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2100.0100 DEFINITIONS. 
Subpart 1. Scope. For the purpose of parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300, the 

terms defined in this part have the meanings given them. 
Subp. la. Barbering. The practice of barbering as defined in Minnesota 

Statutes, section 154.02, means the services described in that section when 
performed on a living person and includes those services when performed in 
conjunction with the selling of hair pieces, wigs, or an artificial hair application. 

Subp. 2. A license or certificate of registration as practicing barber. The 
phrase "a license or certificate of registration as practicing barber" contained in 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11, means a current certificate of registration as 
a certified barber. 

Subp. 3. Has practiced as a barber. The phrase "has practiced as a barber" 
contained in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11, means that a person has per­
formed the acts of barbering under a certificate of registration as either a regis­
tered barber or a registered apprentice. 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1989

Copyright © 1989 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



1621 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 2100.0600 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

REGISTERED APPRENTICES 

2100.0200 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 
Upon completion of the required 1,500 hour course of training, the school 

shall issue each graduate a certificate of completion. 
Upon issuance of the certificate of completion, the graduate is eligible to be 

scheduled for the apprentice examination under part 2100.0500. 
In an emergency or in a situation beyond a student's control in which the 

1,500 hours of training course cannot be completed before the apprentice exami­
nation schedule, the board shall make an exception from the requirement of 
course completion if: 

A. the course can be completed within the following week after the 
apprentice examination and before the registered barber examination; and 

B. the student has less than 48 hours to complete after the examination 
schedule in part 2100.0500. 

Results of examinations must not be issued until the certificate of comple­
tion is filed. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0300 NONRESIDENT APPRENTICE QUALIFICATIONS. 
The board must find the following to determine that another state or country 

has substantially the same requirements for registration of an apprentice as 
provided under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154: 

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 
154.06, clause (1); 

B. graduation from a barber school that requires: 
(1) approval by a state requiring at least the same number of hours 

of instruction for school approval as Minnesota; and 
(2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota Statutes, section 

154.07, and parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; and 
C. must meet the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.11. 

Applicants unable to comply with items A and B shall make up the difference 
in a Minnesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience shall be consid­
ered equivalent to or substantially the same as hours in school training. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.0500 EXAMINATION DATES. 
Examinations for a certificate as a registered apprentice shall be held the first 

week in February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of the 
examination shall be given during the first week of the month preceding the 
month in which the examination is to be held. Two additional examinations may 
be held when the board determines it is cost efficient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0600 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION. 
Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical 
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2100.0600 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 1622 

services. The type of haircut, shave, or beard trim and two of the following 
practical services: shampoo, perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be 
determined at the discretion of the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.0700 GRADING OF EXAMINATION. 
Subpart 1. Grading criteria. The apprentice examinations given pursuant to 

Minnesota Statutes, section 154.09 shall be graded as follows. The grading 
criteria for the written part of the examination and the passing grade thereon will 
be established for each written examination at the time of its preparation; 
however, the lowest passing grade established hereunder shall never be less than 
55. The grading for the practical performances and the oral part of the examina­
tion will be on a scale of 1 to 100 with 100 representing a perfect score. A score 
of 70 will be the minimum passing grade for the haircut portion, and 70 will also 
be the minimum passing score for the average of the remaining parts of the 
practical performances. The minimum passing score for the oral portion of the 
examination will be 70. If an applicant does not receive at least the established 
minimum passing grade on the written portion of the examination, or at least a 
grade of 70 on the oral portion of the examination, the haircut portion of the 
examination, or score an average of at least 70 on the remaining parts of the 
practical examination, such applicant will have failed the entire examination, 
and thereafter may only retake the entire examination after paying the necessary 
fee and meeting the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06. 

Subp. 2. Grading system. The grade of an examination conducted pursuant 
to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.09 shall be determined under the following 
grading system: see grading card. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.0800 MODELS USED IN PRACTICAL EXAMINATION. 
The Board of Barber Examiners shall have discretion to change, supply, or 

reject models for an applicant's use in the practical parts of the examination in 
order to insure that the practical parts of the examination will be a fair test of 
the applicant's ability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.0900 REVIEW OF EXAMINATION RESULTS. 
An applicant may review his or her examination results at the office of the 

Board of Barber Examiners during usual business hours. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1000 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION. 
A student who fails the apprentice examination shall complete an additional 

500 hours to be eligible to retake the apprentice examination, as many times as 
necessary to pass. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1100 APPRENTICE PRACTICE. 
The requirement of Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4) regarding 

the practicing as a registered apprentice for a period of 12 months shall mean 
licensure for not less than 1,500 hours of work time. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 
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1623 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 2100.2600 

2100.1200 TIME REPORT. 
The registered barber who supervises the practice of a registered apprentice 

shall file an affidavit as to the number of hours the apprentice accumulated under 
the registered barber's supervision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1300 HOME STUDY COURSE. 
The 12 months practice of a registered apprentice under Minnesota Statutes, 

section 154.05 shall include completion of the program entitled "Related Home 
Study Course for Apprentice Barbers" prepared or approved by the Board of 
Barber Examiners. The course must be successfully completed before the exami­
nation may be taken. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1400 PRACTICE COMPLETION BEFORE BARBER EXAMINATION. 
A registered apprentice meets the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, sec­

tion 154.05, clause (4) if 1,500 hours and 12 months of practice are completed 
at any time before or within the week in which the examination is given pursuant 
to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (5). 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1500 REPORTING PRACTICE UNDER SUPERVISION. 
A registered apprentice who practices under the immediate personal supervi­

sion of a registered barber must file with the annual license renewal, a statement 
of the number of hours completed and under whose supervision. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.1600 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.1700 EXPIRATION OF CERTIFICATE. 
Upon the expiration of a certificate of registration to practice as an appren­

tice pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.06, an individual will be required 
to pass an apprentice examination to attain apprentice status. If the applicant 
fails the apprentice examination so taken, the applicant must complete an addi­
tional 500 hours of training in a duly licensed Minnesota barber school to qualify 
to retake the apprentice examination. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
REGISTERED BARBERS 

2100.2500 EXAMINATION DATES. 
Examinations for a certificate as a registered barber shall be held in the 

second week of February, May, August, and November of each year. Notice of 
the examination shall be given during the first week of the month preceding the 
month in which the examination is to be held. Two additional examinations may 
be held when the board determines it is cost efficient. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2600 APPLICATION FOR EXAMINATION. 
An applicant for examination as a registered barber shall file an application 
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2100.2600 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 1624 

for examination and a sworn affidavit of completing 12 months and 1,500 hours 
of supervision on forms furnished by the board. This application must be filed 
with the board no later than the 20th day of the month preceding the month in 
which the examination is to be given; provided, however, that the board shall, 
upon the showing of a hardship, accept applications at a later date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2700 NONRESIDENT BARBERS; QUALIFICATIONS. 
The board must find the following to determine that another state or country 

has substantially the same requirements for registration of barbers as provided 
under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154: 

A. the same educational requirements as Minnesota Statutes, section 
154.05, clause (1); 

B. graduation from a barber school that requires: 
(1) approval by a state requiring at least the same number of hours 

of instruction for school approval as Minnesota; and 
(2) a curriculum that is equivalent to Minnesota Statutes, section 

154.07, and parts 2100.0100 to 2100.9300; 
C. must meet requirements for a registered apprentice in Minnesota 

Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4); and 
D. the same practice requirements for a registered apprentice as set forth 

in Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (4). 
Applicants unable to comply with items A and B must make up the difference 

in a Minnesota accredited barber school. Barbering experience shall be consid­
ered equivalent to or substantially the same as hours in school training. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.2800 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.2900 CONTENTS OF EXAMINATION. 
Each examination consists of six parts: oral, written, and four practical 

services. The type of haircut, shave or beard trim, and two of the following 
practical services: shampoo, perm wrap, facial, or color application, will be 
determined at the discretion of the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.3000 GRADING OF EXAMINATION. 
The registered barber examinations given pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, 

section 154.09 shall be graded as follows: The grading criteria for the written part 
of the examination and the passing grade thereon will be established for each 
written examination at the time of its preparation; however, the lowest passing 
grade established hereunder shall never be less than 55. The grading for the 
practical performances and the oral part of the examination will be on a scale of 
1 to 100 with 100 representing a perfect score. A score of 75 will be the minimum 
passing grade for the haircut portion, and 75 will also be the minimum passing 
score for the average of the remaining parts of the practical performances. The 
minimum passing score for the oral portion of the examination will be 75. If an 
applicant does not receive at least the established minimum passing grade on the 
written portion of the examination, or at least a grade of 75 on the oral portion 
of the examination, the haircut portion of the examination, or score an average 
of at least 75 on the remaining parts of the practical examination, such applicant 
will have failed the entire examination, and thereafter may only retake the entire 

                        
MINNESOTA RULES 1989

Copyright © 1989 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.
                                                                      



1625 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 2100.4200 

examination after paying the necessary fee and meeting the requirements of 
Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.3100 MODELS USED IN PRACTICAL EXAMINATION. 
The Board of Barber Examiners shall have discretion to change, supply, or 

reject models for an applicant's use in the practical parts of the examination in 
order to insure that the practical parts of the examination will be a fair test of 
the applicant's ability. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.3200 FAILURE OF EXAMINATION; ADDITIONAL APPRENTICE 
PRACTICE. 

An apprentice who fails to satisfactorily pass an examination for a certificate 
of registration to practice as a registered barber, must practice an additional two 
months and 300 hours to be eligible to retake the examination. The additional 
two months practice required by Minnesota Statutes, section 154.05, clause (5) 
shall include not less than 300 hours of work time. The registered barber who 
supervises the additional two months practice must hie an affidavit with the 
board for the additional practice period. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.3300 FAILURE TO RENEW CERTIFICATE WITHIN ONE YEAR. 
A registered barber who has failed to renew his certificate of registration for 

one year or more from the date of expiration must take and pass the registered 
barber examination before a certificate of registration may be issued. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
REGISTERED BARBER SCHOOL INSTRUCTORS 

2100.4000 APPLICATION FOR INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE EXAMINA­
TION. 

An applicant for examination as a registered teacher or instructor in a barber 
school shall file his application with the board not later than the 20th day of the 
month preceding the month in which the examination is to be given; provided, 
however, that the board shall, upon the showing of a hardship, accept applica­
tions at a later date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4100 GRADING THE INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE EXAMINATION. 
Examinations given to applicants for an instructor's license shall be graded. 

An applicant for an instructor's certificate must receive a minimum grade of at 
least 70 on each phase of the examination and an average of at least 75 on all 
phases to pass the examination, and if any part of the examination is failed, the 
entire examination must be retaken. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4200 RENEWING INSTRUCTOR'S LICENSE. 
The board will not renew an instructor's license if the person does not hold 

a current vocational teacher's certificate. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.065 subd 5 

2100.4300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.4400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 
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2100.4500 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 1626 

2100.4500 INSTRUCTOR LICENSE QUALIFICATION. 
To qualify for an instructor's examination, an applicant must be a licensed 

registered barber with five years' experience and hold a current vocational 
teacher's certificate. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

BARBER SCHOOLS 

2100.5000 LICENSE REQUIREMENT. 
No person shall operate a barber school in Minnesota without having first 

obtained a license from the Board of Barber Examiners. Persons holding a permit 
for the conduct of a barber school which was issued prior to the adoption of these 
rules have a period of 60 days after the adoption of these rules to file the necessary 
documents showing conformance with these rules with the exception of the 
course outline required by part 2100.5100, subpart 2. After the date of adoption 
of these rules all barber schools operating or requesting a license to operate will 
be governed by and shall proceed in accordance with these rules. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5100 LICENSE APPLICATION. 
Subpart 1. Verified statement. A person desiring to operate a barber school 

in Minnesota shall present to the board a verified statement showing at least the 
following: 

A. all information required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 else­
where in these rules; 

B. the name of the applicant or applicants together with their occupa­
tions and residences for the ten years immediately prior to making applications; 

C. the address of the proposed school; 
D. a complete financial statement; and 
E. a plan of operation of the school setting forth the following informa­

tion: 
(1) drawings showing the number of chairs to be installed and 

showing a minimum of five feet between barber chairs, measuring from center 
to center, the waiting area must be separate from work stations; 

(2) drawings showing classroom space with a minimum area of 25 
square feet available for each proposed student in classroom space; 

(3) a statement showing that the following will be available: one 
desk for each student enrolled; one chart on skin and hair; one chart on blood 
supply to face and neck; one chart on the muscles of the face, head, and neck; one 
chart on the nerves of the face, head, and neck; one chart on the bones of the face, 
head, and neck; and one blackboard of a size not less than six feet by 3-1/2 feet; 

(4) plans showing the following: separate toilet and washroom 
facilities for men and women; plumbing and sewer system appropriate to the size 
and use of the building as a barber school; a statement regarding the availability 
and intended use of municipal sewer and water supplies; 

(5) plans for appropriate lighting and ventilating systems; 
(6) plans showing use of a type of floor material such as tile or 

linoleum which may be easily kept clean and sanitary; 
(7) plans for proper sanitization facilities including the following: 

one sink for each barber chair or dispensary as required in part 2100.8100, 
subpart 3; one closed cabinet for clean towels for each barber chair; one closed 
container for soiled towels for each barber chair; one time clock; and one hair 
dryer; and 
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1627 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 2100.5300 

(8) plans for adequate waiting chairs and clothes racks. 
Subp. 2. Course outline. All barber schools shall submit to the board a full 

course outline including each instructional unit, showing a course of instruction 
comprising an aggregate of not less than 1,500 hours, of not more than eight work 
instruction hours in any one working day. A copy of each school's curriculum will 
be filed with the board. In the case of applicants for a license to operate a barber 
school submitted to the board after the adoption of these rules, the application 
will contain the foregoing statements. Barber schools in existence at the time of 
adoption of these rules shall have two months from the date of adoption for 
submission of the outline prescribed by this part. All schools shall submit a 
complete student course syllabus to the board at the time of application for 
license and any renewal of it. 

Subp. 3. Brochure. Applicants for a license to operate a barber school shall 
submit a copy of a brochure which will be made available to students upon 
approval of the application. This brochure shall list the fees which will be 
charged; together with enrollment and termination procedures for students. Any 
change in the tuition fee listed in this brochure must be immediately reported, 
in writing, to the board. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5200 CONSIDERATIONS IN LICENSE ISSUANCE. 
Subpart 1. Factors. Upon receipt of an application for establishment of a 

barber school, the board shall give consideration to the factors in subparts 2 to 
5. 

Subp. 2. Public welfare. The board shall give consideration to any detriment 
to the public welfare and the need for barber school facilities in the community 
and neighborhood where the proposed barber school is to be located, giving 
particular consideration to: 

A. the economic character of the community and neighborhood; 
B. the effect on existing barber shops and barber schools in the commu­

nity; 
C. the availability of adequate support for the proposed barber school 

in the community and neighborhood with particular regard to adequate practice 
for students; 

D. the extent to which the proposed barber school would draw patrons 
from adjacent communities or neighborhoods and the character thereof; and 

E. the effect of the establishment of a barber school on the social and 
economic aspects of the community and neighborhood and adjacent communi­
ties and neighborhoods in regard to the proposed site. 

Subp. 3. [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 
Subp. 4. [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 
Subp. 5. Student-license ratio. There must be at least one instructor for every 

17 students enrolled. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5300 PUBLIC HEARING ON LICENSE APPLICATION. 
Upon receipt of an application for the establishment of a barber school, the 

board shall conduct a public hearing in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, 
chapter 14, and rules promulgated thereunder. The applicant shall show at such 
hearing, by competent evidence, the factual basis of the assertions of his applica­
tion and his qualifications as required by Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, and 
the rules of the board. The applicant shall further show his financial qualifications 
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2100.5300 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 1628 

and it shall be a sufficient reason for denial of the application that the board 
considers the financial resources of the applicant to be insufficient to maintain 
and operate a barber school and assure the graduation of students who are 
registered in such school and have paid their tuition. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.5400 CORPORATIONS PROHIBITED. 
No school license shall be issued to a corporation, nor shall the school 

indicate any affiliation with a corporation. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

21005500 LOCATION OF LICENSE, TRANSFER OF LOCATION, OR EXPAN­
SION OF SCHOOL. 

Subpart 1. Location. Licenses shall issue for only a specific location upon the 
application of an individual who is to operate the school. Licenses shall not be 
transferable to any other individual or location without the approval by the 
board. The facilities of an approved barber school shall not be expanded or 
increased without the prior approval of the board, as provided in subpart 2. 

Subp. 2. Transfer of license, change of location, or expansion of school. Upon 
receipt of an application to the board for transfer of a license, change of location 
of the barber school facility, or expansion of the school, the board shall approve 
or deny the application in accordance with the standards of Minnesota Statutes, 
section 154.07, and parts 2100.5100 to 2100.5200. If the board denies the 
application, it shall notify the applicant of a right to a hearing under Minnesota 
Statutes, chapter 14. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 12 SR 1710 

2100.5600 RENEWAL OF LICENSE. 
Subpart 1. Application. Owners of barber schools shall make annual applica­

tion for renewal of their licenses in accordance with the rules of the board. The 
board shall make a new determination annually that the school meets the require­
ments of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154, and part 2100.5100, subpart 2, of the 
board before issuing the renewal license. 

Subp. 2. Nonrenewal; hearing. In the event that a license is not renewed by 
the board upon application pursuant to these rules, the aggrieved applicant may 
by written notice to the board request a public hearing concerning the denial of 
his or her application in accordance with Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14, and 
rules adopted thereunder. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5700 REGISTERED INSTRUCTORS, TEMPORARY TEACHER, OR 
EMERGENCY TEACHER. 

Subpart 1. Number of registered instructors. The provisions of Minnesota 
Statutes, section 154.07 requiring one registered instructor for every 17 students 
or minor fraction in excess thereof applies to classroom instruction as well as 
practical instruction. "Minor fraction in excess thereof means a maximum of 
20 students per instructor for a period of no more than three months. An 
applicant shall name in the application the names of all instructors and teachers. 
The board will not issue a temporary teacher's permit for a new school. To assure 
barber school students adequate uninterrupted training, a temporary teacher's 
permit can be issued upon approval of the board. 

Subp. 2. Temporary permits. This subpart applies to temporary teacher's 
permits. 
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1629 BARBERS' LICENSING AND OPERATION 2100.5800 

A. To be granted a temporary teacher's permit, a permit applicant must: 
(1) hold a current Minnesota registered barber's license; 
(2) have practiced for at least two years as a registered barber; and 
(3) show proof of a temporary vocational teaching permit and 

continuous enrollment taking courses as required by part 2100.4500. 
B. Application forms will be prepared and furnished by the board. 

Applications must be signed and sworn to by the applicant and contain proof of 
the minimum qualifications and qualifications for a teacher's vocational certificate 
and the barber instructor examination. The applicant shall furnish to the board 
two photographs, three inches by five inches in size, signed by the applicant. One 
photograph must be returned with the permit and one must be kept on file with 
the application. 

C. The applicant shall pay the required application fee. 
D. Permits must be annually renewed on or before December 31 of each 

year. 
E. The permit must be posted in the school. 
F. A barber school may only have a temporary teacher for each licensed 

instructor or for each 17 students at any given time. 
G. Persons holding a temporary teacher's permit shall immediately 

inform the board of any change in location of the teacher's work place. 
H. The board will not issue a temporary teacher's permit for a new 

school or for expansion of a school. 
I. A temporary teacher's permit is valid for four years from the date it 

is issued if continued educational courses are being pursued. 
J. Any request for a temporary teacher's permit must be made by the 

applicant and verified by the school of barbering. 
K. The Board of Barber Examiners shall keep an active list of all 

instructors and temporary teacher's permits. 
L. All temporary teacher permit holders shall notify the board of any 

change in the permitee's work place, address, or phone number. 
Subp. 3. Emergency teacher permit. 

A. To assure barber school students adequate uninterrupted training, an 
emergency teacher permit may be issued in an emergency if: 

(1) a sudden unexpected happening of an unforeseen occurrence or 
condition demanding sudden or unexpected actions, exigency, or pressing neces­
sity occurs; 

(2) the board is notified by the school immediately after an emer­
gency arises and is informed as to the nature of the emergency and who is being 
considered as the emergency teacher; 

(3) the board verifies that no licensed instructor or temporary 
teacher is available; and 

(4) an applicant holds a current registered barber license. 
B. Upon the fulfillment of the conditions provided in item A, an emer­

gency teacher's permit shall be issued without delay. The maximum duration of 
an emergency teacher permit is 30 days. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.5800 STUDENT APTITUDE TEST. 
Each barber school shall be required to give an aptitude test to each prospec­

tive student. The aptitude test shall be approved by the Board of Barber Examin­
ers and shall include examination for dexterity in addition to examinations for 
other aptitudes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
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2100.5900 STUDENT PHYSICAL EXAMINATION. 
Each student shall receive a physical examination for communicable or 

infectious diseases and either a mantoux test or a chest x-ray. The student shall, 
upon completion of such examination, submit a doctor's certificate to the board 
that he is free from contagious or infectious disease. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6000 HOURS OF INSTRUCTION. 
Each student, including each part-time student, must complete at least 281 

classroom hours and 1,219 practical hours in the required 1,500-hour course. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.6100 STUDENT WORK COMPLETION. 
An instructor may help a beginning student finish a service on a patron upon 

request by the student. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.6200 MONTHLY STUDENT REPORT. 
All approved barber schools shall file with the Board of Barber Examiners 

a monthly student report in substantially the following form: (see monthly 
report). Failure to comply with this requirement shall be grounds for denial of 
an an annual barber school permit authorized under Minnesota Statutes, section 
154.07. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6300 STUDENT OBSERVATION SHEET. 
All barber schools shall maintain on a current basis an observation sheet 

upon which will be recorded an analysis of the behavior and attitude of each 
student enrolled. The observation sheets will be open to inspection by the board, 
any member of the board, or a duly authorized agent of the board at all times. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6400 TRANSFER OF STUDENT'S PLACE. 
No barber school shall act as an agent in any respect to either students or 

prospective students regarding any attempt to transfer, sell, or assign a student's 
place in a barber school. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.6500 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.6600 BARBER SCHOOL SIGN. 
All barber schools shall have prominently displayed a sign stating "BARBER 

SCHOOL — ALL WORK DONE BY STUDENTS" with letters at least six 
inches high. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
BARBER SHOPS 

2100.7000 PERMANENT LOCATION. 
Each barber shop in the state of Minnesota must be permanently located at 

one address, due to the difficulty of implementation of inspection procedures. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
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2100.7100 SHOP REGISTRATION CARD. 
Upon application for a barber shop's first shop registration card pursuant to 

Minnesota Statutes, section 154.085, a proposed floor plan will be submitted for 
the board's approval at least 30 days prior to the scheduled shop opening date. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7200 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7400 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.7500 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 
OPERATION OF BARBER SCHOOLS AND BARBER SHOPS 

2100.7600 BARBER CHAIRS. 
Barber chairs must be spaced not less than five feet apart center to center. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7700 OTHER USE OF PREMISES. 
Subpart 1. Prohibited uses. No person shall use any room or part of a place 

which is also used for residential purposes, or any business purpose other than 
barbering, unless the areas are separated by substantial partition, extending from 
the floor to the ceiling. Further, any door or other entrance leading into the 
residential or other business portion of the building must be used only for the 
passage of barbers or other employees. 

Subp. 2. Exception: barber shop with beauty shop. Subpart 1 notwithstand­
ing, a beauty shop and a barber shop may be operated in conjunction, without 
being separated by a partition of ceiling height. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 

2100.7800 LICENSING. 
No person shall practice or attempt to practice barbering without a certificate 

of registration issued pursuant to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 
154. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.7900 MEDICAL TREATMENT. 
No barber, apprentice barber, or student barber shall undertake to treat any 

disease of the skin, nor shall he apply any medicine or treatment which adminis­
tration is not distinctly a part of barbering. No barber shall apply drops to the 
eyes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8000 CLEANLINESS OF PERSONNEL. 
The operator shall wear clean uniforms or clean clothes at all times. The 

operator shall cleanse his hands thoroughly with soap and clean water before 
attending each patron. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8100 SANITIZATION. 
Subpart 1. Instruments. Razors, shears, combs, clipper blades, hairbrush, 

and all other instruments or appliances that come in contact with the head, neck, 
or face must be thoroughly cleaned and sanitized by submersion for a minimum 
of two minutes after use on each patron. As an alternative to submersion, clipper 
blades and shears may be treated by spraying them with a commercial spray 
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containing active ingredients not less than 0.25 percent o-phenyl phenol, 11.00 
percent isopropyl alcohol, and 88.75 percent inert ingredients. As an extra 
measure, instruments may be wiped or sprayed with a solution of 10:1 household 
bleach before being used. When not in use, they must be kept in a clean closed 
compartment provided for and used only for storage of instruments. Styptic 
pencil and lump alum are positively prohibited. Contact with raw blood or body 
fluids should be avoided. If accidentally exposed, immediate washing with soap 
and running water is required. 

Subp. 2. Sanitizer. All barber shops and barber schools shall have in use at 
all times at each chair a wet or dip sanitizer which is adequate in size to 
accommodate all instruments to be used on each patron. The wet sanitizer shall 
contain a suitable chemical bactericide solution which shall be bacteriologically 
effective, such as 0.1 percent suitable quaternary ammonium compound, or by 
other means having a solution equivalent to five percent phenol, or other chemi­
cal sanitizing agent having equivalent bactericidal effect. The chemical solution 
shall be changed daily or more often, as needed. 

One dip disinfectant solution container will be kept for each barber chair in 
operation. Instruments immersed in the dip disinfectant solution container will 
be carefully rinsed in warm running water before use. Failure to provide a sink 
or dip disinfectant solution container constitutes prima facie evidence that 
instruments are not properly sanitized. 

At least one sink or lavatory must be provided in each room, booth, stall, 
compartment, or the immediate area in which barbers work. If more than two 
barber chairs are in any room, booth, stall, or compartment, at least one sink or 
lavatory must be provided for each two barber chairs at which the barbers work. 
Each barber must have free access to the sink or lavatory without obstruction 
from other chairs, partitions, wall dividers, or other barriers. 

Subp. 3. Dispensary. A dispensary must be located in each barber shop and 
each barber school where hot and cold running water is not present within five 
feet of the working chair. A dispensary is a room, booth, or area where imple­
ments will be cleansed, disinfected, and stored. A dispensary must contain the 
following furnishings: 

A. A container large enough to accommodate all soiled implements in 
which those instruments, such as combs and brushes, can be totally immersed for 
washing. All nonimmersive or electrical implements such as clippers, clipper 
blades, and shears must be sprayed according to subpart 1. 

B. One sink with hot and cold running water to cleanse implements 
mentioned in item A to be used for washing of hands before serving each patron. 

C. A container with suitable chemical bactericide solution to accommo­
date and immerse all immersible implements after being washed for at least two 
minutes before being used or stored. 

D. A container large enough for storage of clean disinfected implements. 
E. A container filled with fresh disinfectant solution in which razors will 

be stored or dipped at least two minutes before being used. 
Subp. 4. Hand washing. Hands shall be washed with soap and running water 

immediately before serving each and every patron. 
Subp. 5. Implement storage. Implements that require washing and disinfect­

ing by total immersion must not be stored at the work station unless running 
water is present at the working chair. 

Subp. 6. Shampoo sinks. The shampoo area shall have one shampoo sink for 
each six chairs. 

Subp. 7. Minimum implements. Each barber shall have at least 15 combs and 
ten brushes. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: 13 SR 1916 
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2100.8200 TOWELS. 
A separate, clean towel or neck band shall be used for each patron. All barber 

shops and barber schools shall have sufficient closed sanitary towel cabinets for 
storage of clean towels and closed hampers for soiled towels. All soiled towels 
after use on each customer shall be placed in a closed hamper and shall not be 
left on the lavatory or workstand. The headrest shall be provided with a clean 
towel or clean paper for each patron served. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8300 [Repealed, 13 SR 1916] 

2100.8400 WALLS, CEILING, FLOOR, AND FURNITURE. 
The walls, ceilings, floor, and furniture in every barber shop or barber school 

shall be kept clean and in good repair. Floors of barber shops or barber schools 
shall be covered with hardwood, linoleum, composition tile, or some other 
washable and nonporous material. These requirements shall include the proper 
cleaning of floors, shelves, cabinets, chairs, trays, and other barber shop or barber 
school equipment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8500 LIGHTING AND VENTILATION. 
Barber shops and barber schools shall have adequate lighting and be properly 

ventilated. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8600 HEALTH OF PERSONNEL. 
No owner or manager shall permit any person suffering from a communica­

ble disease to act as a barber. 
Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8700 POSTING RULES. 
The owner or manager of any barber shop or barber school shall post a copy 

of these rules in a conspicuous place where they can be read by the patrons of the 
establishment. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8800 RESPONSIBILITY FOR VIOLATIONS. 
For the purpose of this act, barbers, apprentice barbers, student barbers, or 

the proprietor or manager shall be responsible for all violations of the sanitary 
provisions of the act. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.8900 PENALTIES. 
For the purpose of this act, no establishment shall be open for service to the 

public until all sanitary provisions of this act have been complied with. These 
rules pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 have been approved by the 
Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners and the Minnesota Board of Health. A 
violation of any of these rules shall be punishable by a fine not less than $10 nor 
more than $ 100 or imprisonment for not less than ten days nor more than 90 days 
and shall be cause for suspension or revocation of a certificate of registration or 
shop registration card. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
INSPECTIONS 

2100.9000 RIGHT OF ENTRY. 
Any duly authorized employee of the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners, 
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Minnesota Board of Health, or board of health as defined in Minnesota Statutes, 
section 145A.02, subdivision 2, shall have authority to enter upon and inspect 
any barber shop or barber school at any time during business hours. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 
History: L 1987 c 309 s 24 

2100.9100 INSPECTION SLIPS. 
An inspector employed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 154.23 shall 

fill out an inspection slip for each inspection he makes and shall insert the time 
of the inspection on his first and last inspection slips for the day and each of those 
slips shall be signed by the barber of the place that was inspected. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.9200 INSPECTION PROCEDURE. 
Inspectors hired by the board shall make their inspections in conformity with 

the following procedures: 
A. Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners shall periodically designate 

the area in which inspection shall be made. 
' B. The Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners will periodically advise 

inspectors of those violations under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 concerning 
which the inspectors may summarily file complaints with the local civil authori­
ties. Inspectors will make written reports to the board of all such complaints filed. 

C. Any and all violations of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 154 shall be 
submitted to the board by the inspectors. Thereafter, the board may, at its 
discretion, take appropriate action regarding such violations in accordance with 
Minnesota Statutes, chapter 14 and rules promulgated thereunder. 

D. All written reports made by the inspector shall contain the name and 
address of the offender, the exact nature of the violation, the section of the statute 
violated, the date of the violation, and the action taken by the inspector. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24 

2100.9300 FEES. 
Subpart 1. Fee schedule. The Board of .Barber Examiners shall charge the 

following fees: 
A. examination and certificate, registered barber, $55; 
B. examination and certificate, apprentice, $50; 
C. examination, instructor, $ 150; 
D. certificate, instructor, $35; 
E. temporary teacher permit, $25; 
F. renewal of license, registered barber, $25; 
G. renewal of license, apprentice, $20; 
H. renewal of license, instructor, $35; 
I. renewal of temporary teacher permit, $25; 
J. student permit, $10; 
K. initial shop registration, $50; 
L. initial school registration, $ 1,000; 
M. renewal shop registration, $35; 
N. renewal school registration, $200; 
O. restoration of registered barber license, $50; 
P. restoration of apprentice license, $45; 
Q. restoration of shop registration, $60; 
R. change of ownership or location, $25; and 
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S. duplicate license, $10. 
Subp. 2. Duplicate license. Any photocopy of a license made by the board for 

an official purpose shall be stamped with the office state seal. 
Subp. 3. Restoration fee. A restoration fee is a fee charged a licensee to restore 

a license that has not been renewed in a timely manner. The fee is comprised of 
the license fee plus a late penalty fee. 

Subp. 4. Renewals; schedule. This subpart governs renewals of licenses and 
registrations. 

A. Apprentices, barbers, instructors, temporary teacher permits, and 
school licenses shall renew their licenses by no later than December 31 of each 
year for the ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee. 

B. Shop registration shall be renewed by no later than June 30 of each 
year for the ensuing year to avoid a late penalty fee. 

C. Change of location and change of ownership shall be filed within 30 
days of the action. 

Subp. 5. License requirements. An active barber must hold a current license 
and must post it at the work station. 

Statutory Authority: MS s 154.24; 214.06 
History: 11 SR 2284; 13 SR 1916 
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