructors and 

temporary teacher's permits. 
L. All temporary teacher permit holders shall notify the board of any change in the 

permitee's work place, address, or phone number. 
Subp. 3. Emergency teacher permit. 

A. To assure barber school students adequate uninterrupted training, an emergen­
cy teacher permit may be issued in an emergency if: 

(1) a sudden unexpected happening of an unforeseen occurrence or condition 
demanding sudden or unexpected actions, exigency, or pressing necessity occurs; 

(2) the board is notified by the school immediately after an emergency arises 
and is informed as to the nature of the emergency and who is being considered as the emer­
gency teacher; 

(3) the board verifies that no licensed instructor or temporary teacher is avail­
able; and 

(4) an applicant holds a current registered barber license. 
B. Upon the fulfillment of the conditions provided in item A, an emergency teach­

er's permit shall be issued without delay. The maximum duration of an emergency teacher 
permit is 30 days. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 
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2100.5800 STUDENT APTITUDE TEST. 
Each barber school shall be required to give an aptitude test to each prospective student. 

The aptitude test shall be approved by the Board of Barber Examiners and shall include ex­
amination for dexterity in addition to examinations for other aptitudes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.5900 STUDENT PHYSICAL EXAMINATION. 
Each student shall receive a physical examination for communicable or infectious dis­

eases and either a mantoux test or a chest x-ray. The student shall, upon completion of such 
examination, submit a doctor's certificate to the board that the student is free from conta­
gious or infectious disease. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.6000 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION. 
Each student, including each part-time student, must complete at least 281 classroom 

hours and 1,219 practical hours in the required 1,500-hour course. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.6100 STUDENT WORK COMPLETION. 
An instructor may help a beginning student finish a service on a patron upon request by 

the student. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.6200 MONTHLY STUDENT REPORT. 
All approved barber schools shall file with the Board of Barber Examiners a monthly 

student report in substantially the following form: (see monthly report). Failure to comply 
with this requirement shall be grounds for denial of an an annual barber school permit autho­
rized under Minnesota Statutes, section 154.07. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6300 STUDENT OBSERVATION SHEET. 
All barber schools shall maintain on a current basis an observation sheet upon which 

will be recorded an analysis of the behavior and attitude of each student enrolled. The ob­
servation sheets will be open to inspection by the board, any member of the board, or a duly 
authorized agent of the board at all times. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6400 TRANSFER OF STUDENT'S PLACE. 
No barber school shall act as an agent in any respect to either students or prospective 

students regarding any attempt to transfer, sell, or assign a student's place in a barber school. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6500 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.6600 BARBER SCHOOL SIGN. 
All barber schools shall have prominently displayed a sign stating "BARBER 

SCHOOL — ALL WORK DONE BY STUDENTS" with letters at least six inches high. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

BARBER SHOPS 

2100.7000 PERMANENT LOCATION. 
Each barber shop in the state of Minnesota must be permanently located at one address, 

due to the difficulty of implementation of inspection procedures. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
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2100.7100 SHOP REGISTRATION CARD. 
Upon application for a barber shop's first shop registration card pursuant to Minnesota 

Statutes, section 154.085, a proposed floor plan will be submitted for the board's approval at 
least 30 days prior to the scheduled shop opening date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7200 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7500 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

OPERATION OF BARBER SCHOOLS AND BARBER SHOPS 

2100.7600 BARBER CHAIRS. 
Barber chairs must be spaced not less than five feet apart center to center. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7700 OTHER USE OF PREMISES. 
Subpart 1. Prohibited uses. No person shall use any room or part of a place which is 

also used for residential purposes, or any business purpose other than barbering, unless the 
areas are separated by substantial partition, extending from the floor to the ceiling. Further, 
any door or other entrance leading into the residential or other business portion of the build­
ing must be used only for the passage of barbers or other employees. 

Subp. 2. Exception: barber shop with beauty shop. Subpart 1 notwithstanding, a 
beauty shop and a barber shop may be operated in conjunction, without being separated by a 
partition of ceiling height. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.7800 LICENSING. 
No person shall practice or attempt to practice barbering without a certificate of regis­

tration issued pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7900 MEDICAL TREATMENT. 
No barber, apprentice barber, or student barber shall undertake to treat any disease of the 

skin, nor apply any medicine or treatment which administration is not distinctly a part of bar­
bering. No barber shall apply drops to the eyes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.8000 CLEANLINESS OF PERSONNEL. 
The operator shall wear clean uniforms or clean clothes at all times. The operator shall 

cleanse the hands thoroughly with soap and clean water before attending each patron. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 17 SR 1279 

2100.8100 SANITIZATION. 
Subpart 1. Instruments. Razors, shears, combs, clipper blades, hairbrush, and all other 

instruments or appliances that come in contact with the head, neck, or face must be thorough­
ly cleaned and sanitized by submersion for a minimum of two minutes after use on each pa­
tron. As an alternative to submersion, clipper blades and shears may be treated by spraying 
them with a commercial spray containing active ingredients not less than 0.25 percent 
o-phenyl phenol, 11.00 percent isopropyl alcohol, and 88.75 percent inert ingredients. As an 
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extra measure, instruments may be wiped or sprayed with a solution of 10:1 household 
bleach before being used. When not in use, they must be kept in a clean closed compartment 
provided for and used only for storage of instruments. Styptic pencil and lump alum are posi­
tively prohibited. Contact with raw blood or body fluids should be avoided. If accidentally 
exposed, immediate washing with soap and running water is required. 

Subp. 2. Sanitizer. All barber shops and barber schools shall have in use at all times at 
each chair a wet or dip sanitizer which is adequate in size to accommodate all instruments to 
be used on each patron. The wet sanitizer shall contain a suitable chemical bactericide solu­
tion which shall be bacteriologically effective, such as 0.1 percent suitable quaternary am­
monium compound, or by other means having a solution equivalent to five percent phenol, or 
Other chemical sanitizing agent having equivalent bactericidal effect. The chemical solution 
shall be changed daily or more often, as needed. 

One dip disinfectant solution container will be kept for each barber chair in operation. 
Instruments immersed in the dip disinfectant solution container will be carefully rinsed in 
warm running water before use. Failure to provide a sink or dip disinfectant solution contain­
er constitutes prima facie evidence that instruments are not properly sanitized. 

At least one sink or lavatory must be provided in each room, booth, stall, compartment, 
or the immediate area in which barbers work. If more than two barber chairs are in any room, 
booth, stall, or compartment, at least one sink or lavatory must be provided for each two bar­
ber chairs at which the barbers work. Each barber must have free access to the sink or lavato­
ry without obstruction from other chairs, partitions, wall dividers, or other barriers. 

Subp. 3. Dispensary. A dispensary must be located in each barber shop and each barber 
school where hot and cold running water is not present within five feet of the working chair. 
A dispensary is a room, booth, or area where implements will be cleansed, disinfected, and 
stored. A dispensary must contain the following furnishings: 

A. A container large enough to accommodate all soiled implements in which those 
instruments, such as combs and brushes, can be totally immersed for washing. All nonim-
mersi ve or electrical implements such as clippers, clipper blades, and shears must be sprayed 
according to subpart 1. 

B. One sink with hot and cold running water to cleanse implements mentioned in 
item A to be used for washing of hands before serving each patron. 

C. A container with suitable chemical bactericide solution to accommodate and 
immerse all immersible implements after being washed for at least two minutes before being 
used or stored. 

D. A container large enough for storage of clean disinfected implements. 
E. A container filled with fresh disinfectant solution in which razors will be stored 

or dipped at least two minutes before being used. 
Subp. 4. Hand washing. Hands shall be washed with soap and running water immedi­

ately before serving each and every patron. 
Subp. 5. Implement storage. Implements that require washing and disinfecting by to­

tal immersion must not be stored at the work station unless running water is present at the 
working chair. 

Subp. 6. Shampoo sinks. The shampoo area shall have one shampoo sink for each six 
chairs. 

Subp. 7. Minimum implements. Each barber shall have at least 15 combs and ten 
brushes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s J54.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.8200 TOWELS. 
A separate, clean towel or neck band shall be used for each patron. All barber shops and 

barber schools shall have sufficient closed sanitary towel cabinets for storage of clean towels 
and closed hampers for soiled towels. All soiled towels after use on each customer shall be 
placed in a closed hamper and shall not be left on the lavatory or workstand. The headrest 
shall be provided with a clean towel or clean paper for each patron served. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
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2100.8300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.8400 WALLS, CEILING, FLOOR, AND FURNITURE. 
The walls, ceilings, floor, and furniture in every barber shop or barber school shall be 

kept clean and in good repair. Floors of barber shops or barber schools shall be covered with 
hardwood, linoleum, composition tile, or some other washable and nonporous material. 
These requirements shall include the proper cleaning of floors, shelves, cabinets, chairs, 
trays, and other barber shop or barber school equipment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8500 LIGHTING AND VENTILATION. 
Barber shops and barber schools shall have adequate lighting and be properly venti­

lated. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8600 HEALTH OF PERSONNEL. 
No owner or manager shall permit any person suffering from a communicable disease 

to act as a barber. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8700 POSTING RULES. 
The owner or manager of any barber shop or barber school shall post a copy of these 

rules in a conspicuous place where they can be read by the patrons of the establishment. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8800 RESPONSIBILITY FOR VIOLATIONS. 
For the purpose of this act, barbers, apprentice barbers, student barbers, or the propri­

etor or manager shall be responsible for all violations of the sanitary provisions of the act. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8900 PENALTIES. 
For the purpose of this act, no establishment shall be open for service to the public until 

all sanitary provisions of this act have been complied with. These rules pursuant to Minneso­
ta Statutes, chapter 154 have been approved by the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners 
and the Minnesota Board of Health. A violation of any of these rules shall be punishable by a 
fine not less than $ 10 nor more than $ 100 or imprisonment for not less than ten days nor more 
than 90 days and shall be cause for suspension or revocation of a certificate of registration or 
shop registration card. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

INSPECTIONS 

2100.9000 RIGHT OF ENTRY. 
Any duly authorized employee of the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners, Minneso­

ta Board of Health, or board of health as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 145A.02, 
subdivision 2, shall have authority to enter upon and inspect any barber shop or barber school 
at any time during business hours. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: L 1987 c 309 s 24 

2100.9100 INSPECTION SLIPS. 
An inspector employed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.23 shall fill out an 

inspection slip for each inspection made and shall insert the time of the inspection on the first 
and last inspection slips for the day and each of those slips shall be signed by the barber of the 
place that was inspected. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 17 SR 1279 
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2100.9200 INSPECTION PROCEDURE. 
Inspectors hired by the board shall make their inspections in conformity with the fol­

lowing procedures: 
A. Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners shall periodically designate the area in 

which inspection shall be made. 
B. The Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners will periodically advise inspectors 

of those violations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 concerning which the inspectors 
may summarily file complaints with the local civil authorities. Inspectors will make written 
reports to the board of all such complaints filed. 

C. Any and all violations of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 shall be submitted to 
the board by the inspectors. Thereafter, the board may, at its discretion, take appropriate ac­
tion regarding such violations in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 and rules 
promulgated thereunder. 

D. All written reports made by the inspector shall contain the name and address of 
the offender, the exact nature of the violation, the section of the statute violated, the date of 
the violation, and the action taken by the inspector. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.9300 FEES. 
Subpart 1. Fee schedule. The Board of Barber Examiners shall charge the following 

fees: 
A. examination and certificate, registered barber, $55; 
B. examination and certificate, apprentice, $50; 
C. examination, instructor, $150; 
D. certificate, instructor, $35; 
E. temporary teacher permit, $25; 
F. renewal of license, registered barber, $25; 
G. renewal of license, apprentice, $20; 
H. renewal of license, instructor, $35; 
I. renewal of temporary teacher permit, $25; 
J. student permit, $10; 
K. initial shop registration, $50; 
L. initial school registration, $1,000; 
M. renewal shop registration, $35; 
N. renewal school registration, $200; 
O. restoration of registered barber license, $50; 
P. restoration of apprentice license, $45; 
Q. restoration of shop registration, $60; 
R. change of ownership or location, $25; and 
S. duplicate license, $10. 

Subp. 2. Duplicate license. Any photocopy of a license made by the board for an offi­
cial purpose shall be stamped with the office state seal. 

Subp. 3. Restoration fee. A restoration fee is a fee charged a licensee to restore a li­
cense that has not been renewed in a timely manner. The fee is comprised of the license fee 
plus a late penalty fee. 

Subp. 4. Renewals; schedule. This subpart governs renewals of licenses and registra­
tions. 

A. Apprentices, barbers, instructors, temporary teacher permits, and school li­
censes shall renew their licenses by no later than December 31 of each year for the ensuing 
year to avoid a late penalty fee. 

B. Shop registration shall be renewed by no later than June 30 of each year for the 
ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee. 

C. Change of location and change of ownership shall be filed within 30 days of the 
action. 
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Subp. 5. License requirements. An active barber must hold a current license and must 
post it at the work station. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24; 214.06 

History: 11 SR 2284; 13 SR 1916 
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