25 inches on any four-wheel drive multipurpose type vehicle or truck having a manufacturer's rated capacity of 2,000 pounds or less. The height of the bumper shall be determined by measuring from the bottom of the bumper, excluding any bumper attachments, to the ground.

Competent evidence that a vehicle was originally manufactured with bumpers higher than prescribed in this subdivision shall be an affirmative defense in any action under this section.

Subd. 45. PENALTY. Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Approved May 19, 1983

CHAPTER 171 — S.F.No. 948

An act relating to metropolitan government; providing for the term of the chairman of the metropolitan airports commission; amending Minnesota Statutes 1982, section 473.604, subdivision 1.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 1982, section 473.604, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. The following persons and their respective successors shall constitute the members and governing body of the corporation, namely:

- (1) All of the members and commissioners in office January 1, 1973, for the remainder of the terms for which they were appointed or otherwise selected, respectively;
- (2) The mayor of each of the cities, or a qualified voter appointed by him, for his term of office as mayor;
- (3) A member of the council of each of the cities, appointed by the council for a term of four years commencing in July, 1977;
- (4) A member of the park board of Minneapolis appointed by that board and a second member of the council of St. Paul, appointed by it, each for a term of two years commencing in July, 1979;
- (5) One additional resident of each city, who does not hold any office under the state or any of its political subdivisions except that of notary public, herein termed a "citizen commissioner," such member in St. Paul to be appointed by the mayor, with the approval of the council, and in Minneapolis by the

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.

council, with the approval of the mayor; each for a term of two years commencing in July, 1979;

- (6) Six additional members, each appointed by the governor on a nonpartisan basis, and each holding no other office under the state or any of its political subdivisions except that of notary public; for terms and with residence qualifications as follows:
- (a) (1) A resident of the area of the counties of Washington and Ramsey, outside of St. Paul, for a four-year term commencing in July, 1974, and his successor for a term ending July 1, 1981;
- (2) A resident of the county of Anoka, for a four-year term commencing in July, 1974, and his successor for a term ending July 1, 1981;
- (3) Three residents of the area of the counties of Carver, Scott and Hennepin, outside Minneapolis, for a two-year term commencing in July, 1974, and their successors for a term ending July 1, 1981;
- (4) A resident of the county of Dakota, for a four-year term commencing in July, 1974, and his successor for a term ending July 1, 1981;
- (b) As successors to all members referred to in paragraphs (2) to (6)(a), whose terms will expire in July, 1981, a number of members appointed from precincts equal or nearest to but not exceeding half the number of districts which are provided by law for the selection of members of the metropolitan council in section 473.123. Each member shall be a resident of the precinct which he represents. The members shall be appointed by the governor as follows: a number as near as possible to one-fourth, for a term of one year; a similar number for a term of two years; a similar number for a term of two years; and a similar number for a term of four years, all of which terms shall commence on July 1, 1981. The successors of each member shall be appointed for four year terms commencing in July of each fourth year after the expiration of the original term;
- (7) One member appointed by the governor of the state, who shall be chairman of the corporation, appointed for a six year term commencing in July, 1977 and his successors for six year terms commencing in July in each sixth year thereafter coterminous with that of the governor.

Sec. 2. APPLICATION.

This act applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.

Approved May 19, 1983

Changes or additions are indicated by underline, deletions by strikeout.